We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and informative attraction”

National Presidential Wax Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$249.00*
and up
Custer State Park Safari Jeep Small-Group Tour
Ranked #6 of 23 things to do in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Where History Hails the Chief Located in the shadow of Mount Rushmore in the historic town of Keystone, the National Presidential Wax Museum is an impressive highlight on any traveler's itinerary. Featuring the works of world-famous wax artist Katherine Stubergh, the National Presidential Wax Museum features over 100 life-size wax sculptures of some of the most iconic figures in American history. We invite you to witness the history of American Democracy from its inception. Also featuring: State of the art narration system for each visitor to the museum. Historic artifacts including President Bill Clinton's own red, white, and blue saxophone (courtesy of the National Music Museum) and Florida's controversial ballot boxes from the 2000 presidential election. A spacious gift shop with fun, quirky gifts that can't be found anywhere else in Keystone. Exhibit featuring the original oil paintings of the famed illustrator and painter Harvey Dunn.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 470 helpful votes
“Interesting and informative attraction”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Like all wax museums, some of the wax statues are dead ringers for the president they represent. Some are complete misses. That is part of the fun of going to a wax museum. You get to be the critic!

The information provided about each of the presidents is interesting. Be prepared to do a lot of reading.

Some of the presidents are just busts, no body. These are mostly the lesser known presidents.

Overall, it is a fun stop. Put this on your Black Hills list if you have extra time to burn.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ultimatetravelking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    99
    35
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crosby
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“It was ok”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Seeing the first few wax presidents was pretty impressive. But it was tedious to stand and listen to all the history and stories. You could spend three hours there. If you're a real history buff, this is a great place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edward N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Nice Displays of our Presidents”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was on our go-see list of sights in this area of So Dakota. It was only $5 for an early arrival, and worth so much more. Each display of our presidents was unique, some were elegant, and others interesting. the 911 Tribute was very well done, and emotional also. The recorded messages were insightful for each window, giving information to tourists. We could not say that the recognizable presidents looked 'right on' like the real men, however, I'm sure the artists did their best. But their period clothing, shoes, sets, atmosphere was lovely. Children like my history-nut grandson would love this museum. It was informational; employees were kind and friendly and the gift shop offered wonderful educational books and things that I chose for our 4 young grandsons. This is a must-see opportunity. Thank you to all those involved in this President Museum; we enjoyed the visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank talk2terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice Museum”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very nice museum - I don't normally like wax museums but appreciated the historical aspects of this one. Very well done displays and very nice staff. They have a wand thing that tells you about each display or you can just stroll thru like I did. Tears came to my eyes on the 911 exihibit - perfectly done.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcon Heights, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great museum”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Staying in the Black Hills, my teenage children noticed the National Presidential Wax Museum and suggested we go. Having been to Madame Tussauds in London and New York, I thought this museum might suffer by comparison. I also pretty much expected my teenagers to lose interest and skip through the museum in a few minutes.

I was pleasantly mistaken! The museum has great displays and excellently recorded and insightful narration. My kids stayed interested from Washington to Obamaa and I had to wait for them to finish the museum. At only $10, it was a bargain compared to other tourist activities.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Presidential Wax Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Presidential Wax Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing