We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best mine tour!”

Big Thunder Gold Mine
Ranked #5 of 16 things to do in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Big Thunder Gold Mine has an original tour which lasts 45-55 minutes and was founded in 1892. You see the largest display of mining equipment in the Black Hills and learn the history of the gold rush in 1876. We have two forms of panning: one is our commercial panning right on site. Guides will demonstrate theskill of panning, no time limit and we guarentee you will find gold. We also have claim panning where you will pan directly our of the creek 4 miles down the road on Forest Service property. Those exist in 4 hour trips.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Thanks to our amazing tour guide, David, for the super informative and interesting tour. He had my 5 and 7 year old boys eager to learn more! There were about 25-30 people in our group tour and amazingly David could talk to all of us by name! A great tour guide is more than half the actual tour itself.
And the gold panning is a must for the kiddos. They loved it :)

Date of experience: June 2014
1  Thank kgarrett83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"our tour guide"
in 122 reviews
"rattlesnake randy"
in 37 reviews
"hard hats"
in 14 reviews
"fun experience"
in 22 reviews
"great guide"
in 17 reviews
"gift shop"
in 42 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 22 reviews
"whole family"
in 19 reviews
"black hills"
in 39 reviews
"panning"
in 253 reviews
"mining"
in 97 reviews
"flaky"
in 82 reviews
"trenton"
in 45 reviews
"flecks"
in 25 reviews
"jennifer"
in 31 reviews
"sluice"
in 19 reviews
"panned"
in 41 reviews
Filter

720 - 724 of 907 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

The mine itself and display of old mining instruments was interesting and enough to make the tour bearable. Other than that, the guide was terrible and the whole setup seemed gimmicky. What could have been a 10-20 minutes well put together tour turned into an hour of rambling and attempts at getting a chuckle out of the group. At some points I considered leaving the tour to salvage the rest of the afternoon. I only paid half price with a coupon and even that seemed to be too much for what was given in return. I would avoid the tour if you come this way.

Date of experience: July 2014
2  Thank logans24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We didn't do the gold mine tour due to time and cost. We did pan for gold; it was okay to kind of get the experience. Got some gold flakes and some other pretty rocks. Just be patient and keep searching the troughs.

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank kennadeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had some free time after Mt.Rushmore visit, so planned to do gold panning. The guys are more interested in the mine tour and they chose it. Gold panning will be fun only if you have enough patience to find a gold flake. Its more of kids entertainment. If ou have not done panning before, just try for the different experience.

Date of experience: June 2014
Thank ShanEsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Find out who your guide will be before you take the tour. The girl we had kept forgetting her memorized lines and we lost interest in no time. I am sure she is trying her best but it's not working. The gold panning was more interesting and kids loved it

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank mmaayyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Thunder Gold Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing