We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“only so so” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holy Smoke Resort - CLOSED

Holy Smoke Resort
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available
Description: The restaurant is attached to accommodation. It is also within walking distance from Best Western Four Presidents.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“only so so”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

we ate here in town should have eaten at horse creek instead but we had been there 3 times in as many days .. nothing special food was disapointing service was un remarkable

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank cljd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
I am sorry you did not alert our hostess about the service and please let us know what you had to eat and what date you were here. We can't please everyone but we also cannot correct a problem if we are unaware of it when it happens. I see you have written a number of reviews so you probably consider yourself an expert. Based upon that you might remember in the future that if there is a problem anywhere you go, in all fairness you should let them know at the time so it can be corrected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    5
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwood, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Excellent service and delicious food. Outstanding ribs. Well priced. Clean and attractive dining and reception room. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MassCousins6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wish we stayed here and give the resturant a chance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Very nice place. Stopped here because of the poor service at the probably better known Powderhouse Lodge. This is kind of a little gem. Not a great big gem, but a nice little gem.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Philbert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Good meal but were disappointed in the size of the appetizer platter thought it was pretty small for a platter.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RumseyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockerville, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food--Bad Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We had anything from pulled pork, ribs, and chicken. All the food was really good. Very clean and nicely decorated restaurant. However, you must not be in a hurry. They are very slow. Our waitress was not very friendly. We ordered a cheeseburger and it came as a hamburger. So they brought us two slices of cheese from the kitchen. Not sure we will go again. The cheese thing turned us off and the bad service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Local
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holy Smoke Resort also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing