We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time”

Big Thunder Gold Mine
Ranked #5 of 15 things to do in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Big Thunder Gold Mine has an original tour which lasts 45-55 minutes and was founded in 1892. You see the largest display of mining equipment in the Black Hills and learn the history of the gold rush in 1876. We have two forms of panning: one is our commercial panning right on site. Guides will demonstrate theskill of panning, no time limit and we guarentee you will find gold. We also have claim panning where you will pan directly our of the creek 4 miles down the road on Forest Service property. Those exist in 4 hour trips.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

It was a great tour, very informative and interesting. Tour guide got all the kids involved and they seemed to enjoy that. The panning was fun. Everyone was so helpful so they could br sure everyone was successful at panning. Want to do a land claim next time.

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank Galbright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"our tour guide"
in 122 reviews
"rattlesnake randy"
in 37 reviews
"hard hats"
in 14 reviews
"fun experience"
in 22 reviews
"great guide"
in 17 reviews
"gift shop"
in 42 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 22 reviews
"whole family"
in 19 reviews
"black hills"
in 39 reviews
"panning"
in 253 reviews
"flaky"
in 82 reviews
"mining"
in 97 reviews
"trenton"
in 45 reviews
"flecks"
in 25 reviews
"jennifer"
in 31 reviews
"sluice"
in 19 reviews
"panned"
in 41 reviews
Filter

765 - 769 of 907 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was a great little tour, and we had a blast panning for gold and gemstones. The stores covered more than just the average mine tour, and the story behind this particular mine was interesting in and of itself. The proprietors are great people and genuinely strive to take care of their visitors. We were glad that we gave this place a spot on our itinerary.

Date of experience: September 2013
1  Thank 583michelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was an informative tour. We had never been within a gold mine before. Our guide was very knowledgeable & answered all of our questions. Takes you back in time & makes you realize how hard these gold miners had it. Eyeopening!

Date of experience: September 2013
1  Thank Wally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The whole trip all our son could talk about was panning for gold. We toured the mine (very fun and actually quite informative - our guide was great- memorized everyone in our groups' name) and after panned for gold. You can spend 5 minutes or 5 hours panning. Everyone finds gold!! I think my husband had as much fun panning for gold as our son.

Date of experience: July 2013
1  Thank diane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We took an offsite mining tour and had Rattlesnake Randy as our guide. We had the most amazing time! We knew before we left for our honeymoon that we were going to do this. We got there and found out that the tours have to be scheduled 24 hours in advance. We decided to go ahead and still pay for a 1/2 day tour and we are SO glad that we did. Randy took his time to show us what we needed to do and we actually FOUND GOLD on our own!! We loved Randy and will definitely request him the next time we go to the mine.

Date of experience: September 2013
2  Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Thunder Gold Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing