We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away! Horrible place!”

Keystone House Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 41 Restaurants in Keystone
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
2 reviews
“Stay away! Horrible place!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

The woman that runs the keystone house also runs the All American and the Railhead restaurant. She could care less about her customers or her staff. She can't cook and is completely unpleasant. For what she charges you could eat somewhere really good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank faedraco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    22
    22
    26
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Poor Decision”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

When we stayed at the Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites last summer (see review), we were looking for a place to go for breakfast. This is within a short walk and seemed decent enough from the outside.

It wasn't very busy at the time, but it still took a little while to get us seated. The booths were quite uncomfortable and quite dated. Our server took our orders after a few minutes (nothing difficult, pancakes/eggs and buffets). It took forever to get our drinks and the pancake order came back incorrect. Since we waited so long, we didn't bother letting them know it was wrong. The buffet wasn't that great either as most of the food that was on it was overcooked and very dry. It was almost like it was leftovers from the day before and just reheated.

We were in Keystone for 2 nights and needless to say, we did NOT go back the next morning!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PRNap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick F, Owner at Keystone House Restaurant, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We are the new management and we started April, opened the restaurant May 1, 2013. We understand many of the comments about the prior operation. It has been our goal to turn this restaurant operation around by giving good service, excellent fresh food in a clean and sanitary environment. So far, the customer comments tell us we are headed in the right direction. We invite any and all prior customers who had bad experiences, to return for a fresh look at our operation. Right now, we make our hamburgers with fresh ground beef, not the frozen hockey pucks normally used in many restaurants. The reviews have been very good, with many repeat customers. Thank you for the opportunity to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Food”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Ate here for breakfast. I got biscuits and gravy, my wife the french toast. Good all around. The food had that "home cooked" taste and style to it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
250 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good breakfast buffet.”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We ate breakfast there and had the buffet. It had very good fruit as well as meats and breads. Good value.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mdfloyd322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great waiter, not so good food”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The waiter was adorable. He was so scattered, the only one there, and really trying to keep his customers happy. There was no cream for coffee, he brought us milk. Really, the 3 stars is for the waiter, not the restaurant!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarynWynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keystone House Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to Keystone House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing