We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveler rating
41
26
11
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
26
11
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini golffamily reunionstay there againcuster state parkblack hillsfree wifihot waterrapid citytucked awayplaygroundtentrestroomscampingshowersturgislodginglinens
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 87 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2011

While the location was great and the site was "ok", this would not be my first choice on a return visit. The bathhouse was old, with no water pressure and cold water. Advertised to have a heated pool (and don't go by their brochure picture), it was cold and SMALL. I'm not sure why the owners bought an RV park, they are not at all friendly. Thankfully the older couples that work for them were very nice. We camped in the one of the 30/50 amp campsites, nothing special.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We loved our stay here. No complaints. We had to change our booking several times and never Made to feel we had inconvenience anyone. Place is close enough to anything you'd want to do in a day trip. Would definatly stay again. Thanks

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katethirtynine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We camped at Spokane Creek for over a week while vacationing in the Black Hills. This is an excellent place to stay for families & people wanting things a little more quiet. We received excellent service from all of the staff, both before & during our stay. There's a little cafe with a decent menu, which is handy & the ladies who worked there were also very friendly. We were there during Sturgis bike rally week & though it was busy during the day, it was very quiet at night.

It's not that far from Keystone and the road to get there is a very windy road. It takes only about 10 minutes from town & it's a great drive. Spokane Creek is also located along Iron Mountain Road, which is an awesome drive & it's very close to Custer State Park. Lots of wildlife all around.

Bathrooms were always clean. There's a little pool, playground & free mini golf if you have extra time after all the sight seeing. Free wifi as well. And all of the campsites were nice & grassy. The only downside to the RV & larger trailer sites was that there are no fire pits due to close proximity to National Forest. We were allowed to walk across & use a firepit at a tenting site if it wasn't occupied, and there are also 2 firepits that anyone can use.

I would definitely recommend Spokane Creek to anyone camping in the Keystone area.

Our family loved it there

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MissIndica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

This is a great family campground, the location is beautiful and peaceful. A short drive from Keystone and relatively close to a lot of the local attractions. Staff is very kind and helpful. Cafe on property has breakfast, burgers and pizza. Store has fun souvenirs and necessaties. We stayed in housekeeping cabin #22. Our advice would be to save the money and not rent a housekeeping cabin. Very few amenities come with a housekeeping cabin. Tenants still need to have plates, silverware, soap, matches, etc. No microwave in #22 and the fridge is in disrepair (several chips in it exposing insulation) Cabin #22 has a pull out couch that takes up the entire living area, "camper" style bunk beds and a camper style double bed (shorter than a standard double bed). The living arrangement was very tight for a four night stay. A little TLC would go a long way it making this a better rental. Sheets that match, a new shower curtain, clean bed spreads and towels bigger and thicker than a paper towel would make a world of difference. We are seasoned campers and love the outdoors but this really was a challenging experience for us, we should have brought our camper instead. Lodging in this area of South Dakota is overpriced and it is a challenge to find something reasonable with amenities. Advice would be to stay here, but choose one of the newer cabins or bring a camper. #22 needs to be updated or retired.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank campers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Super clean camping cabin. We stayed here last night and could not have had a better experience. The cabins are compact and have a/c and space heaters. The cabins seem very new, but I don't actually know how old they are. From check in to check out everyone was very helpful and friendly. Each cabin has its own small fire pit with a removable grate. You can buy firewood right where you check in (which is very close to the cabins). Our 2 goldens loved it also. Very inexpensive pet fees (about $3 per pet off season). The shower and bathrooms were less than 100 feet from our cabin, and appeared to be centrally located to all cabins. Great wifi reception in cabin. Flexible check-in / check-out. Shower and bathrooms were exceptionally clean (it is also very ealry in the season, so depending on who is staying I imagine it could fluxuate, but the owners appear to have high standards for cleanliness). They also have coin-op laundry in the shower facility. There is a pool that looked nice and mini golf that was very tidy. Located in the woods very close to mt. Rushmore. I have stayed at serveral camping facilities throughout the us and this wAs definitely one of the best. Also had excellent prices compared to nearby campgrounds.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vermontjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews