We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Traveled with the wife and kids. Had not planned on staying in Keystone, so we were pleasantly surprised to be able to get a room without a reservation.
Staff was friendly and helpful,
We were only misguided in one area and that was when they recommended the Railhead Family Restaurant. But it was not their fault.
Hotel is nice and clean, also quiet.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 577 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Everything about our stay at this Holiday Inn Express was wonderful. The lobby is uniquely decorated to fit in with the beautiful natural surroundings if this beautiful mountainous area. The staff was friendly and accommodating to us. The rooms were quiet, clean, roomy and comfortable. The indoor pool and jacuzzi were also enjoyable. We had a nice complimentary hot breakfast. One of the best parts of our stay was that it was only 2 miles to Mount Rushmore. The location was wonderful and it is nestled in a small town that is set up for tourists with shopping, restaurants, and an adventure company. We enjoyed our stay so much that we added another night! This hotel will leave you happy and well rested.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shileyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

a really nice hotel in the town closest to mt rushmore. The room was spacious, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was quite good. If you are going to see mt rushmore, you should consider the holiday inn express. But watch out for the herds of deer walking down the street in front of the hotel! And they say that the wild turkey are even worse! Very convenient, great service, good clean rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Keystone is a small town with walkable streets and several hotel choices. The HIE is on a side streeet, half a block from our fav fries-and-beer (well, actually I drink margaritas - they were good, too!) at the Tacklebox Tavern (best fries in 48 states!). Comfortable rooms, with all the amenities including a hot tub and indoor pool. Restaurants and shops are all within walking distance. We stayed three nights, touring Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Deadwood and more. Always a good night's sleep, and more than usual breakfast for guests. Lobby has a cozy fireplace; staff was very attentive and friendly. Definitely the top in Keystone and a good location for touring area attractions.

Room Tip: We had a first-floor room (which can sometimes be noisy) but this wasn't. It's on a dead-end...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdandRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I don't mean to demean Holiday Inn Expresses at all. Rather, it is to portray how beyond the norm the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Keystone is. Nestled in the heart of the Black Hills, its lobby makes you feel like you're in a log lodge. There is a warm and inviting area to sit in front of a fireplace in the lobby. It has a big pool that looks out on the mountains. The rooms are large and inviting. And, it is only a few minutes away from Mount Rushmore. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZeimet, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to place a review of your recent stay with us! We are very happy to know that our hotel and staff was accommodating during your stay with us! Our off season is a fun, unique experience when visiting the Black Hills! It's a lot quieter in these off months and guests experience a very personalized vacation. We hope that you visit our hotel again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Close to Mt Rushmore. Clean and comfortable. The front desk personnel are VERY friendly and knowledgable. Rooms are clean and spacious. The beds are great. Highly recommend it.

Hotel has a continental breakfast to start your day eggs, toast,cereal

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jewelwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Keystone, SD because it was one of the few places near Mt. Rushmore that was open in April.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, the property was well kept, the room and lobby tastefully decorated in local decor.
Having complimentary breakfast included was a real benefit, because you don't have to waste time looking for a restaurant before heading out to Mt. Rushmore.
The location was ideal, right in the town of Keystone, less than five minutes from Mt. Rushmore.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.5 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.2 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
0.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
7.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
7.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone

Address: 321 Swanzey St, Keystone, SD 57751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range: $85 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is located at the base of Mt. Rushmore in the bustling historic town of Keystone, SD and central to all family-approved attractions. Just minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer State Park. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is a new, deluxe hotel architecturally designed after the magnificent look of Mt. Rushmore. Come and enjoy our Great Room as you relax around our 3-sided fireplace featuring a Western/Native American flair. The hotel features include free local phone calls, high-speed internet access, business center, and a large pool and hot tub.Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new continental deluxe Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring biscuits & gravy, bacon & eggs, the world's best tasting cinnamon roll, and much more. Visit Keystone, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Keystone
Holiday Inn Express Keystone
Holiday Inn Keystone
Keystone Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing