We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“overpriced and no amenities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“overpriced and no amenities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

A low price was on an outside reader board but when you get in their, the prices really jump. The room we got was old and worn and a strong cleaning fluid smell. Being on the 3rd floor meant a lot of travel to the office to ask for: coffee, or shampoo, or coupons for discount to nearby restaurants, They had many smokers on the 3rd floor and the smoke was everywhere. Also large ash trays were in the walkways and they were stuffed with butts. The smell was bad. one good thing was location in town where you could walk to all the shops

Room Tip: Stay away from the 3rd floor where smokers were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cgbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    43
    60
    26
    45
See reviews for
102
60
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Right in the heart of town. Easy walk to everywhere in Keystone. Only a couple miles to mt. Rushmore. Rooms were nice enough, definitely nice for the price. Staff was great. Aimed to fulfill all requests. Parking tight, but staff made it work well for my truck pulling a trailer. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel4me1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here during a road trip last July (I should have reviewed sooner). The room was like a mid-80s motel. Old blankets, damaged brown carpet. I wasn't expecting the hilton or anything but it felt dirty. Also, BYO shampoo. We would have switched hotels 5 minutes after arriving but we had pre-paid thru hotels.com. If we go through the black hills again and don't camp, we'll spend more to stay elsewhere.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank racheldakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Keystone hotels

Quartzsite, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Excellent service from Raj
Excellent room...have paid a lot more for less in the past..
Close to all attractions.
Would not hesitate to stay here again...
Perhaps management could review check out time (would prefer 11am)

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Raj was the hotel manager, and he was kind & attentive to our needs. We were 4 men traveling together, but didn't have the budget for 2 rooms, so we resigned ourselves to bunking up in a room together. Raj had a suite with 3 beds & a pull out sofa sleeper. Taking our situation into consideration, he made us a deal so everyone got their own bed. The indoor pool & Jacuzzi were a bonus. Clean friendly & affordable. I would recommend this hotel & Raj, who treated 4 strangers from Iowa like we were his friends.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zulu9990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmetsburg, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

For the money spent, we would pay a little more to get a whole lot more at another hotel. We specifically asked for a deluxe room with a pull out sofa, and instead were given the queen deluxe, which was tight and cramped but had a mini fridge and microwave instead of a sofa or extra room. This could have been due to a language barrier, as all of the staff spoke choppy English. Staff was friendly. Room was extremely small and had odor. The bed linen smelled bad. Parking in the lot was very tight and there was not enough room for parking and unloading. Location was near all the shops and a couple restaurants. There was no continental breakfast, but they offered a pot of stale coffee in the cramped lobby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on a whim with no reservation (Thurs night). It looks like a fun place in the little tourist trap of a town and is at the base of the hill 2 miles from Mount Rushmore. The first thing I noticed is the registration parking area is cramped leaving no way for anyone to enter if you're trying to check the place out. The staff was helpful and worked me a last minute deal which was very nice. We booked a "suite" for a price I found a little high since "kids stay free", however it was not completely unreasonable at $119. There is no breakfast which was a huge bummer. Even bagels and bananas would have been satisfactory. Just beware everything in Keystone closes shop early, around 11:00 PM, so don't expect to eat if you get in late!!

The parking is awful. The space is limited, the marked spaces are tiny unless you are driving a Prius and there seemed to be no enforcement of vehicles double parked. The parking lot was so tight I had major problems getting out of the lot and negotiating my way around vehicles after I was in the lot and realized I was out of luck. Make sure to ask about additional parking across the street.

The "suite" had 2 queen beds, a love seat, a balcony, a fridge and a microwave crammed in a slightly larger than standard room. Not what I expected for a suite but it was clean. The mattresses were cheap as all get out but they worked. The TV was small and they have very limited channels for the kids. My biggest complaint is the balcony is shared with the other adjoining "suites" and the is a 3 foot aluminum fence separating each. When I went to lock the sliding door I found it doesn't lock and the locking mechanism looks like it has been removed. This was a concern due to the obvious security issues and the fact the fence could easily be stepped over.

The pool looked nice but was freezing. The water was cold enough my kids had enough quickly and were done. The hot tub is tiny and had there was a film of nastiness along the top of the water as well. The cold water was a bit of a let down because we were all looking forward to a relaxing swim.

All in all the stay was okay. If you're looking for the convenience of waking up at the base of Mount Rushmore only, I would say this is a good stop. If you are looking for anything more than a quick bed for the night I would look elsewhere. The cost would be unreasonable if it weren't for the location, you're paying for the easy commute. The staff was all friendly and Raj went out of his way to help out, that was another bonus.

We won't be staying again but that is because I'm looking for more out of a hotel and the 30 minute drive is worth it to me.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keystone hotels
0.1 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
1.7 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
0.4 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
0.3 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Mt. Rushmore/Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites

Property: Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites
Address: 231 Winter St, Keystone, SD 57751-2074
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Rushmore`s Washington Hotel Keystone
Mt. Rushmore`s Washington Inn And Suites
Mt Rushmores Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing