We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Abington M74
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abington
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Very clean, quiet dispite being near a motorway, no parking charges, excellent spot for seeing Edingburgh, Glasgow, Loch Lomond, Greta Green. No gym no fitness center here but near by plenty of lovely walks. You do have to travel a few mies to the nearest towns to find a public house.

Room Tip: No lift upstairs so if you are wheelchair bound ring to confirm they have a downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenloubee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 364 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

Never heard anything of traffic on the motorway. We arrived quite late and the welcome was lovely, not rehearsed, but genuine, and the same from the receptionist in the morning. The rooms are lovely and comfortable. We intende to get up at 6.30 to get on our journey, but slept in until 8.15. Few steps away from the services, and the best thing about arriving late (9pm ish), is that the food is cooked fresh. Fish and chips was great, and a cracking cup of tea. If you book the breakfast online it's only £7, and you get about 8 items, including your drink. The staff in the services are very friendly and cheery. Best thing is they have some dedicated smoking rooms, so you're not stood outside in the dark and the cold. Excellent stop off.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tartan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

It is what it is, the staff were very friendly and the rooms clean ... No food in hotel but next door to restaurant (not great) and a Burger King !! Tea and coffee, tv and free wifi in rooms. Parking restricted to two hours but extended to 24hrs for hotel guests. Petrol station with supplies on site.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shamus67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I booked the Days Inn to break up the trip from the Warwickshire to Edinburgh one evening in October. Although I arrived late at night the welcome to the hotel was friendly and nothing was too much of a problem.

I'd certainly return to this hotel and would recommend it as a base to explore some of Scotland.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The Days Inn at Abington lived up to the promise of most of that chain, good value for money. We arrived mid-evening to a warm welcome from the Receptionist (Ann-Marie) who was particularly helpful as our reservation had a few changes to it, which she instantly sorted! Overall the visit went well. Days Inn rooms are well equipped for budget hotels as they include extra pillows, good towels and fresh white linens. They also provide a hair-dryer and tea and coffee trays. Overall they are reliable and being on main roads and motorways, easy to get to and from.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here as a stopover on the way to the West Coast of Scotland. 4 hotels in a week, so some more reviews to do after this..

Reception was very clean, and the receptionist was very helpful and friendly. I joined the "Wyndham Rewards" scheme so got a free bottle of water and a breakfast bar.

I paid £49.95 for the room only - just had the free water and the breakfast bar as my breakfast, though you can get cereal/milk etc delivered to your room, or get a full breakfast over at the services.

I could hear the M74 from my room, though that doesn't bother me at all. Lovely view from my room though of rolling hills. I did take a picture, but it didn't come out very well.

The room itself was perfectly reasonable - good double bed, the room was more spacious than I was expecting. Everything was clean, though it was starting to look a little tired, moreso in the bathroom. Everything worked though.

Had a very good night's sleep - beds are more comfortable than Premier Inn's in my opinion. Very quiet, though think the hotel was fairly quiet that night.

It's not perfect, but it's clean and reasonably priced for a chain hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

we stayed there overnight a few weeks ago on the way down from Scotland. It was an awful experience from start to finish. We wanted a disabled room, which they did give to us, but the aweful smell on entering the room put us off when we discovered the toilet had been used without being flushed with faeces in it. Obviously not been cleaned / checked. They moved us to another room which had a broken window with tape over it and the lock on the room did not work properly. The staff were not really interested. The bathroom was well overdue for a refit. Would never stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abington
22.9 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
7.6 mi away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#4 of 4 in Biggar
273 reviews
11.3 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
635 reviews
23.4 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
241 reviews
13.6 mi away
Robertson Arms Hotel
Robertson Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnwath
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Abington M74? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Abington M74

Address: Welcome Break Service Area J13, M74, Abington ML12 6RG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Abington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abington
Price Range: $57 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Abington M74 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly off junction 13 of the M74, Days Inn Abington has free Wi-Fi, free parking and spacious rooms. It is in the Upper Clyde Valley of the Southern Uplands, within easy reach of Glasgow and Edinburgh. All rooms are en suite and have tea/coffee making facilities, a free newspaper and remote-control TV. Most have views of the beautiful countryside. Reception is open 24 hours a day. The adjacent Welcome Break service area has a self-service restaurant, retail outlet and coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Abington M74 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Abington m74 Hotel Abington
Abington Days Inn
Days Inn Abington M74 Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing