We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stew, nice atmosphere”

Powder House Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Located only 4 miles (10 minutes) from Mt Rushmore the Powder House Lodge has a rich and storied history in the Black Hills. Specializing in Prime Rib, Buffalo, Fish, Wild Game and Pasta we offer a unique dining experience in a one of a kind atmosphere.
Lima Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good stew, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our B&B hosts in Hill City recommended this place for the buffalo stew so we stopped by on our way to the lighting ceremony at Mt. Rushmore. The location was convenient, the atmosphere, service and stew (served in a bread bowl) were all very good. This was one of the more interesting places we ate during our visit to the Black Hills.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poppy-GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    289
    91
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Best in Keystone”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had dinner here and was very happy. Go early to miss the crowd or make a reservation. We ate buffalo,elk, and venison appetizers. A very good choice. Make sure you ask them to identify them. They had a good dipping sauce too. Nice salads and would give them a "B" for service and an "A" for decor and food

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Place To Eat In Keystone, SD”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I ate here last week during my 3 night stay in Keystone and in my opinion, it is the best place to eat in town. It has great rustic ambience, a very extensive menu and excellent service. I had a Rib Eye Steak that was tasty and prepared perfectly. I was so pleased with the dinner I that came back again the next morning for an excellent skillet breakfast on my way out of town. They also serve a lot of wild game and buffalo entrees.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wauconda
1 review
“no well done”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The food was good, but don't order beef if you like well done. I sent mine back, but they still didn't cook it. Very disappointing considering the price. My wife loved her rare prime rib.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank James m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A Tasty Meal”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We ate at the Powder House a couple of times during our recent stay in Keystone. The food, especially the wild game and bison, were really tasty. The portions were on the money and we left full each time. The food is very well prepared and the restaurant is a nice place to relax at the end of the day.

Our group tried the bison meatloaf, the elk medallions, the bison filet, the ostrich and the wild game sampler as an appetizer. We liked all of them. I am told by those in our group who tried dessert that it was wonderful.

They were fairly busy both nights we ate there, and the service was somewhat slow. If you are in a hurry this might not be a good choice. If you have the time though, this is not a problem. It could be that the crowd was larger than they expected since we were after the Labor Day holiday when the number of travelers usually slacks off. If the service had been better we would have given it an excellent rating.

Bottom line, the food was excellent, just don't go if you are in a hurry.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Powder House Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Powder House Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing