We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dave & Jenny” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penmachno Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Penmachno Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Penmachno B&B and Inns
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Dave & Jenny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is an authentic Welsh home, tastefully and comfortably furnished in a rural location. Great welcome, excellent food and service. Nothing was too much trouble - I am a fussy eater and Lauraine prepared evening meals to suit my palate - she went the extra mile - the meals were amazing! A really relaxing break - will be back in a few weeks for a whole week!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vino_Visits, Owner at Penmachno Hall, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Hi Dave & Jenny

What a great review, thank you so much for taking the time to write it. I am pleased to say that we have seen you again since this review was posted, I do hope that the second visit lived up to the first!

I wouldn't have classed you as a fussy eater, we have managed to deal with far more restrictive diets than yours!!

All the best

Simon & Lauraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

What more can I say the owners are lovely and always willing to help. We've stayed a few times now and had an excellent experience each time. Breakfasts are excellent and the setting is lovely and peaceful. Its about a 10 minute drive to Betws-Y-Coed so right in the middle of Snowdonia.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vino_Visits, Owner at Penmachno Hall, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Dear James

Just a quick note to say thank you for taking the time to review Penmachno Hall.

As you say we are less than ten minutes drive from Betws y Coed so near enough to take advantage of all the facilities there, but far enough away to avoid the summer hordes!

We do hope that you come back and stay with us again in the near future

All the best

S & L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed in the Coach House a few times now I felt compelled to join and leave a review. The Coach House is pretty much everything you could want in self catering accommodation - comfortable, clean and welcoming.

The owners are very friendly and approachable and nothing seems too much trouble. The Coach House is well equipped with pretty much everything you could think of down to toiletries in the bathroom , milk etc and Welsh cakes on arrival, a shelf full of books (which as a book lover is brilliant) etc. It is furnished to a very high standard and is incredibly comfortable (especially the massive beds)! We have also never encountered any midge problems!

The Coach House is also in perfect surroundings - lovely gardens and in the middle of the Welsh countryside.

All in all we have been here a good few times and can't wait to go back again. A gem of a find that deserves the brilliant reviews it has.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Musicality21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vino_Visits, Owner at Penmachno Hall, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Dear Musicality21

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Coach House self catering cottage. We are so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stays here and look forward to seeing you again next year.

I am glad to hear that you still haven't had any midge problems to date, I had heard that this has been a problem across the whole of the UK this year but am pleased to say that we are midge free this year. I guess it all depends on the weather and time of year.

We were particularly pleased to hear that you appreciate the book collection. I have noticed that a couple of books have been left by previous visitors with a "Please share" message inscribed, and notes of where the books have been picked up and dropped off. It seems that some have travelled the globe!

Thanks again for the kind review

Simon & Lauraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

I was taken here as a birthday treat by a close friend and am astonished at some reviews. Yes the accommodation is good but not as good as the high prices charged. Other places closer to Snowdon itself are much better priced for similar accommodation. And that is another disappointment - although geographically in Snowdonia it is right on the edge of the Park and a good drive from the main mountains, lakes and dramatic scenery if that is what you have gone for. Should you want to go for tea or to the shops it is also a considerable drive. The nearest cafe is at least 10 minutes away but that opens erratically . And there is only one pub nearby which caters to walkers but does not do food. otherwise you must go much further afield - and the driving is difficult to the B&B, down small lanes. But worse than all this is that despite keeping our window shut we both got many many insect bites - other guests did too. It really ruined our stay. You could not even sit in the garden for the insects. We mentioned it to the owners but they were not very nice about it. No I strongly suggest you go elsewhere as we will when we go back to Snowdonia again in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 889anthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vino_Visits, Owner at Penmachno Hall, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear 889anthony,

Thank you for your comments to which I would like to respond;

First off I feel it is rather dishonest of you not to declare that your visit was over 6 years ago and that you did not actually stay in Penmachno Hall, but actually stayed in our self catering cottage, the Coach House.

I believe that the only reason you have left a review is that you have decided to take exception to my recent response to your "friend"'s review of 6 years ago. as posted here;

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g609079-d595139-r19199714-Penmachno_Hall-Penmachno_Snowdonia_National_Park_North_Wales_Wales.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

(Funny, I thought that she was your wife, not just a friend. Sorry, my mistake!)

How do I know she is your partner?

Well, I noticed that your reviews were so very similar that I looked at your Trip Advisor history and read your reviews of Cobham, and noticed that they are actually cut and paste copies of each other;

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/members-citypage/merionvw/g227128 http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/members-citypage/889anthony/g227128

So I would refer you to the response I made to your wife / friend, as linked above, and would ask that you desist from trying to post reviews for no other purpose than to damage the reputation of places that your wife has criticised in somewhat unfair terms and then taken exception to the fact that they don't just lie down and take it!

I would also like to point out that in 11 years of trading nobody else has found an issue with having to keep windows closed etc, again I advise you not to leave dead flowers and rotting fruit in your accommodation. I do admit that at certain times of the year, and at particular times of the day, there are midges that are a nuisance. Nobody else has let this spoil their holiday (if you had actually stayed in the guest house, the property that your review refers too, you might understand why!)

You have never stayed in Penmachno Hall, only in the self catering cottage we own, so your comments about value etc are, at the very least, libellous (Dishonest, knowingly inaccurate and in print)! You have absolutely no experience of what is actually provided at Penmachno Hall and so are not in any position to comment on the value, or otherwise, of the accommodation!

As I mentioned in my response to your wife, you booked a self catering cottage so comments regarding the food offer are spurious at best.

I will post this response with the knowledge that Trip Advisor may well remove both my response and your rather dishonest review, but maybe you will get to read it first. I will be putting a copy on Facebook for the record!

The really sad thing about this is that everyone reading your review knows exactly where we are and can contact us directly to query any issues but you have posted both anonymously and dishonestly!

If you have any issue with anything I have said above then please contact me directly, after all, you know where I live!

Regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monmouthshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We received a very warm welcome and enjoyed talking to the proprietors. They provided us with good local knowledge and made sure we had an enjoyable stay.

Good facilities such as fruit in the room, nice garden and sitting room.

Lovely breakfast.

We rate this among the very best place we have stayed and already planning to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodService4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vino_Visits, Owner at Penmachno Hall, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear GoodService4Me

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your rather splendid review. I like "Fabulous" lots!

Would be interested to hear back from you regarding all those lovely restaurants in your part of Wales that we talked about!

Do let us know when / if you want to come back, always happy to offer a bit of a discount to returning guests if they ask really nicely!

All the best

Simon & Lauraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Just back from Penmachno Hall with a smile on our face after the fantastic time we've had over this bank holiday weekend.
The location was fabulous, the accommodation was to an excellent standard, the food was really lovely, and the selection of wines perfectly matched.
I would like to thank Simon and Lauraine who were brilliant hosts for out celebratory weekend and made us all feel very welcome.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NevClark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vino_Visits, Owner at Penmachno Hall, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Hi Nev

Thanks for a second ace review. Please send our love to all and sundry, and hope to see you all again soon.

As is my wont the wine list has changed yet again, and will probably have changed again by the time you come back. So many wines, so little time!

Thanks again for the praise

Simon & Lauraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We were made most welcome by the owners of the Hall and our room was delightful and well-equipped ("The Orange Room"). The breakfasts ... in terms of choice AND quality ... were excellent. If visiting the area again, we shall look no further than Penmachno Hall!

Room Tip: Having sampled the attention to detail in our room, I have no reason to doubt that the other two roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vino_Visits, Owner at Penmachno Hall, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Hi YorkshireAustin,

Thanks for the great review and all those stars :)

If you want a peek at the other rooms there is a virtual tour available on our website, however there have been a few tweaks and changes in all the rooms since it was recorded (Bigger TV's and bit of redecoration, and addition of tub chairs to replace the table in the Yellow room). Must get a new tour recorded soon!

We hope to see you again next time you visit Snowdonia

All the best

Simon & Lauraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penmachno
3.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
3.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
12.2 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
14.9 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penmachno Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmachno Hall

Property: Penmachno Hall
Address: Glascwm Road | Betws y Coed, Penmachno, Snowdonia National Park LL24 0PU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Penmachno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Penmachno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Penmachno Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Rectory dating from 1862, Penmachno Hall is set in over 2 acres of private grounds, comprising spinney and landscaped garden, fronted by the Glasgwm River. Situated in the Snowdonia National Park, just 4 miles from the tourist centre of Betws-y-Coed, Penmachno Hall offers the discerning visitor the opportunity to be within easy reach of all the major tourist attractions, whilst at the same time enjoying the seclusion that the largely undiscovered Glasgwm valley has to offer.With its breathtaking views, quiet forest tracks, stepping stones and secret waterfalls, the valley is a haven of tranquility within easy reach of bustling Betws-y-Coed.Offering Country House-style accommodation, the 3 spacious bedrooms are all en-suite, and benefit from panoramic views of the garden and surrounding countryside. The two guest reception rooms, the Morning Room and Dining Room, have log and coal fires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Penmachno Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing