We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abington Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abington
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Just come back from a night stay after attending my Grans Funeral, what a lovely hotel, so well kept and comfortable, cannot say enough about the staff, they are so freindly and nothing is a problem for them, we eat in the dining room in the evening, lovely choice on the menu, and the food was so lovely, home cooked, we had a large party, including lots of children, they were also catered for very well. If we ever visit this area again we would come back to this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 40hawkmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1AbingtonHotel, Owner at Abington Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hello to 40Hawkmoth and thank you for taking the time to submit your review to Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Abington Hotel.
Your kind and positive comments regarding the standard of the Hotel, level of customer care you received and quality of food are very much appreciated.
Despite the rather sad reason for your visit, it was our pleasure to look after you and your party of guests.

Kind Regards
Duncan MacBride
Owner, Abington Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    95
    53
    37
    22
See reviews for
54
134
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Just stayed for our Xmas night out. Was a bit nervous because of the price we got. Well did we get a surprise!! The hotel is lovely the room very comfortable, with everything you need, the food enjoyable and the entertainment fantastic. The staff must also be mentioned as they were well above average, so polite and helpful, a credit to their employers. This was our fist time here and it will most definitely not be our last. Big thanks to Duncan and his team
If your looking for posh then keep going but if you want warm friendly and enjoyable then park yourself here and relax

Room Tip: This is a hotel with a lot of twist and turns, so stairs and corner rooms, we like the rooms with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1AbingtonHotel, Owner at Abington Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hello to Marianne H and thank you for taking the time to submit your review to Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Abington Hotel.

I am delighted to read that your Christmas Night out with your friends was a great success. Your positive comments regarding the standard of accommodation, quality of food, fantastic entertainment and level of customer care you received from my staff are much appreciated. I shall of course pass on your comments to my staff.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you and your friends back to the Abington Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Duncan MacBride
Owner, Abington Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

I am just back after being at the hotel for a tribute night. There was 14 of us and i can't say enough good things about the hotel and the staff. The hotel was clean and the food was excellent. Myself and my party had a fantastic time. The staff couldn't do enough for us. The Michael Buble act was Brilliant. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1AbingtonHotel, Owner at Abington Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hello to Kirstin W and thank you for taking the time to submit your review to Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at the Abington Hotel.
I am delighted to read that you and your party had a wonderful time at our Michael Buble Tribute Night and I am especially pleased to read your kind comments regarding the quality of food, housekeeping and level of customer care you and your party of guests experienced during your visit.
Kirstin I very much hope to be able to welcome you and your party back to the Abington Hotel.

Kind Regards
Duncan MacBride
Owner, Abington Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Me and my partner visited this hotel recently had a great stay hotel was clean food was great loads of it would defo visit this hotel again great location just off the m74 parking right outside the door staff were all very friendly

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadiak50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1AbingtonHotel, Owner at Abington Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hello to Nadiak50 and thank you for taking the time to submit your review to Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Abington Hotel.
I am delighted to read that your stay was enjoyable and that you appreciated the quality of food, standard of customer care and our great location.
I look forward to having the opprortunity of welcoming you back to the Abington Hotel.
Kind Regards
Duncan MacBride
Owner, Abington Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow,Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Very friendly hotel, staff can't do enough to make you comfortable, food brilliant. Small room but very clean, bed was a bit hard but it was easy to overlook. Everything in its place. Great central location. We loved it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1AbingtonHotel, Owner at Abington Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello to Dave602 and thank you for taking the time to submit your review to Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Abington Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you received excellent customer service from my staff as well as enjoying good food. My apologies for the fact that you felt the bed was too firm but thankfully this does not appear to have spoiled your enjoyment of your stay.

I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Abington Hotel.

Kind Regards
Duncan MacBride
Owner, Abington Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
208 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stopped here with a group in August this year on a tour whiuch included the Edinburgh Tattoo. With delayed flights some of my group were brought to the hotel without their luggage which remained at the airport with the main coach for a short while.The staff looked after the group well plying them with hot drinks and allocating room keys etc which passecd away the time. When the luggage and coach finally arrived (50mins later) the luggage was whisked away and quickly transfered to the rooms or foyer by a couple of young willing porters(local lads).
The rooms were a mixture of well appopinted doubles/singles and twins, but some were a little faded and past their best. However most folks were well pleased with the room layout and more importanly the cleansliness, they were spotless. One issue to note is as it is an old building with wooden flooring -they creak quiet a bit!!
Food was included in the package breakfast on 3 mornings and 2x evening meals. Dinner was nothing exciting but well presented, edible and well served. I disagree with an earlier reviewer who stated food had small portions!!.There was more than adequate. Also though slow the service was okay local staff pleasant and doing their best. A meal is not just in and out to fill your belly it is part of the enjoyment of the holiday and an experience in itself!!- even if it does take 2hrs(never did my group?)
Breakfast was a delight with all the usual suspects, fruit and juices cooked food to yopur request, and plenty of tea/coffee to keep you going for the day.
The hotel is situated in a quiet picturesque village a mile from the M74 jct in a sleepy little village location with only a small store opposite and a bank open a few hours just along the road. You can take a pleasant walk down over the river Clyde over the railway line and back stretching your legs in fantastic scenery.
Overall a great stopping off point but still a little disitant from Glasgow though a much better option than a Travel Lodge or Days Inn. If travelling north poassed Glasgow then this is a great stopover- not to be missed.

Room Tip: Rooms seem to be all of similar standard and the village is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tourman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1AbingtonHotel, Owner at Abington Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello to Tourman 2 and thank you for taking the time to submit your review to Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Abington Hotel.

Thank you for your kind and very positive comments - particulary your thoughts on the standard of customer care you and your party received, quality of food during dinner and breakfast and standard of house-keeping.

I am pleased that you were also able to take advantage of some of the lovely walks accessible from the Hotel to allow you to appreciate some of the lovely scenery within our area.

Thank you again and I hope that you will have an opportunity to visit the Abington Hotel once more in the near future.

Kind Regards
Duncan MacBride
Owner, Abington Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

A group of us stayed here for two nights as part of our Charity Walk from Newcastle to Glasgow and we could not have been made more welcome. From the moment we arrived to the morning we left, nothing was too much trouble. We were provided with facilities to dry our soaking wet walking gear and were fed and watered in grand style.

All of the staff without exception were a credit to themselves and the hotel. As a result, this is a hotel I would happily return to though I think I may bring the car next time rather than walk! :-)

Thank you!
Iain.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StMartinsBhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1AbingtonHotel, Owner at Abington Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello to StMartins Bhoy and thank you for taking the time to submit your review to Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Abington Hotel.

Thank you for all the very kind and positive comments regarding your welcome, standard of facilities and food and of course the level of customer care you received from my staff.

I hope that you raised a substantial amount of money in support of your Charity Walk from Newcastle to Glasgow and I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Abington Hotel.

Kind Regards
Duncan MacBride
Owner, Abington Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abington
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Abington M74
Days Inn Abington M74
#1 of 2 in Abington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
8.4 mi away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#2 of 3 in Biggar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
9.1 mi away
Cornhill Castle Hotel
Cornhill Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coulter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
14.5 mi away
Robertson Arms Hotel
Robertson Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnwath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
14.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abington Hotel

Property: Abington Hotel
Address: 78 Carlisle Road, Abington ML12 6SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Abington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than a mile to the M74 at Junction 13 South of Glasgow. The hotel is accredited 3 stars by Visit Scotland. FREE WI-FI access, spacious and comfortable ensuite rooms with hospitality tray for tea and coffee, remote control televisions, hair dryers, direct dial telephone and free parking.Wake up to a full cooked Scottish breakfast included in our value for money discounted internet rates. A perfect location for leisure breaks such as walking,fishing and golf, for an intimate Scottish Wedding or for a business meeting as the motorway location of the Hotel lends itself to be the ideal half way driving distance from the main cities. Easily found, this friendly family run hotel is within a short drive of Edinburgh, Glasgow, Loch Lomond, Stirling, the Trossachs, Ayrshire and the Scottish Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Abington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abington Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing