We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beware the car park” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Abington M74

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Days Inn Abington M74
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abington
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“beware the car park”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

This stop over is very cost effective unless you fall victim to a nasty car park scam.
Stay longer than the booking out time and when you get home you will find that the outside contractors who run the carpark have imposed an "illegal" £90 fine on you.
Back to the travel lodge,the place is warm,clean and the staff are helpful and friendly.
The downside is the place is tired and needs some refurbishment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clive w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnPeterborough, Manager at Days Inn Abington M74, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback concerning your stay at Days Inn Abington. We take care to ensure our guests have free parking when they stay with us. On arrival we request your registration number is written on the registration card and it is entered into the parking eye system on the desk this allows us to check all our guests cars have been correctly registered before they depart the next day. If you would contact the hotel direct we can find out why you would have recieved a parking fine. I would also like to advise we are currently replacing our curtains and freshening up the paintwork and do apologise this had not been done prior to your stay. We hope we get the oppertunity to welcome you back in the near future so you can see the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    122
    66
    25
    16
See reviews for
60
121
38
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton ,england
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed at this hotel yesterday and was very pleased with everything this hotel had to offer, nice welcome from the lady on reception, decent food in the service station and excellent free wifi, will definitely use this hotel again, great nights sleep and great shower,very clean and no noise at all.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank leighs1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

This Service station Days Inn at Jct 13 of the M74 is perfectly positioned for fast access to the Central Belt as well of course as Glasgow (20 minutes) and Edinburgh. Having become disillusioned at the dearth of decent greater Glasgow budget accommodation,the Days Inn family room deals at £50 for 2 nights makes a refreshing change- clean spacious rooms, double beds,complimentary WIFI, baths, cable TV (if you've got time to watch it) and of course external parking (you provide your registration at check-in)- what's to complain about ?
You can hear the hum of the traffic on the M74 in the distance but not I think to a point that disturbs your sleep (if in doubt brings ear plugs as I always recommend). The WIFI signal strength was less strong than usual (3 out of 5) so still good enough for Internet surfing but probably too weak for BBC I player live TV but this is a minor point. All in all get a discounted deal as I did and you're unlikely to be unhappy. Wouldn't hesitate to return.
PS. Continental breakfast is an extra £5 but from experience quite sugary so I don't bother.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bernardmlambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stopped here on a trip to friends in Scotland after being let down by a hotel the Stag Hotel in Moffat. (M74,j15) of which there is a separate review.

Tired and hungry we pulled into the services area which gave a glowing first impression of being well maintained, no litter or debris anywhere to be seen. A wide choice of hot food was available in the restaurant and we opted for fish and chips. The male server advised us to take a seat as our food would be a few minutes as it was being cooked fresh to order which was a pleasant surprise as after all this place is a motorway service station!

We spoke to a member of staff about staying in the hotel next door and he went to the trouble of calling over and speaking to the hotel who offered us a fantastic rate on the double room of only £39. Breakfast would be extra but at a discounted price if we chose to stay with them.

All well so far and on to the room which was spotlessly clean, bathroom was perfectly adequate for our needs and also the room had free WiFi which we made good use of. Checkout was fantastic with the receptionist wishing us a pleasant onward journey.

All the staff we came into contact with at the service area and the hotel were friendly and efficient yet unobtrusive which we found very refreshing. nothing seemed to be a problem for anyone of them.

It would be wrong for me not to comment on the scenery at his location. Stunning is my choice of word, the service areas sits in a valley with the rive snaking off into the distance.

Would we stop here again? Without a doubt. We found this place by accident and it's just off the M74 at junction 13.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor floor at the back of the hotel overlooking a meadow full of sheep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room was spotless, and a good size. Basic in there wasn,t a phone if we had needed reception. Large comfortable bed, good shower, but not any slip mat for the shower. All in all suited our needs perfectly for an overnight stay

Room Tip: perhaps up grade from s a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sportymeDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

My partner, myself and our 2 dogs stayed here for 2 nights at the end of September 2012. I have to say that to find somewhere to take dogs is really difficult but having stayed here before and knowing they will take the girls is a great relief. We arrived on the Friday afternoon and parked up in a disabled spot with my badge with no worries. Check in was straight forward and at £148 for 2 nights (dogs were included in that price) we couldn't complain too much. We had a down stairs room not too far from the reception - it was a double room with a pull out sofa.

It was adequate enough for what we wanted and I would like to find anyone that could complain too much about it - the room was clean and tidy and the bathroom was ok, not disabled friendly as we had asked for.

We had paid for breakfast so received vouchers for this when we had booked in.

The only complaint about the room is that the bed linen is white and if you accept dogs you really wouldn't have this - my 2 girls are allowed up on the sofa (in fact they have their own sofa) so that was a bit of a let down but we had a blanket we could put on the bed so it wasn't too much of an issue for me.

The place is always busy and there was lots of other families with doggies, we were able to take ours in and out what ever time of day or night and go for a wander round with them.

The hotel is on the services but you can't hear anything in the room (we were facing the front as well in room 007) and you certainly couldn't hear the motorway.

I would stay here again as it is close by to Lanark where we were going and also close to the major cities and it will accept the dogs.

I couldn't fault the staff - all staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much for them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaisyMoo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Room was nice enough, receptionist was pleasant, but the bathroom smells dirty and doesn't look too clean either. Pillow is like a rock. It's gone 4am and I am still yet to get some sleep. Yes it is cheap, but even so I would expect a general level of cleanliness.

I have also never had to pay in full, up front for anything before even seeing the room. Will NOT be staying in a Days Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnPeterborough, Sales Manager at Days Inn Abington M74, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for the feedback you have left on trip advisor. I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us at Days Inn Abington. We always endeavour to ensure we make our guests visit the best possible. Sadly we seem to have failed on this occasion; we have checked all the bathrooms to make sure they are all cleaned to the high standard we strive to achieve. We are currently changing our pillows to a softer version; however this will take us a little time. Again I apologise for the disappointment you felt during your stay and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Abington hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abington
0.0 mi away
Abington Hotel
Abington Hotel
#2 of 2 in Abington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
8.4 mi away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#2 of 3 in Biggar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
22.0 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
24.3 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
11.2 mi away
Elphinstone Hotel
Elphinstone Hotel
#3 of 3 in Biggar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Abington M74? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Abington M74

Property: Days Inn Abington M74
Address: Welcome Break Service Area J13, M74, Abington ML12 6RG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Abington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Abington M74 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly off junction 13 of the M74, Days Inn Abington has free Wi-Fi, free parking and spacious rooms. It is in the Upper Clyde Valley of the Southern Uplands, within easy reach of Glasgow and Edinburgh. All rooms are en suite and have tea/coffee making facilities, a free newspaper and remote-control TV. Most have views of the beautiful countryside. Reception is open 24 hours a day. The adjacent Welcome Break service area has a self-service restaurant, retail outlet and coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Days Inn Abington M74 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Abington m74 Hotel Abington
Abington Days Inn
Days Inn Abington M74 Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing