We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun but pricey.... Memories were worth it”

Rushmore Tramway Adventures
Ranked #4 of 23 things to do in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Rushmore Tramway Adventures offers a little bit of something for everyone. From action-packed adventurers to enjoying the beautiful Black Hills with breath-taking views of Mount Rushmore National Memorial, people of all ages and abilities can find their inspiration. You just can't seem to go wrong with this family getaway during your summer vacation!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Victor, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fun but pricey.... Memories were worth it”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Like other reviewers this attraction was really fun but WAY too expensive for a family of 5. Seems like everything around the Black Hills you have to pay for making it harder to pick and choose. The experience,however,was well worth it. I was a little nervous riding the lift with my 5 year old as the bottom back of the chair has no protective bar. It would sure ease a parents mind to have that there. Beautiful views, and very pretty up at the top. Parking was also confusing....

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sweetcheeks32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    190
    55
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lots of fun for all ages”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We checked out the Alpine Slide while in Keystone. It is a bit pricy but you get to have a great view of the town and can even see Mount Rushmore. There is a snack bar at the top of the chair lift with a nice garden area where you can have a drink or get something to eat. The take your picture when you get to the top of the chairlift and it is available for purchase before you return back down to the bottom. The slide is lots of fun and kids and adults will love it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank court2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprise at the top”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We only road the tram up and then back down. But the area at the top and the grill were wonderful! Beautifully maintained and landscaped. Random seating/eating areas with awesome views! Very relaxing!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Renee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Alpine Slide~Fun but expensive”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We thought the President's Alpine slide was fun, but at $10 (adult) $8 (children) just to slide down once (60 seconds?), it was a bit expensive for this family of 4.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NikMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hortonville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Its fun!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

It is pricey for the attraction but it was fun. Beautfiul views at the top and there is a restuarant (more like a snack bar)that had great smelling burgers on the grill (although we didn't eat there)
and plenty of outdoor seating. There was a long line for the slide down and it was very hot (they should build an awning over the steps where you wait). There are NO signs to tell you that there are TWO lines so be sure to ask or look for yourself. The left side is for the slower ride down. The slides are the same and the carts can go the same speed but the left side is meant for riders who plan to go S-L-O-W. Not as long of a line but because you have to wait for the person to get to the bottom (or pretty close) that takes a while too when they are busy.
We are glad we stopped though.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Renee90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rushmore Tramway Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Rushmore Tramway Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing