We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice family suite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Amelia, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice family suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in the family suite with 2 queen beds, bunkbeds and foldout couch. Room was very spacious- had a table that seated 6 along with a kitchen area with microwave and fridge. Bathroom was great- had heated floors- but we never tried them. Only complaint about the room is that the air conditioner is in the bedroom, so the front room and bathroom were always hot. Breakfast was ok- boil in a bag eggs, eggo waffles, cereal, little jello shots and the best was the hot oatmeal. Avoid hard boiled eggs- they had a strange flavor. Also try to get in right at 7 or the line gets super long. Very convenient to restaurants and activities- we walked to a few things.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Feffer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer G, Manager at Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and particularly your family suite.

Thanks also for letting us know about the room as well, this is a maintenance issue, as all of our air conditioners are high-end and should quickly cool the entire room or suite. We will double check our family suites to find the problem.

Take care and have a great summer,

Jennifer G
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    110
    42
    15
    9
See reviews for
203
38
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central City, Nebraska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed in a double queen family suite for 5 nights. The room was very clean and spacious--we especially appreciated the nice bathroom and very comfortable beds. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast room was a bit crowded and only open from 7-9, but adequate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer G, Manager at Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
On behalf of Rushmore Express it's great to hear you had a terrific stay with us! We're glad you enjoyed your suite, and hope to see you again at the Express.

Thanks,

Jennifer G
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed in a king suite 3 nights the first week of July. The room was very nice and luxiourious. Everything was spotless and the bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have slept in. The room as very spacious for our family of four. It had two TVs, a sofa sleeper, chair, fireplace. Everything looked brand new. It was great! We did not have much contact with the staff during our stay. The pool was a little cold but I saw it being cleaned every morning. The only negative is the breakfast area. It is very crowded during the weekend and the food is mediocre but the staff did their best to keep food items stocked. Would stay here again if in Keystone.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Famof4249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
223 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We spent one night here in a large and comfortable suite. The decorations were the usual mountain theme pictures. We had a king size bed with was very comfortable and the pillows were soft (which I like). Our room was located by the pool which made it a little noisy. The breakfast buffet was so-so but it was included in our stay. It's located on the outside of town and very close to Mt. Rushmore. Would recommend this place for families.

Room Tip: Do not get a room by the pool if you want a quiet evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tattersall_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We had stayed in this very same hotel four years ago. This hotel left such a great impression that we seeked it out and stayed in it this year, when we returned to South Dakota. The pool and spa were well maintained and cleaned. The suites and bathrooms themselves were spacious and cleaned well, and the beds were comfortable. Wonderful and caring staff made the stay even more enjoyable. My only problem with this hotel is the breakfast. We waited in line for 20 minutes just to be treated with food that was mediocre and bland when it came to options. Despite this, I would gladly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Keystone.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Park42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer G, Manager at Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for choosing Rushmore Express! We're glad we made enough of an impression on you 4 years ago to bring you back, and also glad that it sounds like you had an overall excellent stay. Thanks also for taking the time to review us and give feedback, we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Jennifer G
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peosta, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We had a suite which was very nice but very dark. the kids had a bunk bed which was fun for them. The staff was Very Friendly & helpful. There is a pool & hot tub which were full most of the time but when it was empty nice, except the pool was a little chilly. The Breakfast was terrible, we went at 8 am the first morning and stood in line for not very good food, the 2nd morning went early hoping to avoid the line & they opened last & the food was not ready so we still stood in line for what was available then had to stand in line when they brought the eggs out. We wouldn't stay again because there are so many neat places to stay if we had known we would have chosen a cabin, but it was fine! Parking wasn't great but on a side note, there was a place we were looking at, Mt Rushmore Resorts has 3 locations & parking would have been TERRIBLE if you drive a suburban, one of the resorts had parking down a hill for bigger vehicles? That's right down a steep hill.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Large and comfy accessible room. Near pool which made it a bit noisy. Stayed in a family suite. Way over priced. No outside windows. Window looked into the hallway. Convenient location. Toward outskirts of town. Breakfast very crowded. Very close to Mount Rushmore.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandmaLinda32080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer G, Manager at Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We're glad you chose Rushmore Express for your vacation! Thanks for taking the time to review us and share your thoughts. We love our location here as well, it's conveniently close to town but tucked away enough to still have a little quiet and privacy. And we're glad that you found your room large, comfortable and accessible.

Also I apologize for the inconvenience with the proximity to the pool and the room type. Out of our Luxury Suites, 9 out of 42 have interior-facing windows, and are priced slightly lower due to the lack of an outside view. In the future if you find your room unsatisfactory, let our front desk or management staff know and we will see if we can move you to a room that better fits your needs as we have availability.

Lastly as a quick note, I would like to add that our rooms are priced quite competitively with other hotels in Keystone that offer similar amenities, room size and type. A price comparison with other highly rated hotels in Keystone will show that we are among the most affordable for what we offer, and are actually underpriced (particularly for our Luxury Suites). This is especially true over holidays such as the 4th of July weekend, as all hotels in Keystone raise their rates during this time.

Thanks and we hope to see you again at the Express,

Jennifer G
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
2.1 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
0.1 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#6 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
7.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites

Property: Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Address: 320 Cemetery Rd, Keystone, SD 57751-2062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly hotel located 2 1/2 miles from Mt. Rushmore, the Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites combines comfort, convenience and elegance for a truly monumental stay. An indoor pool and hot tub, Fitness Center, in-room wifi and a complimentary continental breakfast are just a few amenities that the Rushmore Express offers, along with guest laundry and available meeting rooms for groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rushmore Express Keystone Hotel Keystone
Rushmore Express Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing