We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”

Powder House Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located only 4 miles (10 minutes) from Mt Rushmore the Powder House Lodge has a rich and storied history in the Black Hills. Specializing in Prime Rib, Buffalo, Fish, Wild Game and Pasta we offer a unique dining experience in a one of a kind atmosphere.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Went at 6 pm with reservations and still had to wait 15 min. Would never go without a reservation. Food was excellent. Poor bread. Reasonable prices

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    290
    93
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Loved the food!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Powder House was recommended by the manger at our hotel, so we tried it for dinner and then went back for breakfast and will most likely go back again tonight. The food is homemade, well prepared and we'll seasoned. The kids menu is also great! Breakfast was awesome! Service for both meals was friendly and prompt. I would highly recommend! !!

Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“atmosphere and food”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We sat by the window and enjoyed the view and it had a log cabin feel. I had the prime rib and others had the filet and pasta. All meals came in a timely manner and were delis. We enjoyed it
so much that we went for breakfast the next day as we headed for home.
The breakfast good too. They were busy and didn't have enough help at breakfast but it didn't affect us as we got there early.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 6tribes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

My family and I loved the burgers! It was a little higher in price than we typically spend for a burger, but perhaps that's just what one spends around here. The French fries weren't all that great. Order a salad instead.

Helpful?
Thank Chdeia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nicest place in Keystone”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We decided to eat and stay in Keystone on our way to Mt Rushmore. That proved to be the right choice. Rapid City was maybe 30-40 minutes away and storms were bad in RC. We stopped at PowderHouse for dinner. Food was surprisingly good. My friend said the buffalo ribs were a bit dry but the Prime Rib was a generous cut and delicious. They had several gluten free options marked including gluten free pasta which was great. Atmosphere is wonderful. Perfect casual mountain cabin environment. Was about 10 minutes to Mt Rushmore. After early dinner we drove to catch the closing ceremonies at Rushmore. It starts at 9 but was worth the wait. We then stayed at Keystone Rushmore Express although Powder House lodging looked interesting too. From there we drove to State Game Lodge via the Iron Mountain Road which was an amazing drive. Definitely enjoyed this beautiful section of South Dakota.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rsprenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Powder House Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Powder House Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing