We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat”

Powder House Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Located only 4 miles (10 minutes) from Mt Rushmore the Powder House Lodge has a rich and storied history in the Black Hills. Specializing in Prime Rib, Buffalo, Fish, Wild Game and Pasta we offer a unique dining experience in a one of a kind atmosphere.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We had an early supper here and our meal was great
One of the best prime rib sandwiches I have had. I thi k they messed up on my younger sons order..and brought him fish sticks instead of chicken tenders...He commented that it smelled and tasted like fish when he was almost done. My husband tasted it and sure enough..it was fish. Since he basically ate it all...we didn't complain. We would still go back again even with this error. The service was great and all our other food was perfect.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    290
    93
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed the Buffalo”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We went to Powder House Lodge twice during our stay in Keystone and had wonderful meals each time. The buffalo and elk were wonderful treats and the wait staff is so wonderful. We look forward to visiting again on our next visit west.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Where to start..”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Wow is the first word that comes to mind when talking about this place. We had a fabulous dinner in short trip back to the area. The only down side was we've been visiting this area for a few years now and this is the first time we have been here. Man have we been missing out. This restaurant is just down right perfect. From the rustic atmosphere to the amazing food this place is 5 star!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelinmama_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Prime Rib is the BEST!!!!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

There were many reviews and most said to try the prime rib. No one lied. This was one of the best cuts I've ever had. I'm sure everything is just as good. Best place to eat in town.

Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“I want to go back!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Order the cherry rhubarb crisp, you won't be disappointed. My family ate lunch here, which was very affordable for the Black Hills area, with a lot of variety and food selection. The sandwiches are a far step above any sub shop. My husband really enjoyed the Holy Terror burger and told the hostess they should consider entering it the "Best Burger in the Hills" contest, he was that impressed. Our lunch fare was $7-9, but dinner menu is much more expensive. So if you want great food at a reasonable price, go for lunch. The dinner menu looks amazing, but you'll pay $15+ for most entrees. This restaurant might push our usual favorite Cheyenne Crossing to 2nd, but we've only been here one time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Powder House Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Powder House Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing