We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but needs a spruce up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Kenilworth, Warks
Level Contributor
191 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great location but needs a spruce up”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Pros . Nice pool and hot tub (we had it to ourselves !) good bar next door, excellent location, nice free coffee !

Cons . Rooms not up to holiday inn standards. Breakfast room tiny although tasty offerings !

Only stayed one night on business ! Staff were friendly enough , we were four of a total of eight staying at hotel ;-)

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AALowndes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear AALowndes,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the room. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    217
    98
    22
    24
See reviews for
264
196
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kootenay Rockies, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We have stayed in several of this chains properties, and always been very pleased. With this one, however, the standards and comfort are missing here. Florescent light fixtures in the room, the bed so close to the wall that it is hard to get in or out, only one bedside table, no luggage rack and the room very "cold". Not inviting to stay in.

Note. If you are travelling here in the off season, nothing is open and meal selection virtually non exitant

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room as we looked out on a pallet of road salt
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carnarvon50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Bedrule,

Thank you for your feedback about our property. It is with regret that you did not enjoy your most recent visit due to the condition of the amenities in the room that you were given. Your review will be used to consider upgrades needed at our facility and I hope in the future you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel was great for the distance to Mount Rushmore and shopping. The rooms were just average. They were spacious and the bed was comfortable. There is no view of the mountain, in fact our room had a view of a retaining wall and someone's front yard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anonymous810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at the hotel because of the Black Hills Stock Show (off-season) and thought it was a great value for the location and service provided. Our room was clean, large, and very quiet. The free breakfast was better than most free-hotel breakfasts and the check-in staff member was friendly and welcoming. We did not use the pool but thought it looked very clean and inviting. We will definitely stay here again and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerGirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear TravelerGirl68,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased you liked your room accommodations. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations to all of our guests. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your candid feedback. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this property during the fall, off season. It was amazing that we could not park on site. We were directed to a unlit parking lot up the street as we were told all the parking spaces in the "hotel lot" were for city employees. We had a new vehicle and were very uncomfortable with the space provided and also with walking back to the hotel in the dark. The parking spaces in the hotel lot remained open the entire evening into late morning, as again, it was OFF SEASON. It seems there could be some communication from the city and hotel during a time of low need. The staff told us there was nothing they could do. The hotel was clean, beds comfortable, but this problem tainted the stay for us. Had we had known, we would have driven the short drive back to Rapid City and stayed there.

Room Tip: The room was very clean and comfortable. Quiet hallways, nice beds, easy access to food. We were h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J_and_T12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear J_and_T12,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am sorry that you encountered some issues with parking. Your comments are being reviewed by the hotel's management and appropriate action will be taken. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at this property on New Years Eve Check in was quick and easy
The desk clerk that night was pleasant and efficient. When we arrived he was making sure the lobby was clean and had started a fresh pot of coffee.

Our room was spacious and clean. We didnt try the breakfast as we slept in the next morning.
A request for late check out was no problem.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtnfireguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Wonderful Hotel. Clean, comfortable, VERY friendly and helpful staff, and the breakfast was AWESOME. They had hot breakfast with biscuits and gravy, omelettes, muffins, and the rest of the typical continental breakfast fare. We really enjoyed it, it was the perfect way to start out our day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cait B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.5 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
7.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Address: 321 Swanzey St, P.O. Box 430, Keystone, SD 57751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is located at the base of Mt. Rushmore in the bustling historic town of Keystone, SD and central to all family-approved attractions. Just minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer State Park. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is a new, deluxe hotel architecturally designed after the magnificent look of Mt. Rushmore. Come and enjoy our Great Room as you relax around our 3-sided fireplace featuring a Western/Native American flair. The hotel features include free local phone calls, high-speed internet access, business center, and a large pool and hot tub.Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new continental deluxe Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring biscuits & gravy, bacon & eggs, the world's best tasting cinnamon roll, and much more. Visit Keystone, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Keystone
Holiday Inn Express Keystone
Holiday Inn Keystone
Keystone Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing