We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buffalo Rock Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
K Bar S Lodge(Keystone)(Great Value!)
$97
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roosevelt Inn(Keystone)(Great Value!)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Keystone)(Great Value!)
$89
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brookside Motel(Keystone)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites(Keystone)(Great Value!)
$109
$99
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
75
6
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
6
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslog homeb bother guestsbeautiful log cabinsouth dakotaevery morningmassive fireplacelovely homethe claw foot tubnightly dessertlate husbandblack hillsmount rushmorefar exceeded our expectationswealth of informationfelt like homedaily breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 82 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Our family of four stayed four nights in the 2 queen bedded Gideon Room. The lodge definitely feels like a mountain home with large exposed logs on the walls and ceilings. Much thought was placed in designing and decorating this lodge which includes an attractive sitting area with fireplace, large deck with view of Mt. Rushmore, pool table, and spa tub. The room was a bit cramped with all our luggage and limited storage/dresser space. The bathroom was cramped also since the upstairs location limited space with the severe roof pitch. Overall the room and the lodge itself had much charm. The breakfasts were delicious but you can't be a late raiser to enjoy them! Marilyn, the owner, was very knowledgable about the area's attractions and eager to help you plan your day with exact directions. The quiet lodge is tucked away from touristy downtown Keystone. Overall, I'd recommend this special B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Buffalo Rock Lodge is an exceptional B&B! We recently visited the Black Hills with two other couples and had the best time at Buffalo Rock Lodge. We spent 6 nights with Art and Marilyn and hated to leave! Marilyn and Art make you right at home in their GORGEOUS home! They are the ultimate hosts and truly make you part of their family. Everything you've read is absolutely true! The rooms are very large, clean, and comfortable as well as beautifully appointed. The entire house is tastefully filled with many local and family artifacts. The breakfasts are out of this world-a different full offering every morning, but we were fortunate enough to have Art's famous bacon twice! And yes, the bacon is beyond delicious! While located outside the hubbub of Keystone, Buffalo Rock Lodge is centrally located for day trips and Marilyn is happy to provide you with a daily itinerary which includes detailed printed directions and suggested dining options. When you arrive back at night you are welcomed with a delicious home baked dessert served on the deck with a full view of Mt. Rushmore. Marilyn and Art have fascinating stories and information regarding the history of the area. It was a delight to return in the evening and spend some relaxing time with them on the deck. We feel very fortunate to have stayed with Marilyn and Art and highly recommend Buffalo Rock Lodge. It truly is a hidden treasure in the Black Hills!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MassCousins6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed 5 nights with Marilyn and Art...absolutely BEAUTIFUL home...large, clean, comfortable room! Breakfast each morning was wonderful (the buzz about the bacon...true!!..we were lucky enough to have it twice)...dessert on the porch in the evenings with Marilyn and the other guests added a special touch. Marilyn knows all about the area, and has some wonderful stories to tell..and she was nice enough to help us plan the day's sightseeing every morning.. complete with detailed directions and suggestions for dinner! We feel so lucky to have known about how wonderful the Buffalo Rock Lodge was from reading other reviews...we can't imagine NOT having stayed there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bklyn1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

We have the good fortune of workamping at Bufflo Rock Lodge this summer which means we live on site in our RV and help part time at the lodge cleaning and doing other labors of love. And TLC and love is what a guest can expect during their stay here.
Art and Marilyn truly know how to make folks feel welcome and a part of the family (if only briefly). The minimum 3 nite stay during the summer is because it gives them the opportunity to know you and make suggestions about things to see and do geared just for you. Chatting with Marilyn about the area and its history is better than any book you'll read. Her grandfather, C.C. Gideon, did so much to develop the area so her knowledge is firsthand. Gideon built the State Game Lodge, rode with Peter Norbeck to draw up the plans for Iron Mountain Road and Needles Highway, and he designed the Pigtail Bridges (among a few things). The lodge contains some of his memorabilia and Marilyn will be glad to talk about him and his family.
But beyond great information here, you will be staying in one of the most comfortable and spacious 'log cabin' homes I've ever been in. The rooms have comfortable beds, two have old claw-foot cast iron tubs to stretch out in, and each room has an oversized jacuzzi tub to enjoy at the end of your active day. There's also a pool table upstairs to help you unwind....or pick up one of their many books on the area and relax and read in one of the many comfy chairs.
And did I mention the solitude and the view? They are about 5 miles outside Keystone on Playhouse Road. Yes, it's a bit winding road to get here, but you'll find all the roads in this area are designed to make you slow down and enjoy the scenery. The view from the lodge veranda is nothing short of spectacular. It's a straight view to Mount Rushmore to see the Presidents day or night. Marilyn serves dessert every evening so you can relax after a busy day, share you experiences, and watch the lighting of the monument. And after delicious dessert at night you will be treated to an even better breakfast. What you've read elsewhere about Art's bacon is true. Just wait!!
So although I haven't actually stayed here as a paying guest in one of the rooms, I feel I can give this review as an unbiased guest worker. I know personally that you'll have a clean room to stay in as we take great pride in getting the room ready for your arrival. So enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Didymop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Buffalo Rock B&B is a real treasure. Located in a pleasant Black Hills forest setting with a wonderful view of Mount Rushmore from the deck. The rooms are large and well appointed, with fine linens and a hot tub in each room. Food - Wow!! Great breakfasts and a homemade dessert to finish off the day, served with a full view of Mount Rushmore. Marilyn provides spot on suggestions (with maps and directions) for things to see and places to eat in the Black Hills area. Her family has ties to the Black Hills going back almost a century. The cost is reasonable. Buffalo Rock is located 10-15 minutes from Keystone and Mount Rushmore and is close to the Wildlife Loop entrance of Custer State Park. If you want to be away from the hubbub of Keystone, this is an excellent choice - Highly Recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms (3) are nice, but ask for the main floor suite if it is available.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hankwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews