We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Cave Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rush Mountain Adventure Park

Rush Mountain Adventure Park
Ranked #1 of 3 Tours in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Rushmore Cave, you will find fun on all levels! Explore the stalactite-filled caverns of this amazing natural wonder on a fun and educational cave tour. Soar through the sky on the new Soaring Eagle Zipline Ride or try your skill at the New Gunslinger 7-D Interactive Ride. You are sure to have a great time, full of affordable family fun. It's a total must-do attraction for anyone coming to the Black Hills. Cave tours leave every 15 minutes May-Oct. Attractions open daily, check website for hours and admission prices.
Gillette, Wyoming
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Cave Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I've been to many of the caves in the Black Hills, and this cave is by far the best. The guides are very entertaining and knowledgeable, and everything is new. We took a ride on the Zipline, which was great too. I highly recommend the Rushmore Cave, and look forward to visiting it again in the future!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank shawn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    116
    49
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“decent cave plus other stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have been to a few caves and this was one of the better ones. The general tour was a good 30 minutes or more. They also offered two more advanced tours that put one through some very small spaces. There is a bench seat near the entrance to the gift shop with two test openings built into the base. If you can't fit through the corresponding test opening you can't go on the advanced tour. I tried the smaller test and got stuck at my chest, which left me on the ground threaded through the base of a wood bench as other customer were entering the place. With my family and friends thoroughly enjoying every minute. The teenagers in our group did the interactive 3D game theater and liked it. No one tried the zip line but it looked like it was well engineered.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kytsrfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tours done by cave enthusiasts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've been to caves where the tours were done by guides who were bored to death. This cave is not one of them. Our guide ("Nick") is a cave enthusiast who explores the cave during his off-time, and his enthusiasm shows. He knows the cave, and how to explain it.
The tour was about 1/4 mile long, with stop points along the way for people who otherwise couldn't make it. The cave remains at 58 degF year-round, so dress accordingly.
There is also a 1/4 mile crawl tour available for those who aren't claustrophobic. (Check for times in advance.)
This attraction works hard to make theirs not "just another tourist trap", and they succeed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank fester225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauckport, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not just a cave!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

The cave is very nice and worth seeing! But there is also a zipline that most people would feel comfortable riding and there is a 3-D theatre. Besides gem mining and a great gift shop!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Claudia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cave tour was great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We really enjoyed the cave tour. Like that it's locally owned. A bit pricey, so search for a coupon. The 7-D ride was very fun. The zipline could be skipped.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rush Mountain Adventure Park also viewed

 

Been to Rush Mountain Adventure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing