We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly but showing its age - needs some work”
Review of Battle Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Battle Creek Lodge
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2011

would give 3.5 rating - Stayed one night in early September. Nice and helpful staff, lovely hot breakfast more like a B&B (scrambled eggs and bacon, as I recall). Nice to talk to other lodgers over breakfast. Small and friendly place. Location was convenient.

BUT... the carpet in our room was really filthy - very stained - the air conditioner didn't put out much air, and the windows had been painted shut. Really wish I could say better things about our room, cause we liked the 'feel' of the place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MichiganB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy G, Manager at Battle Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2011

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to post a review of our lodge. ~We take our reviews very seriously and try our best to use them as learning tools and as guides to help us decide where we are doing things right and where we need to improve.

As I may have shared with you, we took over the lodge in April of 2011 and our season started in May. We had a list of "Have to's" and "Would like to's" We started at the top of the list and worked our way down - until time and money ran out. After having the carpets professionally cleaned, we really believed they would make it another year. We were wrong. Let me just say that I know the "Bissell Carpet Cleaner" at a MUCH deeper level than any person should. ;-)

The GREAT news is we are getting NEW carpet in time for the 2012 season! (this is something I am THRILLED about as I have battled trying to clean and keep the carpets clean all season!) We have already started preparing for the 2012 season and have several projects under-way that will help update & upgrade the lodge, while keeping it affordable for our guests.

I wish you would have said something about the Air Conditioning Unit when you were here. We have had VERY good luck with the A/C's and had just had them charged and cleaned in early September. We always have one on hand so IF there is a problem we can switch it out. We haven't had to do that yet, but are ready if the need ever arises.

As far as the window being painted shut - Again, this is why we need and appreciate feedback from our guests. We had no idea! I went up and found that 2 windows had been 'painted shut' during our "painting projects' over the season. I am not sure HOW we missed that, but we did. We have gotten the windows open and had them measured to get screens on them for next season. We will make a point to be more alert to this problem in the future.

I grew up in a family business and was raised by 2 very successful business people. One of the things that they taught me is to LISTEN to what people are telling you about your business. Don't take things personal or file comments under "complaints" but listen and take it as your opportunity to do something better -- or to make something right. We try hard to carry that into our day-to-day operations of this business. We don't want people to be afraid to say "hey, we think this might work better for you." or "We noticed this wasn't working, were you aware?" To me, that isn't a complainer - that is a person who cares enough about me and my business they want to help me make it better and for that, I am thankful.

So, again - Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. I hope if you make it back our way again, you will give us the opportunity to show you the "improvements" we have made. Until then, we wish you the best! Safe Travels.
Tammy M. Gilbertson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
There are newer reviews for Battle Creek Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 289 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2011

The Battle Creek Lodge is a nice little hotel in Keystone. My partner and I had done some checking on this place before we booked it. I have to say the reviews from on line were dead on spot. To start with we wanted a place that was not over the top in price but was also not a hole in the wall... We stayed for three nights at the end of September.. we paid $69.99 per night which I did not think was to bad given the area. I am sure the prices are higher during the summer months but being it was late Sept I am sure we got a deal. The hotel is close to Mount Rushmore and also Mount Rushmore Cave... The hotel is just down the block from the 1880's train and about a good 30 min from Rapid City and a good hours drive from Deadwood. The staff ( Tammy) is very nice. The first night we were at the hotel they had a fire going on the deck. She asked if we wanted Smores she and a few friends were making that night. WOW... what Holiday Inn or Ramada hotel does that for you. Tammy even asked if we wanted tickets to a wrestling event that was going on in Deadwood that weekend as some of the semi pro wrestlers were at the hotel .... Are room was clean and nice, nothing fancy. The king bed we had was wonderful. The room had a flat screen TV with Dish network channels. The breakfast was also nice.. .... scrambled eggs and sausage or bagel or cereal etc... From side conversations it sounds like this is under new management and the family is working hard at making it a nice place to stay. I know Tammy was looking forward to the end of the season to work on projects in the lodge for next spring..... I am sure this place will only keep getting better each year... it's worth chekcing out if your in Keystone. Thanks for a nice stay ..... Sioux Falls, SD.

PS: I don't think they list room rates on line??? You need to call and ask I think?? We called as I could not find rates at the time I booked the room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

me and my partner stayed here for 3 nights last week (the middle of sept). While yes its obviously not the Ritz, its a cute and cozy place to stay. The owners are extremely friendly and gracious. They went out of their way to make us feel very welcome and make sure we were having a good time (not to mention they have a cute little yorkie). The walls are a little on the thin side, but not bad. The bed was very comrfortable (we had a king), and the surrounding area seems to be very quiet and relaxing. The fire pit is a great touch and great for conversing with other guests. If we go back to Keystone we would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

When we checked in, Tammy gave us excellent dinner recommendations and information about Mount Rushmore's evening lighting ceremony. When we mentioned we would probably need to depart before breakfast is available at 7:30am, we were graciously told to stop by earlier. Upon checking out at 6:30am, we were given PopTarts, granola bars, grapes, mini-muffins, etc. for the road! How nice is that?!?

The rooms were clean, quiet, and larger than expected.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExploringBuckeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed here for 3 night in early Sept. We were going to stay in Rapid City but changed to Keystone because it was closer to the 3 main attractions we wanted to see and I liked the reviews I saw on trip advisor. I have no complaints. The beds were the closest in firmness to ours at home and with 4 pillows a bed, I slept the best I had my entire vacation. The breakfast saved us from going out each morning and they mixed it up every day. Biscuits and gravy, bacon, hb eggs, french toast, cereals, bagels. The bathrooms are large and the a/c worked fine. You can sit outside your room or out on their deck area by a gas firepit upstairs that was very relaxing. It's not that busy a street but there are a couple of restaurants nearby that provided good food/service and the "main street" is only a couple blocks away. I think Mt Rushmore was a few miles away. The people running the place were very personable. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank roadtripperAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

My husband and I arrived at the holiday inn across the street around 2am. The room we already paid for was overbooked so they told us we had to stay at Battle Creek. We weren't excited about the sudden switch if plans after a long day of driving but we had no choice. The owners of Battle Creek left the key for our room with a nice note. The room was nice but was on the ground floor and we found a dozen spiders. I am not a fan of them so it kept me up thinking about them crawling on me. The shower had 3 long hairs in it before I got in. Overall, I'm thankful they took us in. I probably wouldn't stay there again though.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilk1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy G, Manager at Battle Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

We are sorry that your travel plans did not turn out the way you had expected. We understand how frustrating it can be when you expect one thing and get another. When the Holiday Inn originally discovered they were over-booked and contacted us to see if we had any rooms left, we were full. As luck would have it, we did have a cancellation later in the evening- so we held the room for you. We did not want you to arrive in Keystone in the middle of the night and not have ANY accomadations.

I also have a SERIOUS issue with spiders! (well, okay -- I hate almost ALL bugs.)We have been pretty lucky and not had any "bug" or "spider" problems. Living in the Black Hills, we certainly can't keep ALL of the spiders, but we give it our best try. We spray on a regular basis and have a professional that comes in several times each season. After seeing your post, we did go into ALL of our rooms and spray again -- better safe than sorry.

As far as the hair in the shower. What can I say to that? There is NO excuse. That is NOT acceptable by our standards. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with a CLEAN, friendly, affordable, lodge. We do EVERYTHING we can to make sure that our rooms not only meet - but exceed the standards that our guests have for us. I am VERY sorry that we did not meet those standards. Please know that we have taken your review and used the information in it as a re-training tool. Rest assured, had these things been brought to our attention while you were here, they would have been addressed right away.

Again, we are sorry we were not what you were expecting. We were sincere in trying to do what we thought we would want if we were in the same situation. We hope if you ever pass this way again you will give us a chance to make it right.

Safe Travels!
Tammy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We had a great stay at the Battle Creek Lodge. We arrived after their office closed, so they left a key with a nice note for us. The daily breakfasts were an excellent way to start the day. Not only did we get a variety of foods, we also were able to get some travel/attraction advice from the hotel owners. We enjoyed the seating areas and the 'fire.' Overall, tt was a very affordable way to see a beautiful part of the country! We hope to return!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keystone hotels
0.5 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
0.5 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
0.7 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 13 in Keystone
929 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Keystone Near Mt. Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battle Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battle Creek Lodge

Address: 404 Reed St, Keystone, SD 57751-4101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range: $118 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Battle Creek Lodge is a quaint Lodge located just minutes away from Mt Rushmore, in the beautiful and Historic Keystone South Dakota. Just blocks away from the Keystone "strip"' Battle Creek provides you the benefit of being within walking distance to all of the local attractions, restaurants, and bars- without the noise and chaos to keep you awake at night. A gas fire pit to enjoy on the cool evenings and a Breakfast that will jump start your vacation though the hills are just a few of the things Battle Creek has to offer. Owned and operated by locals, you are sure to get an insiders guide on what to see and do during your stay, by people who REALLY care about your vacation and are committed to making your time in the Black Hills enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Battle Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battle Creek Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing