We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing breakfast, great day trips!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buffalo Rock Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keystone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buffalo Rock Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Keystone B&B and Inns
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing breakfast, great day trips!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

We stayed at this B&B in early May and had an amazing stay. The rooms were very large and had jetted tubs. Breakfast was served every morning buffet style as well as dessert in the evening. All was delicious! The best was the view of Mount Rushmore from the deck every evening. Our hosts had great restaurant and sight seeing recommendations. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pupperann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

My husband and I enjoyed our recent stay at Buffalo Rock. Marilyn and Art have built and decorated a labor of love - a beautiful log house filled with tasteful and unique memorabilia. The buffet-style breakfasts were outstanding, and guests get an added gift of delicious, evening desserts. The location, away from the Keystone ticky-tack, is ideal. On a clear night you can see a lit-up Mt. Rushmore from the outdoor deck. Marilyn provides detailed driving instructions for three areas of the Black Hills, filled with fabulous scenery and lots of opportunities to see wildlife.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillygirl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2009

Clean, comfortable, friendly owners, fantastic buffet breakfast, nice quiet location, view of Mount Rushmore...would definitely stay again! My parents had the Peter Norbeck room which i thought was the best room. Ours, the Annie Tallent, was nice but just had a shower head in the bath. The jacuzzi bath was great though. Note: the jacuzzi bath is in the bedroom and although you can put a screen around it, if you're planning on 4 adults staying in the Annie Tallent room you wouldn't have much privacy...luckily it was just the 2 of us. The owners are great and can give you loads of recommendations for places to eat/things to see. We stayed here for 2 nights on our 2 week road trip.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nattie224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

We live in the UK and decided this year we would visit Wyoming and Montana, starting off in Denver Colorado. It was only when, by chance, I noticed that this corner of South Dakota, with so many interesting this to see and do, was a short drive away, that we extended our stay to include 6 nights at the wonderful Buffalo Rock Lodge Hotel. What a lucky chance that was :o)
The breakfasts were fantastic, we particularly loved the raspberry scones.
Marylin and Art are wonderful hosts, and they serve great breakfasts, and those wonderful desserts in the evening out on the terrace and encourage guests to get together, although you can just as easily curl up in a quiet corner of the lounge with a book if thats what you want to do.
Coffee is on the brew for those who are up a little early, and its great to sip a coffee on their huge balcony, with Mount Rushmore in the distance and maybe a wild deer strolling a few feet away.
Marylin's help with your day trips goes beyond 100%.. she gives you best routes, and mentions things you may miss (Needles highway being one for us).
South Dakota was a bit of an afterthought as our trip went, but we fell in love with it, and with Buffalo Rock Lodge. We are sure we will be going back some day. I don't know what the tall yellow flowering plant is, but it was everywhere, and filled the air with the most beautiful scent. I would only have to smell it to bring back fond memories of South Dakota and Buffalo Rock Lodge.
Buffalo Rock Lodge itself is a few miles off the beaten track, and so much better for it. Keystone is perhaps 10 minutes drive away, maybe a bit more, but at Buffalo Rock Lodge you are in beautiful countryside, with the scent of the pines filling the early morning air, and its pretty central to most attractions having two ways in and out.
I would never hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Englishlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

Part of the reason we selected Buffalo Rock Lodge for our June vacation was because of the tripadvisor reviews and we couldn’t have been happier. It far exceeded our expectations. It is a beautiful log home, built by Art and Marilyn, and decorated with items appropriate to the Black Hills area. We stayed in the Peter Norbeck room which has a king size bed, jetted tub, shower and double sink. The room was very spacious and the bed comfortable. There are two other guest rooms which can accommodate more than 2 people. (Some very nice houseguests were in the other rooms while we were there – hello BigSisIndiana)

The home has a large deck which overlooks Mt. Rushmore in the distance, making it the perfect place for breakfast and evening dessert. My husband is not a coffee drinker but he is an early riser. Every morning Art would bring him a mug of hot chocolate on the deck while the rest of us were still sleeping. Breakfast was plentiful and wonderful, especially the Buffalo Rock bacon and raspberry French toast.

Art and Marilyn are very knowledgeable about the area, listening to them is better than reading a history of the area. Marilyn gave us advice on dining establishments and we were pleased with all of her recommendations. After a few hours Buffalo Rock Lodge felt like our home and Marilyn & Art seemed like old friends. They love their home and the Black Hills and they do everything possible to have their guests enjoy it as much as they do.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank subrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2009

We traveled to Mt. Rushmore/Custer State Park area with our two children ages 8 and 12 in June of 2009. We had the Annie Tallant room and it was spacious, clean and beautiful. The sitting area outside our room was a nice change of pace from sterile hotel rooms. My husband and kids played pool while I read on the sofa, it felt like home. The breakfasts were beyond amazing. Marilyn's Buffalo Rock Bacon was other worldly! It was a bit off the beaten path (but everything in South Dakota is) and that was part of its appeal. Having said that, we were still only 10 minutes or so to Keystone, SD. And yes, you really can see Mt. Rushmore from the balcony. We saw it lit up every night!

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BigSisIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2008

We stayed at the Buffalo rock Lodge- Friday September 11, 2008 and Sunday September 14, 2008, we had to skip a night and change rooms for the 2nd part of our stay due to lack of availablity. I was determined to stay in this lodge as much as possible for our stay in the Black hills. The lodge is in the mountains of Keystone, we stayed in the CC Gideon room our 1st night there, this room had 2 Queen beds, we only slept in one it was very comfortable, the room had a small portable cooling unit for those who vacation in the summer months not sure how well it will work, our room did get hot when we were there and we had to use it. There was a nice sofa a huge whirpool tub, in addition to a big clawfoot tub, no shower, tv, phones in this room, no eating allowed in room, there is a small guest fridge out back on the deck for your use. If you want to watch TV there is a small area right outside the CC Gideon room but on our 2nd night there, some Denver Broncos fans were screaming pretty loud outside the CC Gideon room while watching that TV thank God we were not up there, I could hear them from our room downstairs the Peter Norbeck room. There is an exercise bike right in the small TV area, 2 huge dining tables downstairs, a nice fireplace MARILYN WAS HOSPITABLE but ART WASN'T FEELING TO GOOD and NOT AS HOSPITABLE; MARILYN AND ART FIXED A WONDERFUL BREAKFST EVERY MORNING, OUR 1ST MORNING WE HAD RASPBERRY FRENCH TOAST, ART MADE HIS DELICIOUS SIGNATURE HASHBROWNS AND BACON, SCRAMBLED EGGS, PEELED ORANGES AND GRAPEFRUIT, OJ ALL VERY VERY GOOD, OUR 2ND STAY AT THE BUFFALO ROCK LODGE OUR FINAL NIGHT WE SPENT IN THE PETER NORBECK ROOM EVEN LOVLIER THAN THE CC GIDEON MORE COZY FOR TWO OH THE BED WAS HEAVENLY LIKE SLEEPING IN THE CLOUDS.BOTH ROOMS WERE $135 PER NIGHT PLUS TAX. IN THE MORNING WE WOKE UP TO ARTS FAMOUS BACON AND HASHBROWNS SCRAMBLED EGGS, STRAWBERRIES AND BANANAS AND ONE OF MARILYNS SPECIAL APPLE BAKED ENTREES-Overall I highly recommend a stay at the Buffalo Rock Lodge it was wonderful and we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Liked — BREAKFAST, BEAUTIFUL LODGE/SURROUNDINGS
  • Disliked — NO EATING IN ROOM
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leelabeela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keystone hotels
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
3.3 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
3.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
3.6 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
4.1 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Rock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Rock Lodge

Property: Buffalo Rock Lodge
Address: 24524 Playhouse Rd, Keystone, SD 57751-6654
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Keystone
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Buffalo Rock Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing