We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect retreat in the Black Hills”
Review of Battle Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Keystone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Battle Creek Lodge
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Whether it's the location - just off the main drag in Keystone - or the owners and staff, this is one of my family's favorite places to stay. Within a short drive of all the places to see in the Black Hills this is the perfect place for a long weekend or a summer vacation for the family. It is as good as, or better than, every place I have ever stayed. I would recommend it to anyone, and I do to everyone. We'll be back soon!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baend B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 295 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

ONLY advantage was close location for Mt. Rushmore. Room was run-down, very low bed, window blinds and towels very poor. Disappointed given what we read on Trip Advisor.
Breakfast was nothing special at all for us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trrose662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TammyInKeystone, Manager at Battle Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Hello trrose66 ~

Thank you for taking time to post a review on our lodge. Obviously, we are very disappointed to learn of your experience with us and regret that we were not made aware of it until now. I have sent you a private message so I can better understand when you were here and what room you were in so I can better address the issues you speak of.

As I have shared in earlier reviews and with many of our guests as they have stayed with us, our guests are our number on priority. We have never claimed and never will claim to be anything we are not. We are a simple, family ran, local operation. We run our business like we run our lives -- we are honest, work hard, and do the best we can with what we have. We don't sell what we can't back up and we take things at face value. This way of doing business has worked for us, and like my mentor and business adviser has always told me -- if it isn't broken, why fix it?

That said, if something is broke - or isn't working, you can bet that we want to fix it right away! We count on our guests to let us know if they are not happy or unsatisfied so we can make things right. It remains one of my BIGGEST frustrations when guests have a problem, something is broken in their rooms, or we simply are not the experience they are looking for -- and they don't say a word to us while they are here -- but they say lots of words about it when they leave. We understand we can't be everything to everyone - -and that we are going to have issues that need fixed or things that we can make better. We are still pretty new to this business and we have a lot to learn -- but we know one thing for sure, we can't fix it if we don't know about it.

I am not sure we could have changed anything about your stay. Our prices are among the lowest in the area - and include all of the amenities at no additional cost. We don't claim to be the Ritz, Our rooms are our rooms and something we are very proud of.

We purchase new bedding and new towels every season and we try our best to get rid of anything that is sub standard through the laundry process. If you had any linens that were not up to your standards, we would have gladly replaced them. We do as much upgrading as time and money will allow. This includes new carpet a year ago, painted rooms, new chairs for the rooms, flat screens in the rooms, new refrigerators, etc. We would like to replace the light fixtures and do a little updating to make the rooms have a little more space, but we are getting there.
**We did have it brought to our attention by a guest last week that the pull down blinds in 2 of our rooms had been broken. We are in the process of getting them replaced.**

You also speak about the breakfast not being anything special. This brings up a very valid point that I would like to make about expectations. We advertise an "Upgraded Continental" breakfast. We advertise and tell guests that means a basic continental breakfast with hot and cold items and then a "Featured item of the day" -- something like biscuits and gravy or French Toast. THAT is what WE are selling.

The breakfast has taken on a bit of a life of its own though reviews and our great community. Don't get me wrong, I LOVE that our guests love the breakfast ~ and we will continue to make sure that our breakfasts are fantastic -- BUT -- Please take other people's experiences and make that your expectation. Your expectations should be based on what we, as the business are telling you - not on what other people are saying.
TripAdvisor and other review sites are fantastic tools for travelers and for businesses. They give people an idea of what the property is like and a better well-rounded picture. They are great for business owners because they are a tool in seeing what you are doing well - what you can improve on - and other idea's that will help build your business. What is important to remember is that these sites are TOOLS -- not the end all be all and they shouldn't be what you base your "expectations" on. What is a great breakfast to you, might be a terrible breakfast to me. What is a great bed to you -- might be the worst bed I have ever slept in. It is all relative.

The bottom line is that we are sorry you didn't enjoy your time with us and that we fell short of what you were expecting. We wish you would have said something while you were still on site, so we could have better addressed your concerns or helped you find accommodations that would have been better suited for you. We do thank you for taking the time to post your review and we will follow up on the blinds in the rooms. We also will be doing FULL Inventory on all of our linens in the coming week and anything that is "sub-standard" will be thrown away in preparation for the 2014 season.
We hope you enjoyed your time in the Black Hills~
Safe Travels ~
Tammy Gilbertson
Battle Creek Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We enjoyed a three night stay at the Battle Creek Lodge. There was a warm and welcoming atmosphere. Our room was small with low ceilings and dated furniture, but had a comfortable bed and was immaculately clean. Breakfast was home made and great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan-Bobtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

......and a nice clean room. We spent the day exploring Jewel Cave NM and then Mount Rushmore. The Battle Creek Lodge was a convenient place to stop. Easy walking distance to the shops and restaurants. If you're looking for a good place to stop that doesn't empty your wallet you've found it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at the Battle Creek Lodge for 4 nights earlier this month, on the strength of the positive reviews we had read on Trip advisor. A nice stay overall, the rooms are comfortable and clean and the location is perfect for what we came to South Dakota to see-Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse monuments, which are both an easy drive away. There is a nice deck to sit out on and a fire pit to sit around in the evening which sadly we didn't get the chance to use as we were always out and about. An ideal place to stay if you are visiting the monuments-and driving the Iron Mountain Road and the Needles Highway are an absolute must too!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I have ridden our motorcycle to the Black Hills several times and stayed at various places. We stumbled across Battle Creek Lodge several years ago and haven't stayed anywhere else. The location is within walking distance to our favorite shops and restaurants in town. The lodge is small, intimate is probably a better word, with comfortable beds and rooms that are kept so clean you could eat off the floor. Nice breakfast to start the day, and sweet firepit to sit around at the end. But what really makes the lodge such a jewel are the hosts, Tammy and Cine. These 2 wonderful women go beyond being excellent hosts that are knowledgeable of the area and can answer any question. They open their hearts and welcome you as friends. When arriving at the lodge for one of our trips, we can't wait to greet them, and absolutely hate to leave. We have stayed at many hotels around the country, both grand and small, and have never experienced this level of hospitality and genuine warmth. Their goal is to have you leave as friends, and they succeed with style! Even their housekeepers are fantastic ladies! If you're looking for a grand hotel with tons of bells and whistles, the lodge is not for you. If you're looking for a relaxing, intimate, home away from home, where you can truly unwind, there is nothing that can compare. After a stay with Tammy and Cine, you simply won't consider staying anywhere else. Treat yourself and give them a try...and don't forget to meet and greet Peanut!

This is our second attempt at writing a review so hopefully it posts - darned smart phones!

Ed and Lisa
Tonganoxie, KS

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very accommodating to guests. Fire pit that we sat around in the evening and enjoyed getting to know new friends. Good breakfast. Very convenient to Mt. Rushmore. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. We came to relax and get away from stress and this was the place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.5 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
0.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
7.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 13 in Keystone
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battle Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battle Creek Lodge

Address: 404 Reed St, Keystone, SD 57751-4101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range: $89 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Battle Creek Lodge is a quaint Lodge located just minutes away from Mt Rushmore, in the beautiful and Historic Keystone South Dakota. Just blocks away from the Keystone "strip"' Battle Creek provides you the benefit of being within walking distance to all of the local attractions, restaurants, and bars- without the noise and chaos to keep you awake at night. A gas fire pit to enjoy on the cool evenings and a Breakfast that will jump start your vacation though the hills are just a few of the things Battle Creek has to offer. Owned and operated by locals, you are sure to get an insiders guide on what to see and do during your stay, by people who REALLY care about your vacation and are committed to making your time in the Black Hills enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Battle Creek Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing