We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th Year Trip report”
Review of Powder House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Powder House Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“4th Year Trip report”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here again this past June - 4th year straight. I have searched high and low for nice accomodations in the Hills and the Powderhouse always wins. There are some seriously scary places to stay in the area.

Why do we come back? Location is central - 5 minutes to Keystone, 10 minutes to Reptile Gardens/Bear Country, 10 to Mount Rushmore, 30 to Custer State Park, 50 minutes to Lead/Deadwood. On site restaurant is awesome - perfect for morning breakfast or a chill dinner after a long day. Pool is clean and warm. The cabins are rustic but extremely clean. The staff here actually cares - from the front desk to housekeeping and the servers in the restaurant. Last trip I called about stopping down to the front office for extra pillows. They insisted to bring them to us which I figured would take forever. Five minutes later the golf cart shows up with our pillows...even at the best hotels and resorts this is not always the norm.

Every year they have made improvements. New asphalt drive to the upper cabins, new water system that greatly improved water quality (and the pool), new carpet in the cabins. I jokingly requested new linoleum in the kitchenette/bath area for next year and they actually responded and informed me that they had it in the plans...nice. So many places in the Hills have zero pride and are in disrepair.

The deluxe family cabin is where we always stay. Perfect setup with a loft for the kids and a seperate bedroom downstairs. Free wi-fi.

This is NOT the Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons but it is clean, friendly, and service-oriented. The deluxe family cabins are very nice - nothing fancy (can't speak to the motel or other cabins as I have not stayed there). If you are looking for granite countertops and a steam shower you might want to avoid visiting the area or rent from VRBO. The resort and cabins are a perfect change of pace from the five star hotels with the marble floors with 50 foot entrance lobbies with fake italian fountains...nicely coupled with the valet parking that carries a $22/day parking fee and hidden $25/day "Resort Fees". Good break from the usual. I love it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MooreaGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    87
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
98
121
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The location is great, just outside of the touristy Keystone and about 2 miles from Mt. Rushmore. We stayed 3 nights and everything we wanted to see (Custer St. park,Wind Cave, Needles Highway,Deadwood and Crazy Horse ) were within an easy drive.

The King cabin near the road and the restaurant is a little dated in decor and amenities, but with the exception of a balky thermostat on the heating unit it more than met our needs as a home base for a great vacation. The food at the restaurant was excellent for breakfast and dinner (we were never there for lunch). Everyone we met on staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The King cabins 25 and 26 are near the restaurant, but also near the road and can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cagandpag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We've stayed here several times, the most recent with friends from the Czech Republic. They're not luxurious or high end, but for cabins, they are more than what you'd expect. They're always clean and comfortable with privacy and great views. Everyone that works here has always been very friendly. We usually travel with a small dog and they're very dog friendly.

We usually have breakfast in the restaurant and it's always been very good, with good service. We've never had the opportunity to try it out for lunch.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Pacosmom2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed 4 nights in a deluxe family cabin in August 2012. We knew we wanted to stay near Rushmore, and I wanted more room than a 2 Queen hotel room, my husband wanted WiFi and an attached restaurant, and the kids just wanted a pool. The Powder House was one of the few places that had everything!
The cabin was very clean and had plenty of space for us. Our kids (6,3 & 1) LOVED the sleeping loft area- we did have to keep the little one away from the stairs- but we knew that ahead of time from the pictures. We used a suitcase and a chair as a gate and it was not a problem. It was great to have a separate bedroom! The pool was basic, - but is a nice amenity for a cabin resort in this area. Our kids also appreciated the small playground.
We ate breakfast at the restaurant almost every day, my kids loved the french toast. Prices are very reasonable. We had dinner there a couple of nights as well, and while we found that the service was good, the dinner menu does feel a little "dated" - more like super club kind of fare. It was fine and portions were big, but not as fancy as I expected for the price. However, it was perfect for our young family to have a restaurant right there so that we didn't have to ever do a search for where we were going to eat when everyone was tired and hungry from sight seeing all day.
From the Powder House it was easy to get to everything we wanted to do; Rushmore, Custer Park, Rapid City, Hot Springs, Deadwood, etc. It's a fantastic location to use as a home base. I would definitely recommend them to family or friends and I hope to stay here again if we are ever back in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We never stayed at the resort, but one night we went to the restaurant because we had read some good reviews. The waitress seemed unsure if we could get cheese with our burgers and had to check if there was any in house. That should have been a tip off that something was not right...what restauant runs out of cheese at 5:30pm? We ordered the crabcakes for an appetizer. They were both thin and appeared slightly burned. My husband and I ordered the buffalo and elk burger, respectively. Unfortunately, the burgers made me sick. They were cooked medium well, but were way too dry (even for those types of meat) and were unappetizing. In addition the tomato slices on the burgers were a little green therefore, they were dry. The fries were cold and had not been cooked all the way. It was really not what we expected and were disappointed that we spent that amount of money for a mediocre meal.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank quin91523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chugiak, Alaksa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My husband, myself, and our 20 month old daughter stayed in a deluxe family cabin for 2 nights at the end of August 2012. I have stayed here several times over the past 15 years, and enjoy the rustic setting and peacefulness. Our cabin was large and it was very nice to have a separate bedroom. The fridge and microwave are also appreciated. There is a small covered porch with a swing chair, and we hung out there often. The pool would have been nice, but it had a wasp nest in the railing leading into the pool, so we had to avoid that end of the pool. We had food to go from the restaurant one evening as our daughter was sleeping, and it was good. We are had breakfast there one morning and it was fantastic. They had free ice, and very good wifi in our cabin. There is a small playground which was great for our daughter. Staff was always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mart0146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

This is a log cabin style low building containing the restaurant with lodge cabins nearby. We went for an evening meal and found the staff to be very good and the food was tasty and plentiful. Pity about the flies which were bothersome throughout the meal.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dnjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
1.5 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
270 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
6.6 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
1.2 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powder House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powder House Lodge

Property: Powder House Lodge
Address: 24125 Highway 16a, PO Box 714, Keystone, SD 57751-6641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Powder House Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Powder House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powder House Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing