We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Smallest room we've ever stayed in.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Mt. Rushmore Memorial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Econo Lodge Mt. Rushmore Memorial
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Smallest room we've ever stayed in.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The room was tiny, the chairs weren't comfortable. The bed (queen) was fine. The site we booked with said this was a two star hotel, it isn't. There are much nicer hotels in Keystone, and the Hills for the money. The breakfast offered few choices.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liketotravel167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    40
    49
    27
    16
See reviews for
78
51
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
493 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 530 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The rooms are tiny but clean, the bed is super-soft and crowded between walls and all the furniture is past its prime. Sound-proofing is poor, climate control is good. The smoking rooms are all downstairs and there was no smoke smell in our upstairs room.
Parking immediately outside the building is tight and limited but there are large open parking lots immediately next door and across the road. The main tourist drag is a 15 minute walk away through the old town. It was nice to be out of all that noise and tacky madness and yet still be close to the town and the Monument.
There’s a free, very basic breakfast to tide you over till you can get to somewhere else for a decent meal. Check in and check out took but moments.
I wouldn’t stay here for a long break but for an overnighter why pay more?

Room Tip: Upstairs I suppose is quieter, but there's no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BadgerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Nice little place to stay and it was on the outskirts of town. Pool was clean and warm. Hot tub was great! Room was small but everything looked nice. Room did NOT smell like cigarettes. Never heard anyone through the walls. They offered breakfast items such as toast, bagels, muffins, cereal, apples, hard boiled eggs, juice, coffee, and my favorite biscuits and gravy! Only down side was there was no elevator. Staff was very nice and friendly!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Crystal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The hotel is off the beaten-track --tucked back in a small town very close to Mt. Rushmore--, but the value is tremendous. The rooms tend to be small, but clean and comfortable. The indoor pool and spa were really surprisingly nice --in fact, the pool temperature was absolutely perfect! The morning complementary breakfast is not tremendous, but you can get coffee and other basics before heading out to Mt. Rushmore. Very good experience both with the hotel and with the staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HalloweenHJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
166 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was an older hotel with updated rooms. The staff was friendly. Pool was lovely.
We had a suite with a couch that was torn and I reported it. The manager was happy that I reported it and she said it would be taken care of. But on the 2nd day it still hadn't been. Breakfast was not that great at all. Bed was not that good either.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inlovewithcanyonvill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackinaw City, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is an older hotel but our room was newer and we liked it. Second floor, large room with convenient back door to the steps. We arrived at night and were glad to get a room. Located near Mt. Rushmore, it was a great find.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimac
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed Wed 9-18-13. Lady at the desk was the best ever - friendly, accommodating, good advice on the area. Parking is tight, but I had motorcycle and she had us park right up by front door. Room was small, but adequate. Just need to sleep and bathe so how big a room does one really need? Too old for stairs with bags to carry, so she got us onto ground floor. Was supposed to be a queen size bed but seemed like a full size instead. Liked the breakfast, which is an important part of my travel planning budget for cost and time savings. Room and hotel was plain and clean. I would stay there again. A thought for the owners to consider - covered parking is always something to think about for the motorcycles.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGrizzledWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
1.7 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
1.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.8 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
8.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Mt. Rushmore Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Mt. Rushmore Memorial

Property: Econo Lodge Mt. Rushmore Memorial
Address: 908 Madill St, SR 40 E, Keystone, SD 57751-2008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Mt. Rushmore Memorial 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge Mt. Rushmore Memorial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Mt. Rushmore Memorial Hotel Keystone
Econo Lodge Keystone
Econo Lodge Mount Rushmore Memorial
Keystone Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing