We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back for our 3rd visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Comrie
Northampton
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Back for our 3rd visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

We have just returned from a family celebration in Comrie and we stayed at The Royal Hotel. We've stayed there 3 times now and each time we have enjoyed ouselves tremendously. The food, staff, rooms etc are all above average and I would certainly recommend the hotel to couples wanting a quiet break. On this occasion we were put into Room 1 which was lovely. The room was huge and very comfortable with a good view of the village from one of the windows. The food is good with a good variety of choice at all meals. We will certainly be back in the future.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    64
    22
    21
    5
See reviews for
34
119
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

having stayed earlier in the year we decided to hold our civil partnership in the library of the hotel which proved to be just the right size, whilst sipping champage outside jn the garden the hotel transformed the same room into our own private dining room. Excellent food, wine and service. We could not fault anything on the day.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ngmcintosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England
Level Contributor
118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

This is an excellent small hotel with outstanding staff - efficient, and friendly. The rooms are simple but comfortable, the food is excellent and so is the wine list. We have stayed in a large number of hotels around the world and this establishment provides very good value.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank never2late
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

We decided to stay at the Royal as a friend had recommended it as a possible place to have our small civil partnership in June.
Lovely small family run hotel. Very nice four poster room with dual aspect windows. Food excellent as was the service. We had a lovely 2 night stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ngmcintosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

This is a comfortable hotel in a lovely village. It is a very old building - they should drop the queen Victoria staying there bit as that was a long time ago & current royalty would not stay there now! We had a lovely large room with large bathroom. Cooked breakfast was lovely but the buffet was limited.
Warning - do not be tempted to stay in their sister hotel 'The Tufton arms" misleadingly described as being close to the lake district - 1.5 hours from lake Windemere.
It is a horrible hotel that was so awful we could not sleep there & left. Quite a shock.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eat0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

hi there. My friends and i had gone on a fishing trip to the lovely rivers of scotland(we are english) and after a lot of research we decided to spend a few nights in the royal hotel, comrie. On our first night check in went well, happy receptionist showed us to our (average room) where we got settled. Dinner that night well... our plans were a bar supper but we ended up getting a table in the brasserie which was nice. The bar staff were lovely but here was my main issue. In all my research i was not told about a certain irish waiter(angela or something similar). She was the rudest and most inactive unfriendly character i have seen in a long time. We tried our best with her but no success really she was just so ignorant and made noises as she passed, also making very rude remarks out loud with other staff that didnt seem shocked. Well besides the point our stay was nice but for me this one waitress ruined it. The owners or managers should certainly look into a eplacement or even teach her how to do her job because she ruined it for the other very asertive members of staff. On the plus side lovely location.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daivid187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

We found this hotel by chance. Luckily on a warm sunny day they had a room available, by pure chance we were upgraded to a four poster bedroom with a very comfy bed.
Had a bar supper that was excellent, and a really good atmoshere. Should have stayed more than one night but we know for next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swissnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comrie
5.4 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
5.3 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St. Fillans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
5.9 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crieff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
9.9 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Melville Square, Comrie PH6 2DN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Comrie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Comrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Comrie
The Royal Hotel Comrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing