We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty surprise”
Review of Powder House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Powder House Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Tasty surprise”
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

This is a log cabin style low building containing the restaurant with lodge cabins nearby. We went for an evening meal and found the staff to be very good and the food was tasty and plentiful. Pity about the flies which were bothersome throughout the meal.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dnjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    86
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
96
120
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were in the Black Hills area over the Labor Day weekend. We had stayed overnight at Deadwood and were heading to Mt. Rushmore. We were up early and very hungry... I suggested we look for a small restaurant for breakfast and we happened upon the Powder House on our way there. I had eaten there once before many years ago... had a nice dinner... so breakfast must be good I assume. And I was not disappointed... my wife and I split one of their breakfast menu items and it was all excellent! Service was outstanding and the staff was VERY friendly. If I can do it, I'll be sure to time another trip so I happen by the Powder House for breakfast! I checked on cabins there and you can get a cabin for just one night. Might just do that the next time we are in the "Hills". Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank florida_ratingsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

A good choice if you value your sleep. Located about a mile from downtown Keystone, Powder House Lodge is close to everything but still peaceful. Especially valued feature during the high season. Rooms are basic, but clean. Our room had microwave and refrigerator, great for early mornings or late night snacks. Lodge also has excellent restaurant with reasonable prices. Eat a hardy breakfast before hitting the roads and you will be good till late afternoon! Their dinner menu have great game dishes. All in all a great location if you want to see Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse monuments or Custer State Park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank merttu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithville, MO
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

When we got to our cabin I was worried. It faced the road and was very noisy at the door...however, when we closed the door...no more noise! The room was small but we were only there to sleep. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The location was great. Close to everything we wanted to do in the Black Hills and easy access. After going into Keystone, I was even more glad that I had chosen the Powder House Lodge since Keystone was just a "tourist trap" town. We ate that the restaurant at the lodge and it was very good. Highly recommend the Buffalo Stew and the Cherry-Rhubarb Crisp!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyedyeslb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, MB
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Powder House Lodge was recommended as a nice place to stay for a few days while in the Black Hills. It lived up to the recommendations. Check in was friendly and efficient. The lodge consists of a number of individual cottages and one multi-story building with 14 rooms. The entire complex is located just outside the city of Keystone. The room was of a decent size located on the groud floor of the building on top of the hill. It contained all the amenities needed for the 5 day stay, including 2 large and comfortable beds, excellent air conditioning, a large dresser with ample drawers, as well as table and chairs. The bathroom was a decent size and spotless. During the 5 day stay the room was cleaned each day, including linens, soaps and shampoos replenished.
On the evning of the first day it was discovered that the wireless in the room did not provide any connections. Shortly after contacting the office about this, the manager himself came up to the room to check on the problem and worked for 30 minutes to restore the satelite wireless which from then on worked perfectly for the remainder of the stay.
The complex has a small but clean outside pool where a supply of fresh bath towels is always available.
The Powder House Lodge does not have a breakfast included in the price of the accomodations, but will offer a 10% discount on their breakfast in their restaurant. The restaurant itself is renowded in the area for its excellent cuisine. Having had dinner in the restaurant, I can without hesitation state that the excellent reputation for its food is well deserved.
The location of the lodge makes it a great central point for multiple day visits to the wonderful Black Hills area.
After a 5 day stay at the Powder House Lodge I readily recommend it. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Book well in advance if you want to stay here in peak season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jomoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I traveled cross country with my sister and our children, ages 2, 9, 11, & 15, this summer. This was a great location. We wished we had more time here to explore Keystone. We stayed in a 2 room cabin. The beds were comfortable and there was plenty of room for the 6 of us to move around. We would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictorianGirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Ok so as you read, the cabins are small, but if you look at the pictures on the website, you know that going in. We squeezed 2 adults, a kid on a rollway, and two dog kennels into a king size bed cabin. Our room was very clean and we were happy that they allowed us to have our pets. The pets appreciated the ability to go for walks in the woods! The pool was basic but clean, my 12 year old enjoyed it. The thing that sets this place apart is the location and the restaurant. We ate both dinner and breakfast...huge portions, friendly staff, and taking coffee back to our front porch while we perused the internet was a nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeloveFlsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
1.5 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
268 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
6.6 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powder House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powder House Lodge

Property: Powder House Lodge
Address: 24125 Highway 16a, PO Box 714, Keystone, SD 57751-6641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Powder House Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Powder House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powder House Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing