We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and place to lay your head!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Mt. Rushmore/Keystone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Mt. Rushmore/Keystone
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Pelham, Alabama
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location and place to lay your head!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed at the Travelodge August 27-September 1. We arrived after normal check in hours which made me nervous, but we called the number on the door and someone quickly came and checked us in. The Travelodge was budget friendly, had a great location - you can walk to everything in downtown Keystone, and was comfortable. I only wish the continental breakfast was served earlier, but we're early birds. PLUS...you can see Mount Rushmore from the breezeways!! As far as I could tell, all of the motels in the area seemed to have the same amenities to offer, but Travelodge was the more affordable choice with the view.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    84
    94
    38
    36
See reviews for
136
101
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed 2 nights and were totally satisfied with this hotel. The continental breakfast was nice - a good variety offered. The only thing I would have liked more of was fresh fruit. They had bananas and apples.
The room was clean and updated. Location was close to Mount Rushmore and surrounding sites.Keystone is a nice little town and I would return.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room and had no problems with parking lot/street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron,Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

This hotel was an older facility, but still nice enough for what we were looking for. You can see Mt. Rushmore from the window or doorway of the rooms. All the rooms face the same way, so all rooms would have this same feature. The beds were fine, the water pressure for the shower was very low. The breakfast food was OK, but the area to eat in was much too small. Only a few small tables for lots of people. The building has 3 stories, with an older elevator in the middle or stairway on the end. It is a very short driving distance to Mt. Rushmore. The pool was not functioning when we were there; in fact, it had no water in it at all!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PuniMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

It was a place to sleep. It didn't smell all that great. The air conditioner was in an odd place. The lights outside the doors invited bugs. I got the room cheaper on a site as opposed to what the clerk quoted me over the phone. The water pressure is bloody horrible. On a plus side...great view of rushmore. Decent bed. I actually enjoyed having to go downstairs, and outside to fill our ice bucket. Might stay here again if in a budget crisis.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairabelle429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

Stayed 2 nights there. Advertised wi-fi, continental breakfast, swimming pool. When we checked in, was told the hot tub was not working. No ice in the ice machine. Wi-Fi signal was too week for any connection. Breakfast was a joke. Terrible coffee, stale bagels. If you stay here, bring soap for your shower. Hotel is too cheap to supply enough soap. Bed was comfortable. Slept ok. But that was about it. Can see mount rushmore from parking lot. Nice cafe across the parking lot, Peggy's. Go there for your breakfast. Probably will not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fahland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Keystone hotels

Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Good central location with a convenient continental breakfast. If you're looking for a heartier, hot breakfast, the food and service at Peggy's next door is awesome. Very reasonable rates with well maintained, comfortable clean room. We were there for a two night stay and there was minimal interaction with the front desk. However they were friendly and most accommodating regarding tourist related questions. This hotel is a quick 5 - 10 minute walk to the small downtown area for eateries and shops. You can see Mt. Rushmore in the distance from the property. We would recommend this hotel to other travelers, and stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PastelPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, WI
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

Very nice hotel. We arrived late and the front desk clerk was the best!! Informed my teenage boys that SD and WY are the most boring car rides, but nice views. Once we got there, we checked in and inspected our room. Very nice. One thing I did not like was the way you could hear and feel everyone walking on the balcony, a little scary. We were on the second floor. Took the elevator only once or twice while there. The security guard was very nice and helpful, and the area attractions were fun. we did do the alpine slide in the morning which the views from the top were amazing! We did not have the breakfast in the morning as it only offered Cereal and was a very small area, We chose to eat next door at the little resturant which had FANTASTIC food, large portions and well priced. The kids didn't swim until the next morning because we had arrived about an hour before the pool closed, and they didn't complain, they liked it as they had it all to themselves. We will stay here again as we had no problems and it is centrally located and had a view of Mt. Rushmore. I read that one reviewer had to "Lean to see the monument" when we were there, we walked down to the end of our floor and were able to see it perfectly, even able to see if from the ground and the pool.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SwannysWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keystone hotels
2.0 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
0.1 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Keystone/Mt. Rushmore
0.3 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Mt. Rushmore/Keystone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Mt. Rushmore/Keystone

Property: Travelodge Mt. Rushmore/Keystone
Address: 522 Highway 16a, Keystone, SD 57751-6001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Mt. Rushmore/Keystone 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Travelodge Mt. Rushmore/Keystone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Keystone Hotel Keystone
Travel Lodge Keystone
Keystone Travelodge
Keystone Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing