We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, friendly hotel close to Mt Rushmore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Reviewed May 26, 2009

A nice little hotel within a couple miles of Mt. Rushmore. The rooms were clean and no-frills. We had a room with a sofa/pull-out bed which the kids slept in -- they claimed it was terribly uncomfortable...but they are kids!

The complimentary breakfast was nice -- included pancakes, sausage & gravy. A nice spread!

The location was okay, a short drive to Mt. Rushmore, but the immediate area was a little bit lacking in quality restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denverfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

547 - 553 of 596 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2009

We just returned from staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Keystone, South Dakota. I was very pleased with the overall experience. Very clean top to bottom. Very friendly staff. The included breakfast is a great value. Quite tasty and very handy since there aren't a lot of places to go for breakfast in Keystone. The pool area was clean and plenty of towels are available. Good location. You can easily walk to most places downtown, but are still far enough away that it's quiet at night. Parking is limited, but as long as you ask where you can and cannot park it's not an issue.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009

I have stayed at many Holiday Inn Expresses and this past experience was unacceptable for the following reasons:

-When we got there the toilet was clogged with paper towels.
-My wife was missing a pair of earrings after room service cleaned the room.
-Hair was on our sheets and towels.
-Double charged my credit card.

I have always had a good experience with Holiday Inn Express, I would recommend staying at any other Holiday Inn Express except this one in Keystone, SD.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
3  Thank gardner84058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Hotel was clean & quiet. Within walking distance of the boardwalk. Good pool for kids. Helpful staff (just don't let them direct you to the Ruby House Restaurant!). Typical breakfast. Good value, if you can get past the taxidermy in the lobby.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwaysamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

This is a very nice hotel. Lobby is very nice, fireplace was inviting on a cold day. Pool area was clean. The hotel staff was very helpful and the breakfast was good. Beds were comfortable and it was quite. Close to attractions. Parking is a draw back, not alot of it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tleeEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

Our family recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express based on reviews at this web site. We booked a regular room with two queen beds and were pleased with the size and quality of the room. The main lobby is more like a great room with comfortable leather furniture and fireplace with coffee and cookies available all day. The staff was friendly and knowledgable of the area and gave excellent advice on local restaurants. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning with a good variety of choices: omelets, sausage, gravy and biscuits, cinnamon rolls, mini muffins, cereals, and fresh fruit. The hotel is situated in a quiet area on the edge of Keystone's business district but within walking distance of the shops and restaurants. We will definitely stay here again if we return to the Mt. Rushmore area.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mum-on-the-prairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AR1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.5 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Keystone
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Mount Rushmore Resort & Lodge
0.2 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
7.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone

Address: 321 Swanzey St, Keystone, SD 57751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range: $68 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is located at the base of Mt. Rushmore in the bustling historic town of Keystone, SD and central to all family-approved attractions. Just minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer State Park. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is a new, deluxe hotel architecturally designed after the magnificent look of Mt. Rushmore. Come and enjoy our Great Room as you relax around our 3-sided fireplace featuring a Western/Native American flair. The hotel features include free local phone calls, high-speed internet access, business center, and a large pool and hot tub.Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new continental deluxe Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring biscuits & gravy, bacon & eggs, the world's best tasting cinnamon roll, and much more. Visit Keystone, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Keystone
Holiday Inn Express Keystone
Holiday Inn Keystone
Keystone Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing