We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Mt. Rushmore Visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mt. Rushmore Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed for two nights while visiting Mt. Rushmore. Our room was spacious and clean. The breakfast was decent and our kids especially liked the pancake machine. The pool area was small, but ok. The hotel is within walking distance of the main street in town which was nice. Overall, we were happy with the hotel and felt that it was the best choice in town for our family. I did, however, have a hard time paying $200 per night at what is considered a budget hotel. It is only an average hotel, but for the area can be considered a better choice than others. However, that is to be expected in a town that is 98% dependent on their summer season.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyof4fortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    202
    97
    21
    24
See reviews for
251
187
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed here one night, with kids, to see Mount Rushmore and a few other local attractions. Overall, a nice hotel with no major complaints.

Pros
+ Friendly, helpful service
+ Close to Keystone attractions
+ Fairly new, with updated decor
+ Good, firm mattresses
+ Nice, large breakfast room with healthy choices for breakfast

Cons
- Slight moldy smell in our room from the air conditioner and carpet (didn't bother me too much, but it might if you have asthma)
- Pool was overly chlorinated (I didn't rinse my daughter's swimsuit well and the color actually ran out of it and into the tub overnight!)

Every hotel in Keystone is relatively expensive due to the proximity to Mt. Rushmore, so stay in Rapid City if you want to save money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unter4Augen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin, Minnesota
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

It's a great stay! Clean, comfy beds. Good wifi. The pool was pretty cOld and the hot tub was too hot but other than that its a fine place.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cesamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

I suspect we paid a little more than other local hotels, but in this case you get what you pay for. The hotel was clean; the staff was friendly. We had a king suite which was smaller than expected but for one night we managed (two adults and three kids) just fine. The water in the indoor pool was ice cold -- but the kids didn't notice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fivefromco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carver, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. Great location - you can walk to town and only 2 miles from Mt. Rushmore. Very nicely appointed rooms. The room was quite spacious and clean. No complaints at all. Parking is on the side as pointed out in earlier reviews but wasn't a problem at all. We would recommend this hotel if you are coming to see Mt. Rushmore.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationgirlSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Not the least expensive, but very enjoyable stay. I don't know what the less costly hotels are like, inside. Great location - around the corner from the main touristy strip so easy to walk, but not the noise and traffic, and easy to park. though I'll bet parking a big rig would be difficult. Great breakfast for a "free continental" because it has hot bacon/ham, pancakes and eggs, plus the usual cold choices and breads/pastries/juices/fruit. We recommend it and would stay again. We faced the street on 2nd floor - room 207 - (not noisy, but might be if near the time of Sturgis motorcycle gathering) so we don't know what the other side (faced a hillside) is like. Did not use pool. Lots of families with little ones.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trimel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoDak
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Pretty standard Holiday Inn Express. The location is right off Highway 16A on the way to Mount Rushmore in the Black Hills. This location has easy access to various attractions in the central Black Hills. The rooms were not quite as nice as other HIE's that I've stayed at, no refrig/microwave. Bathroom was huge.

The breakfast was typical HIE fare - eggs, pastries, and the yummy warm cinnamon rolls. The room rate was a bit higher than most HIE, but the location in the heart of the Black Hills, in the heart of tourist season, dictates the room rates.

Room Tip: Be careful where you park, listen to the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATSgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.4 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
0.3 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Address: 321 Swanzey St, P.O. Box 430, Keystone, SD 57751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is located at the base of Mt. Rushmore in the bustling historic town of Keystone, SD and central to all family-approved attractions. Just minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer State Park. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is a new, deluxe hotel architecturally designed after the magnificent look of Mt. Rushmore. Come and enjoy our Great Room as you relax around our 3-sided fireplace featuring a Western/Native American flair. The hotel features include free local phone calls, high-speed internet access, business center, and a large pool and hot tub.Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new continental deluxe Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring biscuits & gravy, bacon & eggs, the world's best tasting cinnamon roll, and much more. Visit Keystone, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Keystone
Holiday Inn Express Keystone
Holiday Inn Keystone
Keystone Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing