We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unexpectedly great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Abington M74
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abington
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“unexpectedly great”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Booked, on a cycling trip between Carlisle and Glasgow. Expected a naff motorway motel, but it was great. Lovely Breakfast at the next door services. Really friendly staff, amazingly quiet room, shower was great.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drewglasgow74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    132
    73
    30
    17
See reviews for
65
133
42
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed here whilst travelling back to the North East of Scotland from London. Very handy because it's on the M74. The rooms had obviously been refurbished and were very clean with all amenities - great nights sleep. Unfortunately, the bathroom was in desperate need of refurbishment with paint peeling off the ceiling and mouldy tiles. Restaurant next door was very nice - huge cups of tea (great!). Great value. Perfect if they do bathrooms up.

Room Tip: Ask if any of them have a refurbished bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Used as a stopover on way to Edinburgh, perfect just off the motorway. Simple, clean, basic room with all necessary amenities. Everything I needed for a stopover! Reception friendly on arrival and checkout. Great breakfast and services next door. Would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilly915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Fora realy comfortable room on a budget these rooms are hard to beat.
You even get a continental breakfast in your room for a few extra pounds.

Room Tip: Pets are chargeable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHappyHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Typical travelodge fare really with the motorway services as your breakfast/lunch/evening meal choices. Having said that the services food is better than average. Reception staff are friendly and helpful. If you are after an overnight stay and want to get back on the road quickly then this an ideal stop.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wookiewhiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

My Wife and I stayed here on the way to Isle of Mull, we arrived about 1.30pm only to be told we could not check in until 3pm, we left our luggage in a secure room and went to Biggar about 11 miles away to find the Indian Restaurant mentioned on Tripadvisor review, well worth the trip, excellent meal there with great staff, when we arrived back the room was ready, nice and warm with great view, the room could do with some updating but was large and clean with a large confortable bed, this room was the excecutive so can only comment on this, good value for £59.00. The staff were all very helpfull.

Room Tip: Take a trip to Biggar to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas IOM
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stay here every year to break our journey up to the Highlands. It is situated by a motorway service station in the heart of the Lanarkshire countryside and although near the motorway is very quiet. Motel type accommodation with clean, fully equipped spacious rooms, fridge, satellite TV, bath and shower. Staff are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monketteDouglasIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abington
8.4 mi away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#2 of 3 in Biggar
252 reviews
1.0 mi away
Abington Hotel
Abington Hotel
#2 of 2 in Abington
292 reviews
12.2 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
11.2 mi away
Elphinstone Hotel
Elphinstone Hotel
#3 of 3 in Biggar
179 reviews
24.3 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Abington M74? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Abington M74

Property: Days Inn Abington M74
Address: Welcome Break Service Area J13, M74, Abington ML12 6RG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Abington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Abington M74 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly off junction 13 of the M74, Days Inn Abington has free Wi-Fi, free parking and spacious rooms. It is in the Upper Clyde Valley of the Southern Uplands, within easy reach of Glasgow and Edinburgh. All rooms are en suite and have tea/coffee making facilities, a free newspaper and remote-control TV. Most have views of the beautiful countryside. Reception is open 24 hours a day. The adjacent Welcome Break service area has a self-service restaurant, retail outlet and coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Abington M74 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Abington m74 Hotel Abington
Abington Days Inn
Days Inn Abington M74 Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing