We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spend the extra and get another motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Mt. Rushmore Memorial
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Saint Johns
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Spend the extra and get another motel”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This motel just didn't measure up to any expectations. Motels around Mt Rushmore are quite expensive at this time of year and this seemed like the best deal, but as others say, "you get what you pay for!" The room had no fridge or microwave, only in more expensive rooms! There was no washer/dryer, even though the description said they did have them. Rooms were not well sound-proofed. Room seemed clean, but only acceptable. We had asked for a first floor room, but they put us on the second floor as far from the front desk as they had rooms. Service was poor. The girl at the front desk was more concerned talking with someone on her cell phone than taking care of us. In short, we said "no deal" and we walked out. At least they did not charge us for the room. We drove to Custer SD and stayed in a unit there - much better!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7Wunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    44
    51
    30
    16
See reviews for
82
54
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was a very nice place for my Wife and I. Very clean and a friendly staff.
Some say the rooms are small, But if that's what it takes for comfort, I would take that any day.
Close to downtown and locals are nice.

Room Tip: stay at in the rooms face back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beast111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okoboji, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The person at the desk was friendly and accommodating. She upgraded us from a standard room to a suite to give us more room. Unfortunately, she also gave us a room knowing the door lock didn't work. When checking out, I told her the door lock didn't work and she said that they had been having troubles with it. Very unacceptable.

Room Tip: No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0816Sadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Keystone hotels

Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I booked this hotel in advance and got a good rate. We found the hotels location to be good and was peaceful. I was concerned after reading reviews but found the room was good size. We had a suite and enjoyed use of the amenities. The kids enjoyed swimming in the pool and the hot tub was relaxing after a day of travels. The girls working the continental breakfast were nice the area was clean. Breakfast was simple, biscuits and gravy toast and boiled eggs.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Did not make a reservation. Place looks nice and clean. But for what they charge the rooms are cramped and not fit for adults. They refunded the money. And they were friendly. But I'm 225 and need breathing room. This place is not for me.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton,La.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have been staying at the Econo for years years, we have graduated to the suites. Some of the rooms are small, but if you don't like small, get a suite. We have always had 4 adults and made it everynight without having to call the desk to search without having to call the desk to search for a roomate we have lost in a small room. The place is the most accomadating motel I have ever stayed and I have traveled all over the world more than once. I have also been on cruises,( Now that's a tiny room) The front desk will give you towels to wash and dry your bike and explain how to find anything you want and give you a map they have graciously marked for you. Toni is a great front desk person. She tried to get us to go swimming or eat breakfast while they got our room ready. The person that wrote that negative review must have been bipolar and it was just one of their negative days, maybe they need therapy or medication to get along with people. We have stayed other places in some of the small towns around Keystone but we always come back to the Econo Lodge of Mt. Rushmore. The breakfast are a full breakfast buffet. and very clean. We will be sitting in front of the motel in the chairs provide for Sturgis 2013. I have walked to town which is about 5 long city blocks and I have a artificial knee. The shopping is great! The restaurants have great tasting food and most have very large servings, we could share if we wanted. The lobster and steak was great this year hope they do it again next year. Please see there are always negative people and try the motel before believing anything wrtten. Again, some of the rooms are small but try anyway with knowledge as the kinfness will overcome the small rooms, You only sleep there the fun is outside the room. CHRIS HALL , BENTON, LA.

Room Tip: Get one of the suites, even for 2. We stay upstairs on the backside and take a hot tub soak everynig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Location is good, close to Mount Rushmore and on a main street.
The room was a bit small, but just enough space. And it was a bit noisy.
The breakfast was not that bad, we had better in another lodge.
The madam behind the desk was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sjmlmwarnier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keystone hotels
1.1 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
1.7 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
1.0 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Mt. Rushmore Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Mt. Rushmore Memorial

Property: Econo Lodge Mt. Rushmore Memorial
Address: 908 Madill St, SR 40 E, Keystone, SD 57751-2008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Mt. Rushmore Memorial 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Mt. Rushmore Memorial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Mt. Rushmore Memorial Hotel Keystone
Econo Lodge Keystone
Econo Lodge Mount Rushmore Memorial
Keystone Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing