We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Buffalo Ribs...”

Red's Chicken House and BBQ
Ranked #19 of 42 Restaurants in Keystone
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sacramento, California, United States
2 reviews
“Great Buffalo Ribs...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

My husband and I have eaten here many times when we come to the area for Black Hills Bike rally. Always happy with our meals. This year I had a brisket sandwich. Very Tasty. Understand that when you come during a busy time, all establishments in the area are packed. We've been to the Sturgis Rally 7 times and probably have eaten here 6 times. Each time we've been entirely pleased by the food, staff, and ownership. Great place to sit on the patio and watch the bikes drive by.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    33
    16
    12
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth the trip....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

This is probably the only customer service focus place in the area. Most of the other stores ignore you and don't even offer a hello. This place isn't one of them. The service was very refreshing. The food was good as well. I had the buffalo ribs and fries. Now I'm sold on buffalo meat. The fries were hot and tasty. I would ask the cook to take it easy on the gas grill or whatever they used to grill the ribs to get a 5. You can taste the gas on the ribs which made it a little less enjoyable. Overall, the food was delicious. I would definitely go back again if I'm in the area. It's well worth the trip.

Helpful?
Thank Iambarbaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

The menu choices are very limited. But to add insult to injury, The food was flavorless. How can someone screw up fried chicken???!!!!! The fact that it was expensive didn't help either. The setting and the utensils scream cheap, cheap, cheap. Even the water tasted and looked nasty!
Please don't waste you money and time!
Thumbs down!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank primnpretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pass on this one.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stopped at this place thinking the menu looked good. The service was slow. The prices were high. The food was mediocre at best. While we were there, they said that their fryer was broken, so we couldn't order anything fried, like chicken or chicken tenders. We ordered some brisket sandwiches with French fries (which I guess they baked). The brisket was kind of dry, the fries were okay. The portions were kind of small for the price (nearly $11 for a sandwich). Save yourself some grief and pass on this one. Past reviews look like this place used to be good, but it seems like it is in trouble now.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KC_Scottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can it be rated a ZERO?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

As others before, we stopped here after a trip to Mount Rushmore. What a disappointment! First, with several tables open, the wait staff said it would be several minutes before we could be seated. Once we were seated, we overheard another wait person explain the reasons a young boy should not drink a diet cola because of the sugar substitute that was used in it, and was strongly suggesting that he should drink something else. When our meals arrived, they were lukewarm to say the it best. And when one in our group asked for more beverage, he was asked if he would be drinking the whole glass or just a small portion of it. An overall disappointing experiance. We will not encourage anyone to visit this establishment.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red's Chicken House and BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Red's Chicken House and BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing