We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from this location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay away from this location!!”
Reviewed May 23, 2009

I have stayed at many Holiday Inn Expresses and this past experience was unacceptable for the following reasons:

-When we got there the toilet was clogged with paper towels.
-My wife was missing a pair of earrings after room service cleaned the room.
-Hair was on our sheets and towels.
-Double charged my credit card.

I have always had a good experience with Holiday Inn Express, I would recommend staying at any other Holiday Inn Express except this one in Keystone, SD.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank gardner84058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    219
    98
    22
    24
See reviews for
264
197
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Hotel was clean & quiet. Within walking distance of the boardwalk. Good pool for kids. Helpful staff (just don't let them direct you to the Ruby House Restaurant!). Typical breakfast. Good value, if you can get past the taxidermy in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Ga
Level Contributor
352 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2009

This is a very nice hotel. Lobby is very nice, fireplace was inviting on a cold day. Pool area was clean. The hotel staff was very helpful and the breakfast was good. Beds were comfortable and it was quite. Close to attractions. Parking is a draw back, not alot of it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tleeEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2008

Our family recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express based on reviews at this web site. We booked a regular room with two queen beds and were pleased with the size and quality of the room. The main lobby is more like a great room with comfortable leather furniture and fireplace with coffee and cookies available all day. The staff was friendly and knowledgable of the area and gave excellent advice on local restaurants. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning with a good variety of choices: omelets, sausage, gravy and biscuits, cinnamon rolls, mini muffins, cereals, and fresh fruit. The hotel is situated in a quiet area on the edge of Keystone's business district but within walking distance of the shops and restaurants. We will definitely stay here again if we return to the Mt. Rushmore area.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The breakfast area was somewhat small with limited seating
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mum-on-the-prairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, AR
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2008

This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AR1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Stayed at the HI in Keystone from 9-20 to 9-25. I was a little nervous when we booked it, through United Airline Vacations, but it was a pleasant surprise!
We stayed in a King Suite on the second floor facing the back.
Plenty of room with a microwave, sink and refrigerator. The location was excellent, easy walk to town, and the staff couldn't have been nicer, Lyndsey, Ryan and Brandy made our stay.
I'm not sure what people were complaining about, the hotel was quiet,extremely clean, the breakfast was decent, and it was a very comfortable area to stay in. It was September when we stayed here, I would imagine in the summer this place as well as every other hotel is loaded with kids. Would highly recommend!

  • Liked — Felt very secure at this hotel.
  • Disliked — Tourist that were complaining about evey little thing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CedarTopbeachgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2008

My husband and I were on a cross country trip and needed a place to stay near Mt. Rushmore. Based on reviews I read at TripAdvisor, I booked a room at this hotel for a two night stay. Keystone is a very tacky little tourist trap, and I was starting to feel a little dismayed about my location choice until we actually arrived at the hotel. It's very nice, and well maintained. I could do without the country music blaring from the muzak speakers at the front entrance and side courtyard of the property, however. The staff was a bit on the inexperienced side, but very friendly and made us feel welcomed.

As to extras, I am a pianist and there is a spinet in the lobby that I was told I was welcome to use for practice; unfortunately, the piano is unplayable. There is also a desk area with a computer for guests who didn't have a laptop with them. We didn't use the pool, but it looked nice. The breakfast was fine, but the room is really not large enough to accommodate a fully booked hotel - we just grabbed something and took it back to our room.

Our room was on the second floor on the back side and very private and quiet (we actually saw a deer from out the window one afternoon.) The bed was comfortable and the bathroom very clean. Overall, a very nice hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Proximity to Mt. Rushmore
  • Disliked — the country music blaring outside
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank plays88keys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.5 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Address: 321 Swanzey St, P.O. Box 430, Keystone, SD 57751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is located at the base of Mt. Rushmore in the bustling historic town of Keystone, SD and central to all family-approved attractions. Just minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer State Park. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is a new, deluxe hotel architecturally designed after the magnificent look of Mt. Rushmore. Come and enjoy our Great Room as you relax around our 3-sided fireplace featuring a Western/Native American flair. The hotel features include free local phone calls, high-speed internet access, business center, and a large pool and hot tub.Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new continental deluxe Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring biscuits & gravy, bacon & eggs, the world's best tasting cinnamon roll, and much more. Visit Keystone, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, IHG, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Keystone
Holiday Inn Express Keystone
Holiday Inn Keystone
Keystone Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing