We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Keystone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This bed and breakfast has it all: perfect location, hosts, food, everything! It is wonderfully located in between Keystone and Hill City - very close to Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse. Ron and Leslie were so welcoming and felt like long lost friends from the beginning. They helped us plan our stay upon arrival, and we had excellent conversation with them and the other guests every night in the kitchen/living room. The food was delicious, and the table had different decorations every day. We stayed here at the beginning of a two week road trip, and all other accommodations paled in comparison to this bed and breakfast. If we ever return to the area, this is where we will be staying.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed Big Jake's room. However, if we were to return I would probably prefer to sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 129 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

Location is wonderful, a quiet, tranquil forested area, in its own grounds, but just off a good back road between Hill City and Keystone, it’s actually nearer to Hill City which is a much nicer town than Keystone. Don’t expect to find this place in Keystone itself; because you won’t, you have to access the property off Old Hill City Road if you are in Keystone town and from Twin Springs Road off HW 16. Just Google map the address, you will need a car!

There are only 3 rooms, which makes the place very personal and intimate, no locks on the doors.

Our room was the John T. Chance which was quite small, or it just felt that as there was quite a lot of 'clutter' in the room, but it was beautifully appointed, everything looked new right down to the carpet, chest of drawers, wardrobe, TV and a little private balcony with table and chairs which was our exit to the car park. The bathroom was lovely too and of a high standard, with a Jacuzzi bath/shower lots of towels and complimentary soap etc. (though no means of heating the room that we could find). The bedroom had a stand-alone thermostatically controlled convector heater, that we did need at night, it took some time to work out how to use it but we mastered it in the end (but not as instructed). A simple fan heater with an off/on switch would have been simpler for us oldies! The bed also had electronic adjustments so you could make it firmer or softer, very novel in a B & B!

Leslie and Ron are wonderful hosts, nothing is too much trouble. You feel as though your custom is really appreciated, and sitting down with other guests at the breakfast table is a lovely way to get to know people you would otherwise never have met. Leslie is an excellent cook and serves wonderful home-made food of 5 star restaurant standard, nothing like the American 'food' we experienced everywhere else!

Waking up to the sounds of birds, and driving off in the early morning and coming back at night seeing Deer wondering around was lovely. This place is a little bit of heaven.

I only have a few niggles that certainly shouldn't put you off staying here, but are worth mentioning. Coming from a secular country, we don’t feel the need to have religion as part of our everyday life and those that do and work in the public service sector, wouldn't expect others to share their beliefs. We personally don’t feel the need to say ‘Grace before meals’, or to be prayed for. Whilst we appreciate that we were guests in someone else’s home, this was a commercial enterprise; a Bed & Breakfast establishment. Religion, the belief of or not, and how and when it’s expressed, is a very personal thing. If the owners feel the need to say grace that’s a private affair and should remain so; it was a little disconcerting for some of us guests when we were expected to wait while prayers were said before we could eat, when this was not what we would normally do and we weren't given the choice to abstain.

We also would have preferred more space in the room for OUR belongings and less for those of the owner’s. The book case full ornaments, display case of personal memorabilia, rather large chair and table took up a lot of valuable space that we needed with 3 weeks worth of luggage - just my personal opinion.

Having no wifi or telephone reception was another concern, especially as we needed to contact our next accommodation to check something out, but it wasn't a deal breaker!

All in all though, this is probably the nicest B & B we have stayed in to date, and wouldn't hesitate to stay again in the unlikely event we ever visit South Dakota again!

Room Tip: Room #1 "John T. Chance" is at the back of building with a view into the forest and it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowbikesrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights about a week ago (June 2013). Our hosts, Leslie and Ron, made us and their other guests most welcome. Breakfast time was more like a dinner party with Leslie's interesting menu and lots of lively discussion around the table. We also enjoyed Leslie's home-made cookies and cup of tea every afternoon. Our bed was very comfortable, the room and bathroom had all we needed. It's situated in lovely countryside with deer and other wildlife spotted wandering around just outside.

The towns of Keystone, about 6 miles away, and Hill City (which we preferred) just 4 miles away, offer interesting shops and restaurants and other amusements. We especially enjoyed visiting the Crazy Horse Memorial and the scenic drive through Custer State Park as well as the more famous Mount Rushmore Memorial. If we'd had more time, we'd like to have visited the Badlands area. We went into Jewel Cave, but were not as blown away by it as other caves we've seen in the USA and Europe.

I can highly recommend Elk Ridge and would love to go back some day. Thank you Leslie and Ron for your hospitality.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Suffolk_Day_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie P, Owner at Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I know it's been some time, but I want to thank you for leaving such a wonderful and detailed review. Your feedback means a lot to us and it's great to know that you had such a nice and relaxing stay here. Thanks so much for all your support -- I hope you'll be back for another great stay sometime soon!

All the best,
Leslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We loved staying at Elk Ridge Bed and Breakfast with Ron and Leslie. Not only is it a wonderful place to stay, but Ron and Leslie really make you feel like family. My favorite thing was to show up for breakfast with my pajamas and robe! We stayed in Jake's room and the bed was very comfortable. I slept great both nights. I normally work night shift, so it was a treat to have a great place to sleep. Very cozy home with Leslie's delicious breakfast each morning. Ron is a sweet man and really made us feel at home. Hopefully we can return someday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxanne_P_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed at the Elk Ridge B&B for a couple nights in May and it was exactly what we needed and more than we expected. Very relaxing........breakfast was amazing.......and Leslie & Ron were so welcoming. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Big Jake Room. It was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Picarota2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lovely couple. Tasty breakfasts with nice bed time treats. I felt very welcomed and comfortable here. What a great place to get away! Close to attractions, but feel as though you are away from it all. Convenient location was a real plus.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n4matishun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife noticed the smell of Ron's pipe smoke (I didn't), and the bedroom was small with no chair; but overall this was an outstanding B&B. The food was over-the-top delicious - five star gourmet, fresh fruit, biscuits, eggs & bacon, fresh orange juice. And the location is in the mountains at almost 5,000 feet with tons of pine trees: very peaceful & quiet. Ron & Leslie make you feel welcomed like family. Wonderful relaxing quiet weekend!

Felt like we were leaving loved ones when it was time to go....

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hardycreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
4.6 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
4.6 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
3.9 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 13 in Keystone
961 reviews
3.6 mi away
Powder House Lodge
Powder House Lodge
#1 of 9 in Keystone
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast

Address: 12741 Matthew Ct, Keystone, SD 57751-7700
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Keystone
Price Range: $115 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest bed and breakfast to Mt. Rushmore, our great location provides you with the perfect escape from your hectic days. Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast is an eclectic western home set in the Black Hills of South Dakota, where you are surrounded by breathtaking scenery. Our location back in the Black Hills is tranquil and quiet and a wonderful way to get away. Elk Ridge is conveniently located about four miles from Mt. Rushmore, halfway between Keystone and Hill City. Rapid City, the Black Hills' major town, is 26 scenic miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing