We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place has been outstanding, exceeding all our expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were really surprised, in a good way, by the Rushmore Express. After reading the many negative reviews, I was beginning to regret making our reservations, but on arrival all my concerns vanished. The hotel pleasantly arranged for an early check in since we arrived in Keystone early in the day. The room, a family suite with two queens and a pull out sofa, is beautiful. The wall coverings, carpet and furnishings are all new. The granite bathroom is very nice. Some of our toiletries didn't get packed and the staff quickly gave us replacements. When I called the front desk to ask about extra blankets and towels, they arrived at our room with a smile within 5 minutes. The kids loved the pool in the evenings. The only disappointment about our stay was the breakfast: not very many hot options and mostly high carb choices, but still a decent way to start the day. We would definitely stay here again and not hesitate to recommend the Rushmore Express!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fourisfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 388 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

Close to everything Keystone..staff was incredibly helpful in recommending restaurants and answered the questions we had, breakfast was good, but i dont recommend waiting for the last minute to eat as they were running out of certain choices. they were out of hard-boiled eggs, but staff came out with more when asked. room was a great value for the price and air conditioning worked great. would go back again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wren32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The location was good. Close to attractions we were doing. The service was not good. Did not make our beds every day, breakfast food was not good at all, we had to ask for soap,shampoo and towels..did not replenish when gone....Coffee and supplies were always gone, and had to ask for more each day.
The staff is so young, and they were playing around all the time.
we stayed 6 days and the service only got worse. Would not forward incoming calls to our room. Afraid of being charged?The WiFi was down several days.
It was me, my daughter, and two young granddaughters.... The 8yr old left her bag, of toys etc, and the hotel did not want to send it to me till i sent them a prepaid mailer. Finally , what should of been a favor to a 6 day stay guest, the COD costs me $21.35
I will never recommend this hotel to anyone going to the area. There is a nice Super 8 across the road..That is where we will stay next time.

Room Tip: maybe the suites were much better. we stayed in a double room on front near office. we liked the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rwboykin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Having just completed a 10 day cross-country trip from L.A. to the Midwest with small children, we couldn't be more thrilled with our fabulous stay at the Rushmore Express. The staff and management were very kind and accommodating. The hotel was immaculate and the family suites were incredibly spacious and comfortable. We have travelled worldwide and we easily consider the Rushmore Express to be one of our most pleasant and comfortable stays thus far!

Room Tip: The family suites are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I read a review saying that this hotel is under new management, so if that's the case, then the new management is doing a fantastic job!

I was on a road trip with my brother and his family--four of us in all, including a 2 year old. I had made the reservation a couple of months in advance, and when I arrived, the guy at the front desk informed me that, if it was alright with me, he was going to move me from a third floor room to a second floor room, because we were the only ones on the third floor and they were trying to conserve resources. I said that was fine, as long as it had the same set-up that I requested--two queen beds and a sofa. He said it had that, plus a bunk bed.

When we got to our room, we could not believe it! This place was huge! It was definitely larger than my apartment. It had a living room with fireplace, a dining room, a kitchen, a bathroom, and a bedroom. The bunk bed was out in a nook off of the dining room. The place was WAY more than we were expecting, and very well priced.

We didn't have any problems while there, but the staff was always very nice and greeted us whenever we saw them in the hall, so I feel like they would have been receptive to any issues we could have had.

I would definitely stay here again if I come back to Keystone!

Room Tip: I don't know about the rooms in the main building, but our room was in the back building, and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanan00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

So i understand that the Hotel is under NEW MANAGMENT! Yippee! So we are planning a visit there in the next few weeks. The area is beautiful and am excited to see the updates. I will give a new reciew after our visit. I am inpressed that the manager, Rick acutually cares about the people who visit. What a good feeling.. See ya soon!

Room Tip: GReat Central Locations. Kid friendly, but romanti for couples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank shellyneff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed in one of the queen suites (204) with 6 people. The room was great!! It was spacious, clean and the hotel is in a fantastic location. We stayed 3 nights and would definitely stay again. The room only has 1bathroom which we thought might be an issue for 5 adults & 1 child to share but there is a sink & huge mirror in the bar with convenient plug ins so it was not a problem. The only drawback was that the pool was quite cold. The hotel is located across from the alpine lift & slide I would recommend going up when it opens. There are some great views & nice areas to sit & have a drink or lunch. The hotel is within walking distance of the presidential wax museum, a short drive to Mount Rushmore & very convenient & central to other locations.

Room Tip: Room 204 was on the ground floor & convenient to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim Jacquie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
0.1 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
5.7 mi away
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Keystone
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites

Address: 320 Cemetery Rd, Keystone, SD 57751-2062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range: $72 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly hotel located 2 1/2 miles from Mt. Rushmore, Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites combines comfort, convenience and elegance for a truly monumental stay. An indoor pool and hot tub, Fitness Center, in-room wifi and a complimentary continental breakfast are just a few amenities that Rushmore Express offers, along with guest laundry and available meeting rooms for groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rushmore Express Keystone Hotel Keystone
Rushmore Express Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing