We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hosts, but average accommodations.”
Review of Battle Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Keystone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Battle Creek Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly hosts, but average accommodations.”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Chose to stay here over the chain hotels in Keystone based on other Trip advisor reviews. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating. The room was just average. It was clean and well maintained, but a bit dated. The beds need to be replaced. The springs were worn and the bedding was ok. The towels were also paper thin.

Staff was very helpful with our air conditioning problem. One of the knobs was missing off of our window unit so they adjusted it with some pliers and left them for us to use if needed.

Tip: Don't plan to start your day early as breakfast doesn't begin until 7:30. Breakfast food was typical and limited. Was hoping for more than a chain hotel breakfast because of the higher room price and previous reviews.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoBucks51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyominglady, Owner at Battle Creek Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Go-Bucks51 ~

We would first like to thank you for staying with us and for taking time to post your review. As I have stated in previous Trip Advisor Responses, guest feedback is VERY important and valuable to us. We take your input very seriously and use it as we continue to plan and make upgrades to the lodge.

We are glad that you feel you received good customer service while you were here. Our guests are always our number one priority. From the comments you made, it appears that our customer service did shine through.

It did surprise me to hear that you found our beds to not be comfortable. The comments we usually get are that our beds are very comfortable. The mattresses are new (or near new) as we have had them for a couple of years -- with a season that runs 100 nights, they have been slept in less than 200 nights each. We rotate them regularly and make sure that they are in good working condition. Beds are something that we really can't win with -- if we purchase soft beds, we lose with the people who like them hard- and the other way around. We really do try to do the best by the majority of our guests -- and will continue. We will continue to access the need for new beds/mattresses and we will replace them prior to it being necessary.

Next ~ I am sorry that you were disappointed by our breakfast. I would like to say that we advertise a "deluxe continental" breakfast. It is not intended to be a "full" breakfast. We have gotten many comments about our breakfasts on here, but please understand we are selling a nights stay with a deluxe continental breakfast. Our breakfasts include, all of the basics -- cereal, breads, yogurt, h.b. eggs, milk, juice, oatmeal, and fresh fruit (not your basic apple/orange/banana) in addition to our featured item of the day. (ie: french toast, scram eggs & sausage, waffles, Biscuits and gravy.)

We certainly understand that some people like to get their day's started early and breakfast at 7:30 may seem late. For this reason, our breakfast bar opens at 7:00 for continental items and coffee. The "item of the day" or hot item is ready by 7:30. Again, this is something where we try to meet the need of the majority of our guests. We have experimented with different times and the time frame that seems to work best is 7:00-9:00. We also ask that people take into consideration that we run this business ourselves. We don't charge the kind of rates that would justify a "staff"-24/7. Thus, our days start at 6:00 a.m. and often run until mid-night or beyond.

The air-conditioning units/knobs have been something that makes us crazy. It seems that no matter how many we buy, how we put them on, or what we do with them - they disappear. We will continue to order them and continue to replace them as fast as we can.

Lastly, we take a lot of pride in the fact that we run our business in a way where we will never promise our guests that we are something that we are not. We are not a "chain" motel. We are not a "New motel" and we aren't a perfect fit for everyone. We are a 10 room lodge - family owned and operated -- and doing our best to make sure our guests are comfortable. If you are looking for a full breakfast, Bath Sheets instead of towels (which we do order every season) -- then Battle Creek might not be what you are looking for.

However, if you are looking for a quaint, cozy, and comfortable place at a rate that is WELL below the avg motel rates for the area - and you like the charm that comes from this old town-fire department that has been turned into our lodge - then we are thrilled to have you.
As a business owner, I would encourage you -- and other trip advisor users -- to be careful not to base your expectations entirely on what is said in reviews. I would encourage you to look at the property, call and ask questions, and build your expectations based on what the hotel can promise you. What is GREAT to one person, may not be GREAT to the next. One persons continental breakfast may be the next persons full breakfast. Etc. Etc. It isn't fair to base your review on expectations that are created by TripAdvisor and not by the property owners and management itself. It sets everyone up for the potential of disappointment and that certainly is not what we want.

Again, we thank you for your review and for your business. We hope that you enjoyed your time in the Black Hills and wish you many happy returns ~
Safe Travels ,
Tammy Gilbertson
Battle Creek Lodge
Keystone, SD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    44
    14
    5
    8
See reviews for
97
105
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Second year staying at Battle Creek Lodge, and again I didn't want to leave. Their Quote " May all who enter here as guests depart as treasured friends" is true!
If your looking for excellent rates, great rooms, complimentary breakfast. What an awesome place to stay. Met so many great people again just sitting around the fire at night and chatting with people from all over the world. Just can't say enough...
Thanks again Tammy for a wonderful stay.
Hope to be back soon.
Dave S. Fargo, ND

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We paid $95 with tax for a room which is reasonable considering the area. The checkin was good, although we did have to question paying $10 more for breakfast, we opted out of that. The Lodge is quite dated and unfortunately we didn't sleep well because the floor boards creaked from people walking in the other rooms. The other problem was we could hear people going to the toilet in the middle of the night and the exhaust fans running. The walls are also very thin which is a bit off putting hearing other people coughing and talking.
For good value for money near Rushmore it's an okay option.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie_3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyominglady, Owner at Battle Creek Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our lodge. We regret if we feel short of any expectations that you had of us.

I have done some follow up with our staff and have a couple of concerns about the comments in your review. I am unsure of why you would have been "upcharged" for anything while you were here. Our prices include breakfast, free- wi-fi, free parking, and many other amenities. There is no reason you should have been "upcharged" for breakfast.

You speak of the property being "dated". Certainly the building is older than many in the area, but that is something that we feel offers some of the charm and character that our guests have come to love. In case you are not familiar with the history of the Lodge, it is a converted Fire Hall - that has been renovated. In the 3 years that we have had the property, we have made countless renovations to add the conveniences and amenities that we believe our guests both desire and deserve. So, yes -- we are an older property -- but we are a well maintained property that is both clean and well cared for.

One of the most common concerns of our guests when they arrive on our property is "noise". The fear that it may be loud because we are in town. One of the most common things we hear prior to guests checking out is that they can't believe how quiet it is and how well they sleep. We are sorry if there was noise that kept you awake -- but we are sincere in saying we don't believe this is a "normal" issue. It is something we are going to be paying much closer attention to and if there is something we need to address, be assured we will.

Lastly, we would like to comment on the value. For anyone who has looked at pricing in the area -- they know that we offer a great value. We don't claim to be the lowest priced lodging in Keystone, but we do believe that you would be hard pressed to find anything with lower rates, better service, more amenities, and better attention that you will get at Battle Creek Lodge. We hope that we can agree on.

Again ~ We thank you for taking time to post your review and to give us your feedback. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in the Black Hills and we appreciate your business.
Safe Travels,
Tammy Gilbertson
Battle Creek Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The office/breakfast area reminded me of small European hotels. Cine and Tammy were helpful in getting us reservations for dinner and giving directions to walk into town. The room was spotless and quiet and we loved the chairs and small tables on the balcony. A full breakfast was served. What else could you want?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I found Battle Creek Lodge when looking for lodging that was a reasonable drive from the airport in Rapid City. My husband and I did not want the usual hotel and Battle Creek Lodge was the right choice. Tammy is so friendly and helpful. She serves a wonderful breakfast that offered choices of cereal, oatmeal, eggs, French toast, freshly made breakfast sandwiches, coffee or tea and juices. The rooms are clean and inviting. The atmosphere was warm and friendly and all the guests felt it. The lodge is centrally located for seeing the different attractions. I recommend Battle Creek Lodge as the place to stay when visiting the Black Hills.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elfaba13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Across the street from tourist clutter so a great location. Main street is at the end of the block so you can walk. Owner is very charming and concerned about her clients. Also great full breakfast is included. You can find cheaper but without breakfast and personal service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vbflgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, KS
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We didn't want to pay a fortune or stay in a cookie cutter motel that could be ANYWHERE. Battle Creek lodge filled the bill. Though compact, our room was spotless, the king bed very comfy, and every amenity we could want was in the room. Very conveniently located. The breakfast was great. Tammy and Cine were a fund of information about local activities. More like a bed and breakfast than a motel. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor. You have to shuffle your luggage, but may be quieter than ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keystone hotels
0.5 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
0.7 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
860 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brookside Motel
Brookside Motel
#7 of 14 in Keystone
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battle Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battle Creek Lodge

Property: Battle Creek Lodge
Address: 404 Reed St, Keystone, SD 57751-4101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Battle Creek Lodge is a quaint Lodge located just minutes away from Mt Rushmore, in the beautiful and Historic Keystone South Dakota. Just blocks away from the Keystone "strip"' Battle Creek provides you the benefit of being within walking distance to all of the local attractions, restaurants, and bars- without the noise and chaos to keep you awake at night. A gas fire pit to enjoy on the cool evenings and a Breakfast that will jump start your vacation though the hills are just a few of the things Battle Creek has to offer. Owned and operated by locals, you are sure to get an insiders guide on what to see and do during your stay, by people who REALLY care about your vacation and are committed to making your time in the Black Hills enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Battle Creek Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing