We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rushing to Rushmore!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Calgary
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Rushing to Rushmore!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We drove from Billings MT with stops along the way at the Battle of Little Bighorn and Devil's Tower before getting to Mt. Rushmore, so it was getting late in the day to say the least. After viewing the last hours of a late-May's daylight at the monument, we took in the lighting ceremony as well, then drove 2 minutes back down to Keystone to find a room at approx 10pm with no advance reservation. Good thing it was pre-season as we found this gem that advertised rooms starting at $49/night on a flashing beacon of a sign when coming back down the mountain into Keystone. We luckily got the final room in the inn for $69 that included a kitchenette (that we didn't use other than to sit at the table to relax and cherish the added space) & the 'no vacancy' sign was posted. The room was simple, very spacious, clean and comfortable queen beds. Staff was very friendly at check-in and offed to keep the pool and more importantly the hot tub open for us (2 adults, 2 kids 12 & 10) to finally relax in for an extra hour...... quietly. Obviously the low rates were due to pre-season the week prior to Memorial Day long weekend. Our family was happy with our stay. At these rates there is not an included breakfast, but there is a diner in the same parking lot.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    45
    61
    27
    45
See reviews for
103
62
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gordon, Nebraska, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We live just a couple of hours south of the black hills. We stay all over in the hills quite often. This motel was one of the nicest we have stayed in in a long time. The rooms were VERY CLEAN and the staff was VERY FRIENDLY and very nice to our children. It is a very laid back and relaxing place place to stay. Located in one of the most beautiful places in America just a few miles south of Mount Rushmore. The staff made the stay even more enjoyable, they were very happy, friendly,polite people. This is a plus anytime. Anyone not pleased with staying here would have to be the type that would find the negatives in a pot of gold! Even the cleaning staff was happy and friendly,something you don't find in most hotels. And the woman running the place at the time we stayed, Jennifer, was very pleasant and surely goes out her way to make sure your stay is enjoyable! We will be staying here again guaranteed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Mones, IA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife and I have traveled to many places for many years. Let me assure you that you can't do better than a stay and The Washington Inn. We have stayed here on four seperate occassions for at least 6 days each time. Each time was the same. The staff was always so helpful and friendly to everyone. The rooms are very spacious and clean. It just seemed like all the guests were always so friendly to one another, it was almost like a family reunion. Everything about this hotel is geared to making your stay a pleasant experiences. While reading some of the critical reviews, I decided that these people should have stayed at home. They certainly have issues other than the Washington Inn. Trust me .... You will enjoy you stay at he Washington Inn.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Alright so this place was actually pretty cool! Cute little town and the locals are very friendly. Laundry you can do at another hotel (up the hill but worth it if you want your clothes clean haha) which cost about $US3 so dirt cheap. Stayed only for a couple of night and it all went fine :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABarrra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here on our way back from Yellowstone last summer for a couple of nights. We weren't expecting anything special since it's not a chain, but rather just a local place. The parking lot is essentially non-existent. If you can manange to get a spot, it is VERY tight. They will send overflow to a lot across the street and reimburse you at the end of your stay.

The lobby is quite small and cramped. The staff, although quite young, was very helpful and readliy got our reservation called up and got us to our room. They were also quite prompt in getting anything we needed during our stay. There is a decent pool, but it is quite open to the hallways in the main corridor. I would imagine that the noise can be rather loud if you have one of those rooms. We did not think the chlorine smell was as over powering as some other reviews have mentioned. Our room overlooked the parking lot and that had noise of a different kind as being somewhat close to Sturgis (~50 miles), there can be some noise from passing motorcycles.

The room itself was nothing special as they were rather small. Yes, things were dated and there were stains on the carpet as other reviews have stated, but everything was clean and the beds were comfortable.

They do not serve breakfast (biggest knock against) and the free coffee they offer was not very good, but it is in a perfect location being near many things like Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Jewel Cave (see review), Cosmos Mystery Area (see review).....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRNap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We chose this location for our week long trip, knowing nothing about the hotel, or town.... We ARE so incredibly happy that we chose to stay in Keystone! About 3 weeks before we left on our trip, I ran across reviews for this particular hotel and went into panic mode, we decided that it was too late and we were going to have to suck it up and stay... Lets face it there aren't very many good reviews and I was scared. Boy are those reviews misleading! Yes the parking is tight! Absolutely tight, but there was not even one night that we couldn't find a spot for our minivan in the 6 nights we stayed there(with a bus in the small lot)! We were in the lot by 7 nightly! The room was clean, every day they changed out the towels and made the beds (you have the option of new sheets or just a made bed) If you wanted vacuuming, all you had to do was ask :) We are pretty clean people so it wasn't a huge deal! The pool was pretty much empty most of the time and very clean, towels are provided at the desk. We had a fridge and a micro in the room.. No issues with the desk staff either..oh one downside no on site laundry but just up the hill at a sister hotel it is FREE to guests staying at both locations... As for Keystone... Awesome! It was touristy but central to EVERYTHING, in every direction there are things to see, each road out of this little town leads to a major tourist attraction or attraction city! This had to be our best family vacation, Hands Down! We were a family of 6 with 2 rooms and a dog! P.S. Teddys Deli is great if your family likes sandwich's and wraps, it's within walking distance, like everything in Keystone!

Room Tip: Choose an outside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlynn75mo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The roosevelt chalet is directly across from the check in for the White House hotel. It's a good size chalet.it's got a big patio with a grill.there is a dishwasher and plenty of heating or cooling. There are two heater air units . Small appliances are good mic, toaster oven . Really small coffee maker could use a standard size. Lots of towels as well as seating, table inside as we'll as picnic tables outside 2. Ok now the down side the loft is a pain for adults ok for older kids I do not think you want your 5 year old going up and down the carpeted latter. Also the loft is across from a large window with no blinds or shades so at night the White House hotel sign flashes all night ---new.. Rooms...from...49.95. Wow. Ok now the nit picky stuff the screen is off the main screen door the freezer door is broke in the fridge. They need more plates, only one cable remote for the two tv s, the garbage bags do not fit the the trash bin, no grill tools except a wire brush, would be nice to have at least one coffee set up for the first day. Anyway we had a great time. There is a regular grocery store in hill city about 15 miles away. I would recommend wind cave tour crazy horse laser show and of course mt Rushmore itself
Hope this helps

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chariotexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keystone hotels
0.3 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
0.4 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
1.7 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
0.5 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites

Property: Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites
Address: 231 Winter St, Keystone, SD 57751-2074
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Rushmore`s Washington Hotel Keystone
Mt. Rushmore`s Washington Inn And Suites
Mt Rushmores Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing