We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“try it once”

Rushmore Tramway Adventures
Ranked #3 of 23 things to do in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Rushmore Tramway Adventures offers a little bit of something for everyone. From action-packed adventurers to enjoying the beautiful Black Hills with breath-taking views of Mount Rushmore National Memorial, people of all ages and abilities can find their inspiration. You just can't seem to go wrong with this family getaway during your summer vacation!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Plum Coulee
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“try it once”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The lift to the top of the hill is really old and so that added an element of excitement I was not expecting lol. The slide itself is safe and easy to control the speed. It is pricy for one slide down as it cost $12 for one time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank masteranglerpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    238
    65
    17
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plum Coulee, Manitoba, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun ride”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We enjoyed the chairlift up, it was a nice view, although felt a bit unsafe as you pull the bar down over your head as you get on. It had no safety latch or anything. We walked around the path up top, which was also pretty. Disappointed that for $10 you could only ride once. You barely get a feel of how fast to go and your done. Too pricey for the experience .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum Coulee, Manitoba, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exciting and Fun”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our family really enjoyed this attraction. Boys age 14, 12 daughter age 10. There was course for everyone. We started on the easier course and worked our way up. My boys managed to make it thru all 4 courses in the 1hr 1/2 time allotted.It was challenging, fun and very safe. It is in the shade, so even though it was hot out we didn't even notice. The staff were helpful and friendly. A highlight for our family. A bit pricey but we thought worth it for the experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A flipping awesome time.”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a very cool attraction for all ages in the heart of Keystone, SD. The price is reasonable for the experience as you travel up the hill on chairlift to a neat little garden of trees / flowers which includes overlooks and the ability to see Mt. Rushmore in the distance. At the top is a simple restaurant and patio that offers made to order grillables along with a nice selection of cold beverages (at a reasonable price). So everyone could slide down twice, we bought a 10-pack of slide tickets for the family. Having the choice of two lanes (fast and slow), our family split up (3 choosing “fast” adventure and 2 choosing “slow” caution). I believe both slides are identical; however, the younger children and doubles ride on the slower track. Our first slide was great; but, I know it was tempered with a little caution for fear of the unknown. Once at the bottom, I figured I could get more speed during slide number two. I remember thinking on the second trip up “you don’t even have to wear helmets … the sled won’t flip”. Wrong! In an all-out-attempt to set the world alpine slide record (ala Mr. Griswold), I pushed the lever to the floor and rode all wheels into the first few turns. The lack of skin on my right knee when I arrived at the bottom verified that the sled easily would have flipped without my knee stabilizing reaction in one of the banked turns. After the experience, my 11-year old son said “that was pee-your-pants-Awesome!” I have to agree.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GregMaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We did this with our kids. Was fun but a bit pricy and could have been better. We asked them if we could have a race between the two side by side tracks and the attendant wouldn't let us. They are two separate tracks so should not have been an issue. This would have improved our experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 68paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rushmore Tramway Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Rushmore Tramway Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing