We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST BREAKFAST PLACE EVER”

Red's Chicken House and BBQ
Ranked #14 of 41 Restaurants in Keystone
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Healthy
Restaurant details
Denison, Iowa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BEST BREAKFAST PLACE EVER”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

3 days in a row our family had breakfast on our visit. Omelettes were the BEST in my many travels. Favorite choice was the Denver omelette. Pancakes were huge and tasty that my two sons could only eat two and be full. Friendliest place in town. The cook was awesome. He knows how to cook!!!!! He was also very entertaining with his stories and jokes.Would recommened to anyone.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 3400rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    35
    19
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tiffin, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wish we could say we liked it...”
Reviewed July 14, 2011

From the outside it looked like all we needed: home cooked bbq and beer. But the ribs were really tough and very overpriced. We paid 24.95 for a full rack in a diner atmosphere! Plus the owner stopped by our table and tried to sell us the restaurant. Really... he was selling it and tried to get us on board. It was a very creepy and distracting end to a disappointing meal. My husband says i am being too harsh. And i must admit i am a tough critic of ribs since our local joint is world famous. But I would not stop at Red's again.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hungabunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska City, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Had a great food experience. Ribs were awesome. Fries down home good. Don't expect the fast food type. This is the way fries should be made. Chicken was rated super by the toughest critic in the group. Will definitely return next visit.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank stnmnfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weeping Water, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It was average food”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We had dinner there on Friday night. The ribs were not as good as I thought they would be. The buffalo melt my daughter had was very good. It is a very small place. We had a great meal at the Ruby House in Keystone also.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jwessels1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast or dinner - Red's is the BEST!”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

My family and I stopped at Red's after a long drive on Needles highway - the kids were tired and cranky. The staff was extremely welcoming (3 young men) and brought our beverages out within minutes. We ordered the buffalo burger, ribs (AMAZING), mac 'n cheese, swiss n mushroom burger, and the fries are out of this world. It's a homey little place and very un-touristy, a GREAT value, hearty portions at a reasonable cost and less than every other restaurant we visited. We had such a great experience we stopped there for breakfast on our way out of town - pancakes the size of your head for $1.99 or add a side of meat and get all u can eat. The pancakes were fully and filling- even my 14 year old nephew with a hollow leg couldn't eat more than 2. Red's is a must see during your Mount Rushmore vacation.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank workinmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red's Chicken House and BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Red's Chicken House and BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing