We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice tourist hotel in little tourist town.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Bridgewater NJ USA
Level Contributor
671 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Nice tourist hotel in little tourist town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Didn't know what to expect since this was a tour-chosen hotel, but it was clean and more than adequate for three adults. There is a restaurant attached and there are a slew of smaller restaurants within easy walking distance. The hotel rooms were tidy and well-kept. We were there a bit out-of-season so it was very quiet. Close to Mount Rushmore and other historic sites. Not plush. we were pleasantly surprised! Staff was helpful and we enjoyed our stay. No breakfast was included but we had a lovely buffet breakfast at the restaurant attached to the hotel. Cannot comment on the price, since this was a tour-chosen hotel but I can say that the bell staff and front eand staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: No special hints. There is not much around, so I am sure that each side is adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giftedelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    120
    103
    49
    60
See reviews for
165
162
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

I was with a group of 47 so I didn't make the reservations. The bags were put in our rooms in a
very timely manner and the rooms were clean. The staff was courteous when I had a question and Jamie in particular was most helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

We travel quite often; on a quest to visit all 50 states. We can't say enough about Mount Rushmore's White House Resort: Exceptionally clean, friendly/courteous staff, beautiful resort with an abolutely beautiful pool area, can walk to all shops and restaurants in town and a short drive to Mount Rushmore. Also, about 20-30 minute drive to Crazy Horse. There's also a local lake for those who like to fish. *Beautiful mountain setting! No coffee maker in room but they provide you with a carafe and you can fill it up with fresh made coffee in the lobby, 24 hrs a day. Discounts available for local businesses.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are available. They're located on the upper level against the mountain. Not much of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

we checked in April 6th 2012,outside on the flashing bill board the rates are advertised at Starting at $49.99 I asked about that room and was told that price no longer existed that ran out April 1st then why keep advertising it I asked then I was told that was the price for mine workers ,and I was also told that it was not a weekend price so which is it.As far as I concerned the hotel was using the bill board to draw in customers then giving excuses why they can't have the advertised price.

Room Tip: read reviews before you check in to a hotel,if your visiting mount rushmore don't stay in Keysto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debbie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
102 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort is a genuinely nice motel over-all. Although the rooms are slightly smaller than what we usually expect for the price. Nevertheless, considering the remoteness of the area, and the proximity to the National Monument, the Mt. Rushmore White House Resort is a nice place to stay.

We were attracted to the advertised price of $49.95. But, when we arrived, that price was for 1 person in a 1 bed room. My wife was charged $10 extra. And, if someone wants a second bed - that costs extra too.

While we could complain about this price enticement scheme, we kept the scheme in perspective. The scheme is very typical in the Black Hills area with motels, restaurants, and stores.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Old-Socialist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FULLERTON, CA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

Gotta admit I was more than a little nervous about this stay. The reviews I read prior to booking were less than stellar. However, traveling with a dog, in what is considered winter I found my choices very limited.
Late night arrival, no problem. The front desk employee Clarence was welcoming, quick check in...up to the room we went. Room was fine. No bare cement floors as I had read in other reviews.
I could also see that the owners are using this time of year to refurbish other rooms on the property.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BEEHAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stayed two nights here with my husband and three small children. The pool was fantastic!! And our room had a kitchenette, which was also a lifesaver. I hadn't realized how tiny Keystone would be, however, and I had to drive to Rapid City for groceries. But overall the hotel was a fine place. Only complaints: I wish they had Guest Laundry available. And it was weird that, after 11pm, the pool (closed to guests) became a party site for the hotel staff and their friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shana14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keystone hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
0.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
0.5 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort

Property: Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
Address: 115 Swanzey Street, P.O. BOX 649, Keystone, SD 57751
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Rushmore`s White House Hotel Keystone
Mt Rushmores White Hotel
Mt Rushmores White Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing