We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Brookside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brookside Motel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed here (3 adults) for only one night, but we loved this place. It has a great location only a block from downtown Keystone with its cafes, shopping, and 1880 Train. It is very clean and comfortable. Our unit (number 125) had a queen bed in both separate bedrooms, including a fridge. The bath was ultra clean, as was the carpeting and bedding. Beds were very comfortable. I especially enjoyed the small 4 foot deep pool, as I just enjoy cooling off and don't need a bunch of teenagers diving in next to me, like in some other places. Even though it is only a block from the downtown street, it is in a quiet area. The prices are very reasonable. In June, we three adults paid only 86. including tax for this 2 bedroom unit. There is wifi and of course tv.

Room Tip: Some units have upstairs decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 110kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 203 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2011

We traveled to the Black Hills in summer 2010 (2 adults, 2 children) and did some "shopping around" for hotels prior to heading down there. We didn't feel the need to spend big money on accommodations since all we'd be doing there was sleeping and showering.

We discovered this one and were initially a little worried as it was about half the price of the other hotels/motels in the area. When we checked it out we were pleasantly surprised. Although the furnishings were a bit "dated" the room was quite clean and in good repair. The only thing I would suggest they do is get around to repairing the stairs and landing for the second floor rooms where we stayed as there seems to be a bit of rot. It would be nice if they could extend it out a bit further to create a bit of a deck as well.

The pool is small but it was all we required after a day of sight-seeing and activities. The staff was very accommodating with any requests for extra pillows, towels, etc as well as providing suggestions for things to do and see in the area.

The location is handy we felt - it was a couple blocks off the "main drag" so it was quiet during the evenings. There is a grocery store/vendor a block from the motel. Anyone that's ever been to Keystone knows it's not that big of a town so you can walk to anywhere in town in minutes.

Bottom line - I'd highly recommend this to friends looking for a holiday on a budget. I just don't see the point in blowing over a thousand dollars on hotels when everything else in the area is expensive. Save the money, stay here and blow the money on the kids.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MegaMountie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

The room was very clean. It is an older motel but as good as we had for the week we visited south dakota. Rates were good and service was adequate. About half the cost of other motels in the area. For sure allowed us the extra couple days in the black hills.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oceon_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

The motel is quaint and sits in a great location. You can walk just about anywhere in the Keystone area. Definitely no frills! The bathroom in our unit looked like it belonged in the 70's. Both my teenage boys commented that they thought they were back at their grandma's house.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluecollartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
18
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Knorkenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Solly12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keystone hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
0.6 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.6 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 13 in Keystone
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Mt. Rushmore/Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Motel

Address: 603 Reed St, Keystone, SD 57751-2067
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range: $49 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brookside Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Brookside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing