We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Start Turned into the Great Stay for Family of 5”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Recently returned from a four night stay at the Rushmore Express in Keystone SD. Hotel would have received 5 stars if not for a reservation issue.

Our stay didn't start out well ... there was a mix-up in our reservation and the room we had pre-paid for several months ago wasn't available. The staff at the hotel handled it (and my fit!) extremely well and very professionally.

Our family of 5 was upgraded to the Hemingway Suite. Ridiculously large & wonderful in every way. Even with two roll-away beds in the living room, we had so much room. VERY clean. Smelled fresh, looked fresh.

We had two couches, a chair with an ottoman, fireplace, a bar area with mini-frig/sink/microwave, a table and chairs to seat 8, and a couple of tables in the living room alone. We never felt cramped. The bedroom area had two queen beds, 2 chairs with ottomans, a huge armoire, dresser, and nightstand. Gorgeous.

However, the space is a little weird. It almost felt like a conference room or former gathering space that had been converted to suites. Ceiling was ridiculously tall and there were no windows in the living room. Bedroom had one window (which partially opened - yah for fresh air!) which looked directly into a rock wall.

Bathroom was large and VERY clean. Loved the integrated clothesline in the bathtub - wish all hotels with pools had those.

No issues with room temperature. We used both a/c and heat during our stay & the room was comfortable. Liked the ceiling fans.

Breakfast was decent but basic (cereal, bread, fruit, donuts, hard-boiled eggs, etc). One hot selection each day (pancakes, biscuits & gravy, etc). Changed a little each day. Coffee was surprisingly good.

Kids enjoyed the pool, although it did get crowded at night.

We kept seeing the same staff members tackle different jobs -- front desk, helping at breakfast, bringing in a food delivery, dropping off extra towels, etc. I was very impressed with their professionalism, friendliness, and responsiveness.

Location is top-notch. Easy walk to downtown Keystone and a very quick drive to Mt Rushmore and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DEVikingsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 388 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

I searched hotels in Keystone and with the great reviews Rushmore express had I found they also had the best prices. The Rushmore express is almost like 2 hotels in one.. you have your standard outside units (which we were in) but if you went inside the building you could see the difference there was.. I am pretty sure the suites were much better but I was happy for the price with what we had. And for outside rooms, the place was quiet. Only once I heard people making noise outside and that is because they were younger kids but other than that...I didn't even hear our neighbors.

Our room consisted of 2 queen size beds, mini fridge and microwave. Check in was easy and the front desk was nice enough. There is breakfast that starts at 7am-9 and I wish that did start earlier because on the day we left we had to opt out because I wanted to be on the road before 7am. The breakfast was decent but I think the staff was overwhelmed. One poor girl couldn't keep up with stocking things fast enough.

My girls used the pool which was fun but kind of small and on our second night it was packed with kids.. The best part of staying here was location. You are in walking distant to two restaurants and some activities. Across the streets, there is a zipline, adventure slides and this adventure tree thing that my oldest daughter just loved and almost completed but she ran out of time. Mt. Rushmore is only about 5 min up the hill so your drive is very short. There is a dairy queen and subway around the corner also.

I think my one and only complaint was the air condition in our room.. It was set to 60 but it would hardly cycle on.. I am pretty sure it wasn't working so my nights were warm.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topasna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

This non-smoking hotel was a joy to stay the night. Super clean room, good breakfast with a decent variety to suit most tastes, and very friendly staff. Fairly priced and about as close as you can get to the memorial too. Other than the fact that I could not get bandwidth on their wifi network, I had an great stay here and would definately stay their again if ever in Keystone.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MackFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

nice hotel in an excellent area near Mt Rushmore. Breakfast and wifi included with the price of the room, which was a nice bonus. Within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. Only 2 miles from Mt Rushmore.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My family of 5 rented the family suite and loved it. Huge clean rooms and the price was very fair. My in laws got upgraded for free to be closer to the grand kids and staff goes out of way to take care of guests. Only advice is get to breakfast early because it goes get pretty picked over. I would definitely state there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unhappycamper5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in new suites. Rooms were clean and well designed. Location was close but away from main traffic. Bring cords for your portable devices every room has a tv with hookups. Kids thought it was cool to watch their own movies.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ipwrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

After a lot of research, I decided to book a room at the Rushmore Express. I chose it because I was traveling with another adult and two teenage boys. I booked a family room that had a separate bedroom with two big beds, a kitchen, living room, and bunk beds. It was nice to have a big enough space where the boys could be away from the adults. The room was huge and nicely decorated. The drawback for my travel companion was that there was only a window in the back bedroom which faced a rock wall so it didn't offer much natural light. There wasn't any natural light in the main living area which bothered her. I was fine with it. In terms of the location, it was perfect! It was a 5-7 minute drive up to the monument which was great. It is also across the street from the alpine slide and zip line park which the boys enjoyed. We had pizza dinner in the hotel next door which was excellent. We drove into the main part if town, but you could easily walk. If you go, don't miss the Borglum Story Museum....it is very close the the hotel and very informative.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
0.1 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
5.7 mi away
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Keystone
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites

Address: 320 Cemetery Rd, Keystone, SD 57751-2062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range: $72 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly hotel located 2 1/2 miles from Mt. Rushmore, Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites combines comfort, convenience and elegance for a truly monumental stay. An indoor pool and hot tub, Fitness Center, in-room wifi and a complimentary continental breakfast are just a few amenities that Rushmore Express offers, along with guest laundry and available meeting rooms for groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rushmore Express Keystone Hotel Keystone
Rushmore Express Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing