We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great off-season choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great off-season choice”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at this location right before the Christmas holiday and had a great time with the family here. The hotel was clean and comfortable, every staff member we encountered was very friendly, and the indoor pool and hot tub were warm (something we don't always find). The hotel itself is starting to show its age, but our room was very clean and we found the beds to be very comfortable. I would stay again, but only in the off-season as prices go crazy after Memorial Day. As it was the off-season, most of Keystone is closed. However, the staff was able to give us some great restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasper87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    221
    100
    22
    24
See reviews for
266
199
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is inspiring me to write my first ever review on Trip Advisor! We were so pleasantly surprised by how great it was, I felt I had to. I got a great price; the 4 members of my family were all happy and comfortable in our room (all of us loved the beds, which never happens), the pool and hot tub were a total hit with all of us, and the breakfast was great (yogurt, eggs, biscuits & gravy, cinnamon rolls, bagels, muffins, english muffins, juice, cereal, fruit.) I figure their breakfast saved my family another $30 a day. Everyone that we talked to at the front desk was very nice and helpful. Yes, this time of year most of Keystone was shut down , but we still had a really great time exploring all that is close by. Keystone if fabulously central to the attractions and monuments in the area. Oh, also free wi-fi, HBO and HBO family, discovery, etc. They also have a central computer in the lobby for guests to use. Just thought it was great!

Room Tip: we liked the 2nd floor because there are lots of options of stairs, including an "open" se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinfamColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here last summer. Good location but the staff is horrible and the rooms are not very clean. We had a problem with our bill that took forever to resolve. And to add insult to injury, when I finally was able to talk to the manager, she acted like it was my fault. She promised she would take care of my billing issue but I finally was able to resolve it thru my credit card company. I would stay at the best western up the road or in rapid city.

Room Tip: Skip this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Endlssummr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear endlssummr,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback. It is good to know that you found our location suitable for your needs. Please accept my sincerest apology if your stay was negatively affected by the service received from our staff and cleanliness of the room accommodations received. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The rooms were very nice, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was fantastic! To be so close to Mount Rushmore and still have a great stay without paying a huge price just added to a great experience in the Black Hills area. A great value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel twice now. Both times we had a very spacious room that was modern and very comfortable. The room had plenty of space for our family of six. The hotel just a block off the main road through Keystone. We visited in November and one thing to know is that almost all of Keystone is shut down for the season. Shops and most restaurants are closed although you have a few options.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite on the end
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are going to book here, don't. Stay in Rapid City.
We checked into the jacuzzi suite (room 102) the smell of mold and stale air was overbearing. I tried to open the window and turn on the air but nothing seemed to help.

I had the clerk transfer us to a standard room with a bed from hell. Also the maid service never cleaned our room, which I told the desk, and was told if I wanted fresh towels, we had to come down and get them.

Breakfast, eat stale bread, i would be tastier.

This hotel lacks service, quality and people skills. We will stay in Rapid City the next time, and drive back into the hills. The twenty plus miles is worth it.

Room Tip: Stay in Rapid City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dblanke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We came to the area to visit Mt. Rushmoree and you couldn't ask for a better location being just a few miles away. The hotel was clean and decorated nicely. Breakfast was good and the staff were friendly. The hotel is located in the middle of town where you can walk to several shops and restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to anybody visiting Mt. Rushmore or the Black Hills.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank funtravelsallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.5 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
7.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
7.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Address: 321 Swanzey St, Keystone, SD 57751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is located at the base of Mt. Rushmore in the bustling historic town of Keystone, SD and central to all family-approved attractions. Just minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer State Park. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is a new, deluxe hotel architecturally designed after the magnificent look of Mt. Rushmore. Come and enjoy our Great Room as you relax around our 3-sided fireplace featuring a Western/Native American flair. The hotel features include free local phone calls, high-speed internet access, business center, and a large pool and hot tub.Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new continental deluxe Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring biscuits & gravy, bacon & eggs, the world's best tasting cinnamon roll, and much more. Visit Keystone, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Keystone
Holiday Inn Express Keystone
Holiday Inn Keystone
Keystone Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing