We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Keystone Boardwalk Inn & Suites
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Reviewed August 20, 2007

After a gruesome 19 hour drive from California, we arrived in South Dakota @ 1:30 am. Needless to say, we were exhausted and in search for a nice hot shower and a comfortable bed. The picture displayed at Keystone Boardwalk Inn & Suites had an illusion of our “promise land.” When we arrived to the front door of the hotel, the front desk clerk was asleep. We were told, when we had called her earlier of our very late arrival, “to just ring the door bell, and I will wake up to open the door for you.” After ringing the door bell for a good ten minutes, the front desk clerk appeared in the front door in her pajamas. She unlocked the door, and we walked to the front desk only for her to push my contract upon me along with our hotel keys. When I asked her if she would turn on the lights so that I can see my contract, she simply stated, “Your total comes to ….ninety something dollars. I know because I made it up earlier.” When I told her that I could not see in the pitch black, she snatched my contract from my hands, and stated, “Look, it’s 1:30 in the morning, and I don’t have time for you to read your contract. Just sign the thing in the morning before you leave. Make sure you sign it before you leave!” She thrusted the hotel keys towards me, and we walked off, shocked…appalled. We drove 19 LONG hours, to be treated like incompetent morons. Needless to say, we checked out the next morning only to be greeted by the SAME clerk. She stated in a snide manner, “Now that you can read, you can sign.” Fumingly, I stated, “Now that I can actually SEE, I will sign my contract.” I will never, ever go back to that hotel ever again. No customers should ever be treated that way. So if you’re not accustomed to rude customer service, I am advising you to check into another hotel. Their room was dingy, and it smelled like old cigarettes. The shower was made for anyone who is 4 feet tall or shorter. I have never felt so compelled to tell the world about my horrific experience at a hotel in my life, and here I am.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank California823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 65 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2006

This is a terrible run down hotel!!! The bathroom was nasty!! The room & bed was old & dirty!! The rate was $126.00 and there was a nicer looking hotel across the street advertising rates for $49.95. Do yourself a favor and stay away!!!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 1fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Edwardsville, Illinois
316
Reviewed July 14, 2006

We didn't check in to the Super 8 in Keystone until after the lighting ceremony at Mount Rushmore. The front desk was still open at that time, but if you're planning on arriving much later, you might want to call and make sure you'll be covered. The hotel was about as close to Mount Rushmore as you can get. I was impressed to see that the building looked just like the picture, with a backdrop of hills. There was free popcorn waiting for us in the lobby, which was a delicious touch. The lady at the front desk was very nice and helpful.
The hotel is small, so the walk from the room to anywhere else on the property wasn't far. The hotel had outdoor corridors, but they were well maintained, not chinsy-looking like many are. Our room was plainly furnished and clean. The selection at breakfast was quite meager, but I made a meal out of the fruit salad and homade cinnamon rolls.
After breakfast we walked to our destination, the 1880 train station. Keystone is not a large town; most everything is located on one main street (the Super 8 is at one end of the street), so the hotel is probably within walking distance of most anything located in town. Keystone reminded me of a smaller Gatlinburg, Tennessee. There were several fudge and taffy shops, and many souveir stores.
The Super 8 was a great home base for our trips on the train and to Mount Rushmore. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
415
Reviewed September 6, 2005

Just minutes from the site you want to see! Room was a generous size, and bathroom fittings were satisfactory, although could do with updating soon.

Furnishings were of good quality, although maid service wasn't as thorough as it could have been.

Keystone doesn't have much to offer as a town: if I were to do this trip again, I'd either stay in Rapid City where the eating options are MUCH better, or possibly Deadwood.

Stayed: September 2005
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborap79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keystone hotels
0.3 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.1 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Quality Inn
#8 of 13 in Keystone
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Mt. Rushmore/Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keystone Boardwalk Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keystone Boardwalk Inn & Suites

Address: 250 Winter St, Keystone, SD 57751-2073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range: $59 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Keystone Boardwalk Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Keystone Boardwalk Inn & Suites welcomes you to the heart of Keystone & the Black Hills! Being located on the boardwalk gives you flexibility & places you right next to local shops, the 1880 Train, Borglum Museum and fabulous dining. Mount Rushmore is located 2 miles away and Keystone is the closest town to the national monument. In addition we are just minutes away from Custer State Park, Mount Rushmore Cave, and Wind Cave. While in Keystone be sure to visit all the quaint shops and many restaurants all with in walking distance of the motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Keystone Boardwalk Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keystone Boardwalk Hotel Keystone
Keystone Boardwalk Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing