We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you! :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Mt. Rushmore/Keystone
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
San Jose, California
1 review
“Thank you! :)”
Reviewed July 22, 2010

I drove thru keystone on a whim, checked tripadvisor reviews and stayed here! THANK YOU!!! The staff were wonderful...walking distance to the cute downtown area, very close to Mt. Rushmore. wonderful location. very clean rooms! I was fortunate to get the handicap room---big bathroom, very clean!!! I cannot say enough great things about the staff--I drove 16hrs overnight and they not only let me check in well before the 3pm checkin---but she made sure that housekeeping got mine done right away!!! AMAZING attention! THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripper1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    84
    95
    38
    36
See reviews for
136
101
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royse City, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2010

It's good that we were not at our hotel room much (just to sleep). The swimming pool was not usable (little water in it and had mold stuff growing on top). Wireless internet was almost unuseable it was so slow and hard connecting. Continental Breakfast was a joke (we just gave up and started eating out). Took forever to get hot water for showering. The parking was terrible (not enough parking for the rooms you have). You have to fight for a parking place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caacm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Keystone hotels

omaha, nebraska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

During our Custer St. Park and Mt. Rushmore vacation, we stayed two nights at the Travelodge in Keystone, SD. This hotel is right on the main street that passes through town. We requested a room that would have a view of Mt. Rushmore. We were placed on the 3rd floor (only 3 floors) and from our balcony we were able to see the faces! (they advertise themselves as the only hotel with a view of the faces and it seemed to be true). The room was very basic. There was no refrigerator or microwave which seems to be standard these days. The shower was just ok. There was one ice machine and one pop machine on site. The breakfast was rolled in the breakfast room on a cart and only consisted of two cereals, danishes, muffins, a few fruit items, and coffee and two juices. The selection was the same both days. There were only three small tables to sit at. We were there on a Tue and Wed. night. The office closed (no one was present) at 10 p.m. Within a 2-4 block walk was all of the tourist stores that line the main street of Keystone. Mt. Rushmore is approx. 3 miles away. We were told the small outdoor pool was closed (due to the recent rains) but the hot tub was available. If you only need a place to sleep when visiting Mt. Rusmore, this would be okay. If you are wanting to lounge and relax, this would not be suitable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEhusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Great Location, Solid and Quality Hotel for the Mid Level Economy Hotel Segment. The location was very awesome. Can see Mt. Rushmore from outdoor walkway in front of the room. There is a convenice store next door, a couple of restaurants, the Keystone Alpine Slide and Helicopter Tours right next door. Also, the main.touristy part of Downtown Keystone is about 5 minutes walk away, and its a very pleasant and safe walk in the summer months. The room was average sized, very clean. Not very modern or decorated very nice, but clean and veru acceptable if you are not a hotel snob. Nice Outdoor pool for kids. The main tourist area of Keystone is a 5 minute walk away, but your get a way better value here, and one of the few hotels where you can see Mt. Rushmore at night, if you go to the outdoor walkway right in front of your room door. Keystone is awesome place to stay: 5 minutes to Mt. Rushmore and 1880 Steam Train, close to Custer State Park, Wind Cave, Crazy Horse Monument, Jewel Cave

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimboboy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

The front desk clerk was very rude and discourteous. It is was very apparent that the individual fails to realize who is paying his wage! The are many other places to stay in Keystone and Custer and I would highly recommend trying them versus patronizing an establishment that does not value the customer.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank foodisourpassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2008

This hotel is the only one in Keystone with an actual view of Mount Rushmore because of the Black Hills. It's especially beautiful when you can see the Presidents faces lit up at night! It's very economical, clean, and has excellent service from the hotel staff! It's a very simple, small hotel in the middle of Keystone. Not fancy, but we'd definitely stay here again. The staff was very helpful and they cleaned our room often. It's between the two shopping areas so you can either walk up the hill to the mall or down the hill to the mall, and it's right next to a little mini mart for anything you need. Everything is close by. Their continental breakfast is very good. They have danish, cinnamon rolls, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, and your typical array of juices and coffee. They also have a small outdoor jacuzzi and pool, both with views of Mount Rushmore. They don't have private balconies, but they do have one long balcony with outdoor chairs to sit and enjoy the scenery. Also close by is the best restaurant in Keystone! If you stay here you must try Big Time Pizza which I believe is inside the hotel up the street called the Rosebud. It's AMAZING!

  • Liked — The view and the excellent staff!
  • Disliked — The small room.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KikiB97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Calm
Level Contributor
199 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

Small rooms, and only about 30 parking spaces. So if you come back in late, you have to park a bit away. Noise A/Cs and very small breakfast area. better deals in the area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MCtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keystone hotels
0.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.1 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Keystone/Mt. Rushmore
0.3 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
0.2 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Mt. Rushmore/Keystone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Mt. Rushmore/Keystone

Property: Travelodge Mt. Rushmore/Keystone
Address: 522 Highway 16a, Keystone, SD 57751-6001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Mt. Rushmore/Keystone 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Travelodge Mt. Rushmore/Keystone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Keystone Hotel Keystone
Travel Lodge Keystone
Keystone Travel Lodge
Keystone Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing