We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Tiring

As senior citizens found it harder than some revers stated, however it was the best way to get... read more

Reviewed yesterday
PHE22
,
London, United Kingdom
Get Personal with the Presidents

This trail offers you an up close and much more personal visit of Mt Rushmore. The trail/walkway... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
MrModu
,
Friendswood, Texas
Read all 1,276 reviews
  
Reviews (1,276)
Filter reviews
1,216 results
Traveler rating
928
231
50
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
928
231
50
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice walk different angles mount rushmore few stairs sculptor's studio audio tour take your time worth the effort short hike great hike turn around easy hike closer look photo opportunities great pictures mountain goats take pictures
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,216 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

As senior citizens found it harder than some revers stated, however it was the best way to get close to the presidents.

Thank PHE22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

This trail offers you an up close and much more personal visit of Mt Rushmore. The trail/walkway is not very stressful with plenty of room to accommodate lots of traffic. It is also ADA compliant. Parts of it are under repair but still worth the stroll.

1  Thank MrModu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We did the trail walk which goes down close to the base of the mountain. It ordinarily takes about 35 minutes to do, but half of it was closed to do refurbishment. Also the sculptors studio is on the portion that is closed and is apparently being renovated as well.

The trail affords the best views and photo ops for the MR monument. It is paved all the way and easily navigable.

Check the NPS website for opening dates, but in Sept it was closed. Also apparently they are banning drone aircraft starting Oct 2018.

Thanks for reading and if you found something useful in here, please click helpful below.

Godspeed!

1  Thank Saskheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a good part of the Mount Rushmore experience so don't skip. Unfortunately we could not complete the loop since a part was under repair. However, we did enjoy it and the closer view of the "Presidents".

Thank LUCKYME72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great way to stretch your legs , enjoy the views and to understand the problems and issues during the construction of this superb monument.

Thank Davy1950inv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Couldn't see anything till we went down the presidential trail due to mist. A big thanks to the lady in the book store who recommended it.

Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

a fairly easy walk wit a few steps involved to get a close up of the Presidents and the rocks that were removed to produce them. The walk was closed so the loop through the bush could not be completed on our visit, but still worthwhile.

1  Thank GazandJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The presidential trail allowed us a different point of view on the Mount Rushmore. Less crowded and more in the nature. It was very nice.

Thank manonc442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018

We walked the "trail" which is really a boardwalk on one of our visits to Mt. Rushmore. Half of the trail was closed for repairs. But, it was neat to be able to see up close what the faces really looked like! We also saw mountain goats (which we had been praying to see!)

2  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Second time we have done this, would give 5 stars but the studio section is currently closed. You can get much closer by doing this easy trail

Thank Adders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews