We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family tour”

Big Thunder Gold Mine
Ranked #3 of 23 things to do in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Big Thunder Gold Mine has an original tour which lasts 45-55 minutes and was founded in 1892. You see the largest display of mining equipment in the Black Hills and learn the history of the gold rush in 1876. We have two forms of panning: one is our commercial panning right on site. Guides will demonstrate theskill of panning, no time limit and we guarentee you will find gold. We also have claim panning where you will pan directly our of the creek 4 miles down the road on Forest Service property. Those exist in 4 hour trips.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family tour”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Matt the tour guide was awesome! He really engaged the kids on our tour, ours are 7 and 9. Every step of the way they were included and made the stars. Excellent, highly recommend!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank WendyBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    180
    91
    23
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood
Level Contributor
144 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“what a fun experience”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Almost forgot that we had visited here in june 2012. We had a good time, learned a lot about mining. and we also learned how to "pan" for gold. We actually found some specs of gold, they let us take it home in a small vile. It's a fun place for kids, and adults alike. We would recommend it for a tour :D

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Colorado_Lillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Horn, Wyoming
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun and informative”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a fun mine to see. Our guide was knowledgeable and fun. It was an easy walk so it would be good for someone with kids or older people.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dottie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
157 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good tour”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The tour was a fair priced tour that was entertaining. The guide kept it exciting for both our young kids and us as parents. We really liked panning for gold at the end of the tour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“worth the time!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a great time here at Big Thunder Gold Mine! The kids learned a lot and enjoyed panning for gold and gems at the end of our tour. Our tour guide was a ton of fun, I want to say him name was Tom maybe... We did this on our last day in Keystone and are so glad we took the time!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jlynn75mo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Thunder Gold Mine also viewed

 

Been to Big Thunder Gold Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing