We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Dakota's best ambassadors”
Review of Buffalo Rock Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keystone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buffalo Rock Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Keystone B&B and Inns
Newburgh, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“South Dakota's best ambassadors”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Marilyn and Art know the state's best features and so much of its wonderful history. She is an excellent tour guide. We spent 4 days under her guidance (via computer print out) and had an awesome time seeing so many great places. My husband has a special interest in geology; and we would have missed so much there if Marilyn had not been so well informed.
Our accommodations were first class. The view of Mt Rushmore awesome.
Breakfasts and desserts...YUM! Really peaceful place.
We would return for respite in a heart beat.
Fran and Scott /Newburgh,IN

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrancesSStraeffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Americus
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

What a great B&B. We recently spent 4 nights here and would go back in heart beat. The room was beautiful and the bed so comfortable. Marilyn kept us hopping and because of her, I'm sure we saw things we wouldn't have stopped at on our own. The breakfasts and desserts on the deck will be one of our favorite vacation memories. The other guests made the stay even better. We had a great time visiting and developing what we hope will be lasting friendships. Thanks Marilyn and Art for an amazing place to stay and take our day trips from.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vlnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

I truely can say that it's the best b&b we stayed in during our trip throught USA from denver to Seattle
Marylin, our host is very helpful and her house is amasing. Very romantic and warm..situated in the heart of the black hills forest with a breathtaking view on the wild life and mt rushmore. She serve free dessert & tea at 9h30 to make her guest feel like at home..she is a damned good cooker..the breakfast is tasty and the ambiance invit to relaxation
We hightly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Urantia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Our family of four stayed four nights in the 2 queen bedded Gideon Room. The lodge definitely feels like a mountain home with large exposed logs on the walls and ceilings. Much thought was placed in designing and decorating this lodge which includes an attractive sitting area with fireplace, large deck with view of Mt. Rushmore, pool table, and spa tub. The room was a bit cramped with all our luggage and limited storage/dresser space. The bathroom was cramped also since the upstairs location limited space with the severe roof pitch. Overall the room and the lodge itself had much charm. The breakfasts were delicious but you can't be a late raiser to enjoy them! Marilyn, the owner, was very knowledgable about the area's attractions and eager to help you plan your day with exact directions. The quiet lodge is tucked away from touristy downtown Keystone. Overall, I'd recommend this special B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hoopster95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Buffalo Rock Lodge is an exceptional B&B! We recently visited the Black Hills with two other couples and had the best time at Buffalo Rock Lodge. We spent 6 nights with Art and Marilyn and hated to leave! Marilyn and Art make you right at home in their GORGEOUS home! They are the ultimate hosts and truly make you part of their family. Everything you've read is absolutely true! The rooms are very large, clean, and comfortable as well as beautifully appointed. The entire house is tastefully filled with many local and family artifacts. The breakfasts are out of this world-a different full offering every morning, but we were fortunate enough to have Art's famous bacon twice! And yes, the bacon is beyond delicious! While located outside the hubbub of Keystone, Buffalo Rock Lodge is centrally located for day trips and Marilyn is happy to provide you with a daily itinerary which includes detailed printed directions and suggested dining options. When you arrive back at night you are welcomed with a delicious home baked dessert served on the deck with a full view of Mt. Rushmore. Marilyn and Art have fascinating stories and information regarding the history of the area. It was a delight to return in the evening and spend some relaxing time with them on the deck. We feel very fortunate to have stayed with Marilyn and Art and highly recommend Buffalo Rock Lodge. It truly is a hidden treasure in the Black Hills!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MassCousins6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed 5 nights with Marilyn and Art...absolutely BEAUTIFUL home...large, clean, comfortable room! Breakfast each morning was wonderful (the buzz about the bacon...true!!..we were lucky enough to have it twice)...dessert on the porch in the evenings with Marilyn and the other guests added a special touch. Marilyn knows all about the area, and has some wonderful stories to tell..and she was nice enough to help us plan the day's sightseeing every morning.. complete with detailed directions and suggestions for dinner! We feel so lucky to have known about how wonderful the Buffalo Rock Lodge was from reading other reviews...we can't imagine NOT having stayed there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bklyn1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keystone, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

We have the good fortune of workamping at Bufflo Rock Lodge this summer which means we live on site in our RV and help part time at the lodge cleaning and doing other labors of love. And TLC and love is what a guest can expect during their stay here.
Art and Marilyn truly know how to make folks feel welcome and a part of the family (if only briefly). The minimum 3 nite stay during the summer is because it gives them the opportunity to know you and make suggestions about things to see and do geared just for you. Chatting with Marilyn about the area and its history is better than any book you'll read. Her grandfather, C.C. Gideon, did so much to develop the area so her knowledge is firsthand. Gideon built the State Game Lodge, rode with Peter Norbeck to draw up the plans for Iron Mountain Road and Needles Highway, and he designed the Pigtail Bridges (among a few things). The lodge contains some of his memorabilia and Marilyn will be glad to talk about him and his family.
But beyond great information here, you will be staying in one of the most comfortable and spacious 'log cabin' homes I've ever been in. The rooms have comfortable beds, two have old claw-foot cast iron tubs to stretch out in, and each room has an oversized jacuzzi tub to enjoy at the end of your active day. There's also a pool table upstairs to help you unwind....or pick up one of their many books on the area and relax and read in one of the many comfy chairs.
And did I mention the solitude and the view? They are about 5 miles outside Keystone on Playhouse Road. Yes, it's a bit winding road to get here, but you'll find all the roads in this area are designed to make you slow down and enjoy the scenery. The view from the lodge veranda is nothing short of spectacular. It's a straight view to Mount Rushmore to see the Presidents day or night. Marilyn serves dessert every evening so you can relax after a busy day, share you experiences, and watch the lighting of the monument. And after delicious dessert at night you will be treated to an even better breakfast. What you've read elsewhere about Art's bacon is true. Just wait!!
So although I haven't actually stayed here as a paying guest in one of the rooms, I feel I can give this review as an unbiased guest worker. I know personally that you'll have a clean room to stay in as we take great pride in getting the room ready for your arrival. So enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Didymop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
3.1 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
282 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
10.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
3.9 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Rock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Rock Lodge

Property: Buffalo Rock Lodge
Address: 24524 Playhouse Rd, Keystone, SD 57751-6654
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Keystone
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Buffalo Rock Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing