We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot tub is awesome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Comrie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highland Heather Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My Wife and I stayed here for 2 nights 23-25th Aug as it was our wedding Anniversary.

It is a lovely place to stay. Loved the hot tub and the furnishings in the lodge were of a high standard. But it has it's faults and is not perfect hence only giving it 4 stars.

We stayed in the Earn and found out that the hot tub does not give you much privacy. I saw the guy in the lodge across from us get a good eyeful of myself and wife in the hot tub. The fence should be higher to prevent that from happening. The floor tiles in the shower room are not non slip a couple of times over the weekend my wife nearly went flying we ended up putting a towel down on the floor. 2 setter sofa not very comfortable as it has a low back so no where to rest your head.Bath robes and slippers are provided but have seen better days.

Apart from these few small things it's a great place to be and won't stop me from wanting to return again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blootoonloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 280 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here for our weeks honeymoon and could not have asked for a more relaxed time. The lodge was clean and tidy with all the necessary facilities and the hot tub is just bliss with wonderful views of the hills. The owners are friendly and helpful and always available to answer questions. Lovely, lovely place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a fabulous lodge. Everything has been thought of to allow for a relaxed and luxurious stay. Comfy beds, I am an early riser and struggled to get out of them, spacious bathrooms, well set out kitchen, barbecue for our warm summers evenings to cook on and the hot tub to relax in. Top quality all round and certainly the best self catering we have stayed in over 20 years.

The Hunt Family

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay at Highland Heather Lodges for just under 2 weeks in July, the entire stay (even the weather) was fantastic and we could not recommend them more highly. We stayed in Ruchill (1 bed) the lodge was very well equipped and spotlessly clean, the hot tub had a great view up to the hills and across the fields. We found the whole stay very relaxing and stress free, our favourite thing was watching the swallows, red kites and the sheep from the tub with a glass of wine in hand....we will be going back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rum_and_Cokey_eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Myself and my wife have been to Highland Heather lodges 3 times now, on our own and with friends, and are coming back in November. The lodges are brilliant.

The welcome that you get from the ownes is first class. They welcome you to the lodges, and will come up with you and discuss all the ins and outs of the place, and even instruct on how to use the Hot Tubs.

The Lodges themselves are very well laid out, with a lovely spacious Kitchen, sitting area, dining area, and depending on if you stay in the one or two bedroomed lodges:-
One bedroom with a balcony for the double bed
Two bedrooms with en suites.

The setting is top notch as well, there is nothing better than sitting in the Hottub outside and just admiring the idilic surroundings that the Lodges are settled amongst! We have been in winter and summer, and both have postive factors (whether it be sitting in the hottub when the snow is falling around you, or sitting enjoying a glass of prosecco whilst the sun is making the hottub glisten).

Being situated in the small town of Comrie, you can easily go outside and go for long walks, and head into the village. If you are looking for somewhere nice to eat, the De'ils Cauldron in the High Street is highly recommended by owners and other Lodge stayers (we unfortunatley never managed to eat there). You can also venture further afield, and head into Crieff, which is a town we love. Small, qaint, and filled with wee nick nacky shops, this place is somewhere you can wander around and never get bored. Highly recommend Delevino restaurant in Crieff, lovely food!

All in all, I would highly recommend the lodges to everyone, this is a place we will be coming for years.

Room Tip: All lodges are great! Different lodges just determines which view you have from Hottub :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eskjcv09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

If beauty, convenience and a great location is what you look for whenever you consider a break in log cabins in Scotland, then Highland Heather lodges could very well be right up your street.

Found somewhere between the Highlands and the Lowlands, our cabin was beautifully constructed from timber and stone, and sat just before the stunning Strathern Valley landscape. The location provides a breathtaking view perfect for city folk looking to get away from it all.

Nearby is Comrie, a quaint village and one of Scotland’s most attractive. It’s easy to see why. One trip to Comrie is enough to leave you both pampered and well fed. It’s possible to lead a life of luxury in these parts, with spas and relaxation techniques aplenty, before finishing your visit with a first-rate meal at either a traditional Scottish haunt or a familiar curry or pasta house.

But that’s not all Comrie has to offer day-trippers. As the village sits on an Earthquake fault line, there’s an Earthquake centre open to the public too! It’s little touches like this that really help the region stand out as a superb place to visit.

As for the lodges themselves, they have more than enough to satisfy even the fussiest traveller. There’s a good wi-fi connection for those who need to get online, along with a TV and DVD player should a night-in be unfortunate to befall you.

Don’t think these mod-cons take away from the old-fashioned feeling of the log cabins; the rooms themselves are spacious and largely open plan – the perfect way to bring the freedom of being in the great outdoors, indoors!

So if you’re looking for a trip to the countryside, and you’re unsure where, try the Highland Heather lodges in Scotland. They provide the perfect getaway in the most luscious of surroundings.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobo866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at Highland Healther Lodges (Earn) for three nights. We were lucky with the weather and enjoyed using the BBQ each night as well as relaxing in the outdoor hot tub.
The lodges are beautiful - very clean, well kept, modern but cosy, and they have everything you need. In particular, we loved the giant window where we could enjoy the view across the field from the living room or bedroom upstairs. Whilst not far from us (we are in Cumbernauld), it felt like we were in the middle of nowhere. It was beautifully peaceful both during the day and at night.

Comrie village is close by should you need anything or forget to take anything with you.

We have already recommended these lodges to our friends and family and we would love to go back and stay at some point. Had a fantastic time celebrating my birthday and our first wedding anniversary.

Many thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asfr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comrie
13.9 mi away
Loch Tay Highland Lodges
3.6 mi away
Loch Monzievaird Self Catering Lodges
0.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Comrie
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Riverside Cabins
Riverside Cabins
#2 of 4 in Comrie
161 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Highland Heather Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Heather Lodges

Address: South Crieff Road, Comrie PH6 2JA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Comrie
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Comrie
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Highland Heather Lodges where we offer superbly appointed Scottish, luxury, self-catering holiday accommodation. Stylishly constructed from natural timber and stone by local craftsmen these new architect-designed luxury lodges lie in the beautiful valley of Strathearn on the Highland Line which divides the Scottish Lowlands from the Highlands and are at the gateway to the magnificent scenery of the Trossachs and the Loch Lomond National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highland Heather Hotel Comrie
Highland Heather Lodges Comrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing